We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, fantastic!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre - St Mary's Gate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre - St Mary's Gate to your Saves list
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre - St Mary's Gate
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Young Street | St Marys Gate, Sheffield S1 4LA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book at premierinn.com
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Baarn, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Excellent, fantastic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

I have stayed in so many hotels but this hotel is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed. It starts with the check-in, you get a very warm and friendly welcome. The staff is so friendly and helpful. I was given a room on the 12th floor with a good view on the city. The room was spotlessy clean and there is a tv with many channels. The bed was very good and I had a good sleep. Be aware that rooms may not be soundproof, I could hear the traffic outside. Breakfast was excellent, and again the staff here was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is not exactly in the citycentre altough you are not far form it. There is a huge Waitrose supermarket opposite the hotel. Sheffield United Fooball Club is also nearby. I can recommend this hotel for sure. Try to get a good rate. I paid 73,50 pound for two nights including breakfast which is excellent value.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    217
    50
    16
    5
See reviews for
200
210
65
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

Stayed here a number of times. The rooms are large and clean and the staff very friendly. The hotel is ideally located in the city centre close to the tram stop for Meadowhall and the entertainment district. It's about a 10 minute walk from the railway station up a hill but you can get the tram.
If you book in advance you can get some really good deals.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

The room was lovely and clean. The staff were polite, helpful and friendly. Loved the breakfast .Really enjoyed my stay. We visit Sheffield on a regular basis and will definitly be staying here again . I could find no faults (which is unusual for me as I am very fussy)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

I stayed here with my partner and our 2 young sons on Saturday night. The customer service was second to none and rooms we spacious, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely and varied and we also ate dinner in the resturant which was also good value. It was our first time staying in a Premier Inn and we would definately use them again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

I like the Premier Inn chain, and this one is no exception. Situated in the middle of Sheffield, it has a no frills approach; staff friendly and efficient at check in, large, well appointed room. The view from the window was of a yard, but we weren;t there for the view. Only slight grips - they had said on the phone they had a car park, but after driving round, we simply couldn't find it - in fact,, they have subsidised parking bays in the nearby NCP car park, but it would have been helpful to know this before we started looking for it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

We found finding this modern hotel a bit tricky ( I asked a taxi driver for help, "Ah yes, it's rather difficult..."), but when we got there, in a nondescript commercial area, we found it was only a ten minute walk from the city centre & that it had a free covered car park.
Modern hotel with clean more than adequate budget style rooms. As our bed had a winter weight duvet the efficient A/C was welcome. Our room (501) was by the lift & a bit noisy.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre - St Mary's Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre - St Mary's Gate

Address: Young Street | St Marys Gate, Sheffield S1 4LA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#1 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre - St Mary's Gate 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St. Marys Gate) newly opened (December 2008) has a good location, just a 5-minute walk from some of the city's best shops, theatres, bars and restaurants and only a 10-minute walk from the home ground of Sheffield United. Fully equipped with 6 air-conditioned meeting rooms - please call site for details of sizes. The hotel has a 24-hour reception desk and all rooms have freeview TV and telephone/modem points, non-smoking and air conditioning, a shower only site (no bath) with Some rooms taking 2 adults and up to 2 children (under 16 years). The 2 children also get a free full breakfast when accompanied by an adult eating a full breakfast. (The breakfast offering is an 'all you can eat buffet breakfast') This site also offeres a 'Tyme' restaurant/bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre - St Mary's Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary`s Gate) Hotel Sheffield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre - St Mary's Gate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.