We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold Food Tiny Portions Total Rip Off” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Silversmiths

Silversmiths
111 Arundel Street, Sheffield S1 2NT, England
0114 270 6160
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #175 of 1,161 Restaurants in Sheffield
Price range: $2 - $33
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Romantic, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Hull
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cold Food Tiny Portions Total Rip Off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We travelled to Sheffield for a party night out for a meal followed by an evening at the Comedy Club, We had booked well in advance for a group of 13 but unfortunately 2 dropped out at the last minute, we informed the restaurant on arrival and no comment was made.
We should have realised the quality of this establishment by the fact that it was empty bar one other table. We had booked for the early evening menu and when we were ordering the waiter warned us that we although this was an all inclusive 3 course meal we should order addtional side dishes as the portions were small, how right he was most of us are on diets and even with the additional side orders there was only just enough. When the food arrived it was luke warm at best two of the party didnt get served until the rest of us had already finished our meals.
When we were presented with the bill we found they had charged an additional £20 for our friends who could not attend. I most certainly would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silversmiths, Owner at Silversmiths, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
I appreciate you taking time to comment however as spokesperson for your group (a hen party), you have a few *crossed wires*

You said - *We should have realised the quality of this establishment by the fact that it was empty bar one other table*.
As with restaurants the world over, we stagger our bookings... naturally there would be many empty tables when you arrived at 5pm (the second table of the night). We had capacity 120 booked in that evening and turned away 10 walk-ins while you were there.

You said - * The waiter warned us that we although this was an all inclusive 3 course meal we should order addtional side dishes as the portions were small*
We did not say it was an *All Inclusive meal*... just a set price for 3 courses. We recomended sides (like the majority of restaurants) but certainly not as we thought portions were small.

I am sorry you felt the portion sizes small

Two of your party did recieve their meals late; I fully explained the reason why this occurred to your friends, I apologised sincerely and immediatley offered both customers a complimentary dessert which they accepted along with my apology.

You said *When we were presented with the bill we found they had charged an additional £20 for our friends who could not attend*

Your friend who booked the table was fully aware of the deposits requested for large groups on a Saturday night. Unfortunately she did not let the group know... hence your surprise. We will be implenting a new system to ensure this problem does not occur again.

I hope my feedback is useful and clarifys some important points.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    136
    79
    62
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food, friendly attentive staff, lovely surroundings...perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My partner and I went here for a romantic meal on a friends recommendation....we weren't disappointed! We both had starters and mains which were gorgeous (the belly pork deserves particular praise)......I forced myself to have the panna cotta for dessert which while I didn't really need I couldn't ignore! Needless to say it was divine. I must mention the staff, they were superb. We'll certainly be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silversmiths, Owner at Silversmiths, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Great comments which i've passed to the team... we will keep up the good work!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Brilliant Valentines Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We visited silversmiths the night after valentines when the special valentines menu was still running. The food and service was excellent, we have already booked for our next visit!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silversmiths, Owner at Silversmiths, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
we're glad we added to the romance of your night! see you here soon we hope :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Terrific little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Although my wife had previously dined at this establishment, this was my first visit for a Valentine's Day menu option. All the produce is locally sourced and the quality of service and food was excellent. Slighty off the beaten track, although very close to the central train station, this eatery is well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silversmiths, Owner at Silversmiths, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
So glad you enjoyed the Valentine menu, we enjoyed designing it and we hope you'll come and try our ongoing seasonal menus as the year progresses!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Have now eaten twice at Silversmiths. Both times on a Wednesday with the 2 courses for £15 offer.
On both occasions it was a lovely meal. The menu was interesting and the dishes beautifully crafted.
Staff were both friendly and attentive at all times.
Very enjoyable and you get quality food at a very reasonable price. Would like to visit on pie night at some point soon!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silversmiths, Owner at Silversmiths, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Oh yes you should come for Pie Night!! i think you'd love it...

Thanks for taking time to review :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silversmiths also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Silversmiths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silversmiths, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.