We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Curry” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flouch Balti Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Flouch Balti Restaurant
The Flouch Inn, Whamms Road | Hazel Head, Sheffield S36 4HH, England
01226 766800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #100 of 1,161 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $38 - $68
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Flouch Balti, located in the Flouch Inn in Hazelhead, is a hidden gem near Sheffield specialising in Balti Indian dishes. The restaurant, with dark burgundy walls, potted plants and a bubbling fish tank, is a popular with local couples and families and is a fun place for parties and celebrations. The kitchen is renowned for their delicious curries, and poplar items from the menu include the Chicken Tikka Masala in a creamy sauce; the Prawn Balti cooked with garlic, chillies and masala sauce; and the Tandoori Palong – chicken cooked in the tandoori oven then sautéed with garlic. Flouch Balti also serves Kingfisher beer alongside an extensive and reasonably priced wine list.
Sheffield
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Curry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We have been quite a few times to the Sunday buffet which is excellent, there are usually 3 different chicken curries, 2 vegetable dishes, pilau rice, naan bread and a couple of starters ie bhaji, pakoras etc with salad and yoghurt plus their special tomato onion salad, you can get as much as you like as many time as you like, my mouth is watering already! but we have also tried meals from the normal menu as well as the special set menu for 2, as previous reviewers have mentioned the staff are always polite and welcoming. It is off the beaten track but they always seem busy and there is a constant stream of people collecting takeaways so that tells you its good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    16
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Wouldn't go anywhere else!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Do not be put off by the exterior of this building. The Balti House is downstairs ( or you can get level access at the back for grandad! ) , ok it might look a bit tired, but we would not go anywhere else for a curry. This place is almost in the middle of nowhere and people will drive miles to get to it, which speaks for itself. The staff are wonderful, smart and polite even when it's totally manic, which it normally always is! The atmosphere is really lovely. And the food, the main thing, is divine. There is something for everyone. We eat here all the time and go for normal meals and the Sunday buffet too, it's amazing value and I have never ever had a bad experience. Even in your best places you might have gone on an off day and wondered what had happened, but continued to go as on the whole it's great - not so here, I have never been disappointed. We go as a couple, or as a family or take friends and it is consistently brilliant. When we have ventured to other curry houses we always compare it and feel let down and then disappointed that we even bothered going somewhere else and wished we'd just gone to our old FIRM FAVOURITE, we've stopped even trying anywhere else, this is the place to go.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“great curry resteraunt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

visited with my partner on recommendation of my daughter who now wouldn't go anywhere else for curry.great food generous portions,fast,polight service .friends also agree,a great indian balti house.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“the best curry ever - and well worth the drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Have often stopped at flouch for a take away on the way back from manchester airport - and the quality is superb. i guess it has to be - it is 20 minutes from sheffield and about the same from barnsley - but is usually busy and seems to have a very loyal following. We decided to go for a meal rather than a take away - and were very impressed. The service is excellent and the food freshly prepared and very high quality. The yellow coloured yoghurty sauce and red onion mix which comes with the starters is divine. Every dish we had was superb - and we will certainly return.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Restraunt - very popular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

We've visited the Flouch many times as its excellent food, great service and a great price. We've visited during the week and on Sunday nights for the excellent value for money buffet with good choice of food.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flouch Balti Restaurant also viewed

Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Penistone, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Flouch Balti Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flouch Balti Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.