We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of House Boat Hotels Ltd

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added House Boat Hotels Ltd to your Saves list
House Boat Hotels Ltd
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Victoria Quays / Wharf Street, Sheffield S2 5SY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The boat needs a total overhaul as fixtures and fittings shabby, blinds stained. Food remained in kitchen plug hole when we arrived. Broken chair in the living room. No matches to light woodburner, broken glass on front of woodburner. Bolt had fallen off inside door on our arrival so we were unable to secure door properly. It was just myself and my daughter staying so we really needed to feel safe on the boat. I contacted the owner who advised she didn't know what she could do about the bolt as it was sunday night. She suggested I try and use the combination lock to lock ourselves in but there was nothing to attach it to ? Water from hot water tap was luke warm so didn't bother with shower. Window in living area that we couldn't close properly and it was February. Only positive was the comfortable bed and the bed linen which smelled lovely. One step up from camping and very poor value. Wont be returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    9
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
9
18
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Arrived here late as our car broke down. Started off bad as we had a job to find the boat then we couldn't undo the lock - had to ring and found we had been given the wrong code.
Once inside things improved - it was lovely and warm and they had even left a lamp on for us. Some nice little touches like some port had been left plus some milk and water in the fridge.
It happened to be the windest night we have had all winter and the boat was rocking a bit. The beds were nice and comfortable.
Everything was clean although the boat could do with a little bit of upgrading. Coal and wood was left for us for the fire but we never lit.
Would stay here again as it was an overnight stay that was a bit different.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Despite the marina being frozen over we were a little surprised to find the fire wasn't lit as per the websites description. In fact it hadn't been cleaned since the last guests. There were also no logs or coal on the boat. No problem we thought, we' 'll just go and buy a couple of bags and get ready for the snow.

Once we warmed the boat through we had a lovely night on-board. We went for a walk the next morning and were a little surprised to find that someone had let themselves in and was cleaning. This hadn't been mentioned to us at any point. Rather than complain we went for a drive to get out of the way as we could not access the boat while this was going on as there wasn't room.

The final straw was when we returned an hour and a half later to find the coal that we had paid for had been taken. So despite it being minus three outside we yet again had no fuel.

We booked this as a treat for our anniversary and after all this decided enough was enough and came home. It's a real shame as the boat is great and people living nearby were really friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinderford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

When I booked it seemed like a long way off... I picked the place mainly because it was a unique place to stay and because it was pet friendly. But on the day of arrival I got a text with the special code for the door lock. The owner then called me and gave me personalised dirrections and another combination for the carpark; this was incredibly helpful. When we arrived we couldn't believe our eyes the boat Lily May was charming and quaint. Absolutely beautiful... It is in a very central location and only 10-15 minutes walk from town at even my pace. They provide you with logs for the log burner and the kitchen is well equipt. There is free view and the beds were just heavenly. We'd stay here again and again x

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We arrived at 5 on Wednesday evening to a walm boat with port left for us n the bedding smelled lovely we booked the mallard got the next day after asking if we did could we move from lily may to the mallard both was lovely but different stays we swapped over at 11.45 from one to another, mags the cleaner is a lovely lady to and Kathryn also introduced her self to us as well will come back again and again so peaceful n lovely

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Staying on a canal boat in Sheffield canal basin could have been brilliant. And the location certainty was. With reflections of the lights on the water playing on the ceiling at night it was quite charming.
But a lot of small problems added up to a big one.
Despite changing the gas cylinder there wasn't enough gas pressure to boil a kettle.
A match box was provided to light the gas, but almost all the matches were dead.
The instructions for using the chemical toilet were just plain wrong. A flood of pee all over the floor was not a good start to the stay.
There was supposed to be a DVD player. We couldn't find it.
Fittings were tatty: The porthole cover catch over the bed was missing. The toilet door wouldn't shut from the inside. One of the lights didn’t work.
And there was no welcome or introduction when we arrived.
This was a very expensive B & B, even without the breakfast. We expected it to be quirky, and Lilliputian. But this was a rip-off.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here last august, from the word go the service and correspondence we received was fantastic. We had in depth texts and email informing us of how to access the boat and when it was free.

We stayed in the Mallard which we found cost, comfy and clean. There was wine left in the fridge with two glasses on top although we didn't drink it as we weren't sure if it was free....perhaps a hint would have been worthwhile. CDs were left for our enjoyment and although it wasn't really our favourite music it was lovely for listening to whilst opening up the hatches and looking across the canal.

We were fine temperature wise although it rained all weekend and I wouldn't want it any colder. The was a fire we were allowed to use along with newspaper and coal, however only one match, so when that failed to strike and we had no lighter or any other form of flame we were a bit disappointed!!

Overall enjoyed the experience, not overly expensive and a little taste of something different!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to House Boat Hotels Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House Boat Hotels Ltd

Address: Victoria Quays / Wharf Street, Sheffield S2 5SY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — House Boat Hotels Ltd 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your House Boat Hotels Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Boat Hotels Ltd Hotel Sheffield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House Boat Hotels Ltd, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.