We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne Hotel Sheffield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Copthorne Hotel Sheffield to your Saves list
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Bramall Lane, Sheffield S24SU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
uk
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on business. Room was very large and modern. Everything looked new and very clean. Was pleased with room lighting and ambience. Also nice to have sky sports 1 and 2 available for free as was wifi.
Staff were helpful and polite,
The only let down for me was room service. The food (chicken burger) was prompt but disappointing.
I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Georgie6767,

Thank you for your review of our hotel and for your positive feedback on your overall stay.

Please accept my apology for the lapse in standards with your room service. I will be sure to investigate it with our chef and have no doubt that you will see an improvement when next you stay with us.

I am glad to see that this experience did not overly detract from your stay and that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    257
    53
    23
    12
See reviews for
73
354
52
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed here for a Friday night for our daughter's graduation. Check in excellent, very quick and no problems, free wifi offered without being asked, rooms were ready early as well which was a bonus.
We only had a drink in the bar so can't comment about food offering - bar service friendly and efficient.
Reception staff very helpful, and arranged taxi for us without a problem, and it was done with a smile, which makes a nice change.
Returned back in the evening and had a good night's sleep. Only quibble about the room was the light switches - the one that controlled all the down lighters was actually built in to the desk...which if we had used the desk we might have noticed! Same went for power points - very difficult to boil the kettle in the morning.
Check out no problems.
One final thing - please find somewhere else for smokers to stand other than right outside the front door - looks cheap and trashy.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Igloo 124,

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay. I am particlarly gratified to read your compliments on our staff's friendliness - this is something we work very hard to maintain and are so very proud of our staff.

Thank you also for your constructive comment regarding the smoking area outside the hotel - we are currently looking at relocating it away from the main entrance.

We look forward to having you stay with us again on your return to Sheffield.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed here for one night only for a family party but it was our second visit. The bed is a super king size and very comfortable and even though it is a zip and link you don't feel the join down the middle because of the deep quilted bed topper. Bathroom clean and decent size bath sheets.
Drinks in the bar are expensive! The bar food in the afternoon left a little to be desired, overpriced and missing items that should have been included namely the "pickle" in a "cheese and pickle sandwich"
The best thing about this hotel though is the staff - very friendly and professional on both the reception (Rebecca) and the bar area.
Before booking on other sites call the hotel as I believe they will price match.

Room Tip: Doesn't really matter - you have a view of the football stadium on one side and houses on the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Thorner,

Thank you for such a positive response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay.

Please accept my apology for the lapse in standards with your bar food order. Be assured that corrective training action will be applied by our chef with the individuals concerned.

Thank you also for your positive comment regarding our staff and particulalry Rebecca who I am sure will be bursting with pride after reding your kind words.

We look forward to having you stay with us again on your return to Sheffield.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Location-OK
Check in/out quick and easy
Room-well equipped and comfortable, even got Sky Sports-v ery clean and modern
Really comfy bed
View-not so great football stadium car park
Dood and drink? Didn't use!
Overall- perfect inexpensive City break hotel, 20 mins walk or £3 taxi from city centre.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Redrobb57,

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed such a pleasant stay with us and we look forward to having you stay with us again on your return to Sheffield.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed here overnight on a Saturday, we found the staff very friendly and helpful - I am really shocked to see the negative review about a stolen item and wonder why someone would write a review for a "friend" of this nature?
The Hotel in our view was faultless in every way, the beds were very comfortable, the rooms spotless and the bathroom was very modern.
The club package is definately worth it!
All I can say to the manager is please ask your staff to keep doing what they are doing from the maids, check in staff and waiting staff they were all very courteous and professional.
We came back home feeling wonderfully refreshed - thank you , we will definately return

Room Tip: Try the club package for an added special touch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear CraigandCarole,

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay.

Thank you particularly for your exceedingly kind words about our staff. We are very proud of all of our team members and their warm hospitality that they provide. I will ensure that your compliments are shared with them all.

We look forward to having you stay with us again on your return to Sheffield.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heaven
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed here last week when we came to Sheffield for a shopping trip.
Firstly it was a simple booking process on the hotel website - it was also cheaper to book directly with them rather than other sites.
When we arrived there was a really professional and pleasant receptionist (Rebecca?), she checked us in and answered all our questions about getting around the city centre. She helpfully provided a map and gave us details re taxis.
We had booked a club room which was lovely - it was clean and remarkably modern. The bed was large and very comfortable. The room was quiet however some of the doors tend to slam but that didn't really affect us. We really enjoyed it - especially the free drinks, snacks and breakfast that came with the club room!
The hotel bar and restaurant were really nice, food and drinks were served quickly by exceptional staff.
Shopping in city centre is around 15 minutes walk but we got taxis which were only under £5 each way.
Meadowhall wasn't too far a drive either.
All in all, an amazing few days were had and this was all at an extremely reasonable cost.
Thank you for making our stay in Sheffield a pleasant one!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear AnjaliHeaven,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel after your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate all feedback as it assists us in maintaining our standards of superior service and hospitality. We will be sure to pass on your positive review to all of our team members; particularly Rebecca on our reception desk.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

WE have stayed multiple times at this hotel and I thoroughly recommend it! The decor is sophisticated, chic and comfortable. The rooms are excellent and the food is a decent standard. Its a treat to be so close to the Sheffield United ground and see the odd player at breakfast equally its an ok distance to the city centre for a night out, shopping trip etcetc. The only gripe is that there is ALWAYS an issue on check out sorting the bill! we pre booked our meals and reception do not seem to know what is and isnt included. It is always sorted but there is always a battle, such a shame to leave with a bad taste in your mouth.

Alison and the restaurant staff are excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear rthereanyfreenames,

Thank you for your review of our hotel after your recent stay.

Please accept my apology for the irritation caused by the repeated issues at check out. Be assured that we will investigate the details and corrective training action will be applied with the individuals concerned.

I trust that this experience did not overly detract from your stay and that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copthorne Hotel Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Sheffield

Address: 1 Bramall Lane, Sheffield S24SU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#11 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish and modern hotel is situated adjacent to Sheffield United Football Club stadium, close to Sheffield city centre and to some of the area’s top sights and attractions. The hotel has 158 guest rooms, consisting of Standard and Club rooms, and the superb Penthouse Suite.The Copthorne Hotel Sheffield brings modern facilities and welcoming services to the heart of the city and the restaurant at this popular hotel has been awarded an AA Rosette, in recognition of the high quality cuisine that it serves. 18Fifty5 Restaurant specialises in using fresh, local ingredients to produce contemprory dishes with a local flavour.Ideal for leisure and business guests, the hotel offers conference and banqueting facilities for up to 400 guests and also offers complimentary on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Sheffield Hotel Sheffield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.