We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne Hotel Sheffield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Copthorne Hotel Sheffield to your Saves list
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Bramall Lane, Sheffield S24SU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Business trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Overall a really good experience. Comfortable rooms, well equipped, clean and spacious. All staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel is conveniently located in the city centre and has a free car park on site. I used the stadium as a venue for a business meeting. The rooms there are spacious and well equipped. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful there too. the restaurant is good. The quality of the food was excellent. Breakfast was good with a large selection of hot and cold food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive response after your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your superb feedback and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay.

We trust that you will stay with us again on your return to Sheffield.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    276
    58
    25
    13
See reviews for
86
379
53
172
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sheffield, uk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Overall an excellent stay. I booked this hotel for an overnight stay for a stag do. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. We also get breakfast which was had an excellent choice including full english, fruit and pastries. I fund it excellent value and was allowed to car my car free of charge all day even thought it was a match day. Helpful staff and trouble free checking in and out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review of our hotel after your recent stay. We will be sure to pass on your positive review to all of our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Trevor Vels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend booked this hotel as a surprise along with tickets for olly murs at he Sheffield arena on 01.03.13.
Check in was very good, well mannered and polite staff answering any questions/queries you have promptly. Our room was excellent, well worth the money that was paid, very clean and modern
This hotel had a restaurant which we did not use but looked nice.
It has a car park, which was full when we returned after the concert, we phoned the hotel and they said its fine to park in the football stadium next door.
In all 10 out of 10 for this hotel. Would defiantly return if staying in Sheffield.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable and positive feedback received. We sincerely appreciate your superb compliments and are delighted that you clearly enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope that you enjoyed the Ollie Murs concert just as much!

We look forward to welcoming you back for any future visits.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Croydon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located in the city centre and actually has a free car park on site. The hotel is the running business when Sheffield United FC are not playing...the hotel is 24/7 operational which is useful for the late checkers. Don't let the soccer connection put you off. The stadium has function rooms which host weddings (already seen three muslim weddings in two days..though there was little noise). The hotel is modern stylish and clean. The staff are extremely friendly especially the Lithuanian who sounds like he was born in Barnsley!! The hotel has a bar and restaurant..which is pricey but the food looks yummy. There is a shop though across the road which is open 24/7, less than 0.5 miles away is your usual array of fast food and pizza joints. This is one of the few hotels I have been to where it has been clean, friendly and busy at the same time.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the car parks have a lot of light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor V, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel after your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate all feedback as it assists us in maintaining our standards of superior service and hospitality. We will be sure to pass on your positive review to all of our team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Trevor Vels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here for a short easter break. The hotel is clean and all the staff are very friendly and welcoming. we had fantastic breakfast on the first morning and we were well looked after. The second night was different matter we were on the second floor and directly above a function room. My partner had an early start so an early night 2200 was planned but this was not possible because of the noise from the below disco. We put the television on but we could not drown out the noise. I rang the reception and was assured that the music would be turned off at 2300 so we waited at 2310 with the music still booming we rang reception to ask what was happening the duty Manager said he would someone up to ask them to turn off the music 5 minutes later the music went off. After that people who had been to the party came up to our floor and started talking and laughing outside the rooms but eventually things went quiet around midnight. I am no party pooper but if i booked again i would ask to be on the 7th floor just incase. I know this is not the staffs fault but if someone is booking for 2 nights i would consider putting them on a floor well away from the function rooms.

Room Tip: Try to get a room above the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor V, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Yorkshire Ben, Thank you for your valuable feedback received after your recent stay. Please accept my apology for the disruption caused by the in-house function and rowdy guests. Please be assured that we do not condone nor tolerate this form of misbehaviour and will certainly address these specific occurrences with our night managers to improve our management hereof for future stays.

We look forward to welcoming you back for any future visits where we hope to demonstrate our usual standards of hospitality and comfort.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We use this hotel for business stays, and it is excellent value. The hotel is clean and modern with helpful staff and good facilities. It is a little bit out of the centre, but is easily walking distance to the many restaurants on London Road. Beakfast is decent value too, but you can spend a while waiting of you fancy a (freshly made) fried egg. There is ample parking on site for free, which is also a bonus as well as a fitness room (never been, can't comment further), and plenty of rooms for meetings. Rooms are nice an quiet, (I have never had a bad night's sleep here), and the bathrooms are spotless and new. All in all outstanding value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor V, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your valuable and positive feedback received. We sincerely appreciate your superb compliments and are delighted that you clearly remain loyal to our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your future visits.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston, uk
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Hilton's near abouts the same price. Better service.

Stayed 3 nights. At check in receptionist said we had booked 2. So after 2 nights as I predicted, our key stopped working and we had to go back to reception where we got a new one.

Rooms were ok. We changed 10 mins after we arrived because we were given a disabled room. Wouldnt mind but the showers arent very nice and the bed is literally on the floor, as was the sink in the bathroom. Not practical!! The new room was exactly the same but had a bath, ordinary bed and sink, and made our stay 100% better. Disabled rooms should be saved for those that need them. Not "given out at random to those that book on a search engine" as I was told when I phoned down to reception, before being offered a new room. I dont need a full explanation about room allocation, I just wanted a new room an the way she was ranting on about it I thought she was going to actually say no!

On check out after 3 nights somebody had vomited all over the bonnet of our car in the copthorne carpark. The receptionist said it was probably the students in the halls opposit... We had to drive to a car wash to get it sorted out ourselves.

Was ok overall. But we usually stay at the hilton for similar price but they were full. Their service is a cut above the rest, rnd the have a pool.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor V, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your valuable feedback received after your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate your comments which will be utilised to address the shortfalls as highlifghted and resolve them for future stays. I am particularly disappointed to hear of the fouling of your car and apologise most sincerely that my staff did not do more to assist you.

I do hope that you will consider staying with us again for any future visits which will allow us to demonstrate our usual standards of hospitality.

Kind Regards,

Trevor Vels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copthorne Hotel Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Sheffield

Address: 1 Bramall Lane, Sheffield S24SU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#8 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish and modern hotel is situated adjacent to Sheffield United Football Club stadium, close to Sheffield city centre and to some of the area’s top sights and attractions. The hotel has 158 guest rooms, consisting of Standard and Club rooms, and the superb Penthouse Suite.The Copthorne Hotel Sheffield brings modern facilities and welcoming services to the heart of the city and the restaurant at this popular hotel has been awarded an AA Rosette, in recognition of the high quality cuisine that it serves. 18Fifty5 Restaurant specialises in using fresh, local ingredients to produce contemprory dishes with a local flavour.Ideal for leisure and business guests, the hotel offers conference and banqueting facilities for up to 400 guests and also offers complimentary on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Sheffield Hotel Sheffield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.