We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copthorne Hotel Sheffield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Copthorne Hotel Sheffield to your Saves list
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Bramall Lane, Sheffield S24SU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 57 Hotels in Sheffield
west midlands
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed over for 1 night for my birthday end September, lovely friendly staff, clean and modern rooms. I requested before I arrived a higher floor I was given the top floor so 10/10 for communication. Walk into town centre about 10 - 15 mins but wouldnt like to do this alone late at night as some quiet area's to walk through (althought you could stick to main roads) without going too much out of your way. Parking not an issue and we arrived a little earlier than check in time but had no problem getting out room. Free Wi Fi in public area's.

Room Tip: Rooms by the lift a little noisey due to the corridor door banging.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    257
    53
    23
    12
See reviews for
73
354
52
158
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed there for one night when we went to see westlife on there farewell tour it was a really nice room and and a lovely night staff very friendly and very willing to help you if you have a problem which we did not. nice bar area . breakfast next morning was good with a great choice of food. will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We've just returned from a one night stay at this wonderful hotel. We were attending a football match at Bramall Lane; the hotel was perfectly located for here! We walked into the city in the evening which took a good 15mins, only a £5 taxi trip back though.

We arrived at the hotel at about 12.30pm so there was plenty of hotel parking available (if arriving a home game day, the road closes at 2pm until about 6pm which may be an issue for some) We popped into the hotel on the off chance that a room would be ready, we were not disappointed. The lobby area was extremely welcoming, as were the staff. It took all of 5mins to find us a room which was great.

The room was extremely well equipped; tea/coffee making facilities, ironing board, fridge, decent hairdryer etc. It was decorated in a very modern style and the bathroom was lovely. We were on the 3rd floor at the front of the hotel but had no problems with traffic noise.

I wouldn't hesitate to saty in this hotel again and would certainly recommend it to others, despite it's location slightly out of the city centre. I would be hard pushed to make a negative comment; I guess the only slight complaint that I could make is that the bed was very soft - fine for me but not so comfortable for those needing greater support when sleeping!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was nice, staff helpful, they even allowed us to check in early when we arrived. The hotel was easy to find and it was easy to park there. Although be warned if you go on a day when there is a football game on the police do close the road off so arrive before the game starts! Hotel nice though would stay again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We recently stayed at the Copthorne Hotel at Bramall Lane Sheffield. Checking in was not supposed to be until 2.00 pm but when we explained that we were attending a wedding at that time and would really like to check in earlier to get ready they said they would do their best to accommodate us. Sure enough when we arrived just before 1.00pm our room was ready. The staff were really helpful and the room spacious and extremely clean and even had air conditioning for a cool nights sleep. Excellent value for money. No problems for us but due to being located next to the football ground may be different if there is a football match.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here as friends were getting married at the Victoria Quays and we wanted somewhere to stay near to this location and that of the reception in Handsworth. We were arriving early-ish on the Sunday, and had called a few days before to see whether we would be able to get into our room before the standard check-in time. We were told that they would try to accommodate us but if not, we could always drop our luggage. As it turned out, we WERE able to get a room, so a good start!
The room was lovely - very large, modern and clean; it sounded quite noisy when we came in but once we closed the window, we could not hear a peep from outside.
When we returned from the wedding in the evening we had a drink in the bar which was probably the sort of price you'd expect from a city centre hotel (£7 for a large glass of wine); it was VERY busy and buzzy in the bar which was quite nice.
You could hear people coming and going and doors opening and closing in the corridors quite clearly, but this was really the only noise that we heard whilst in the room. The tea and coffee facilities in the room were fine and fairly standard.
Breakfast the next morning was OK; we were quite late so were at the tail end of the buffet and probably missed more of the "Continental" side of it.
All-in-all, a very positive experience! A note, though - as it's attached the Sheffield United Football Ground I think match days could be absolutely manic!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Copthorne is ideally located around 10 minutes stroll from the Devonshire Quarter (SHU accommodation, bars, independent shops, etc). If you travel with someone who wears unsuitable blister inducing footwear for walking, £5 covers the taxi journey back to the hotel including tip.

The hotel is one of the few in the city which offers complimentary parking although, arriving at about 7pm on match day (the hotel is adjacent to Sheffield United's ground) we were lucky to find the last space (there is also free parking around the hotel area). The hotel is smart and the rooms well equiped and spacious. The local neighbourhood is not plush, but we knew what to expect and we did not experience any problems.

I will be making frequent trips to the city over the next few years and the Copthorne will be my hotel of choice.

Room Tip: Check if Sheffield United are playing at home - some roads are closed around match times and the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copthorne Hotel Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Sheffield

Address: 1 Bramall Lane, Sheffield S24SU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#11 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish and modern hotel is situated adjacent to Sheffield United Football Club stadium, close to Sheffield city centre and to some of the area’s top sights and attractions. The hotel has 158 guest rooms, consisting of Standard and Club rooms, and the superb Penthouse Suite.The Copthorne Hotel Sheffield brings modern facilities and welcoming services to the heart of the city and the restaurant at this popular hotel has been awarded an AA Rosette, in recognition of the high quality cuisine that it serves. 18Fifty5 Restaurant specialises in using fresh, local ingredients to produce contemprory dishes with a local flavour.Ideal for leisure and business guests, the hotel offers conference and banqueting facilities for up to 400 guests and also offers complimentary on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Sheffield Hotel Sheffield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copthorne Hotel Sheffield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.