We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quality and consistency” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wagamama - Reading

Wagamama - Reading
Riverside Level | The Oracle, Reading RG1 2AG, England
+44 (0)118 951 1599
Improve this listing
Ranked #136 of 505 Restaurants in Reading
Price range: $0 - $45
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
London
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great quality and consistency”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

regular visitors to this restaurant. food quality is of highest standard - very hygienic, presentation is good, big portion sizes and tastes superb. only complaint is the seating on wooden benches can be improved upon, so customers don't end up with back ache.
service is good too, with some decent recommendations.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    68
    41
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“not good for single person”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

It's not a good place to go on your own and would think of good service and a good meal, as I was snapped by a plate of noodles which was not fresh

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Don't let the benches put you off”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Although the restaurant looks a little uncomfortable with wooden benches to sit on and it's often quite crowded, this does not reflect on the quality or price of the food which in my five visits, I have always found to be large tasty portions. The last time neither me nor a friend were able to finish our ramens but we both thoroughly enjoyed them and would greatly recommend this place for casual eating especially for those who don't want to spend too much money but want a decent meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lunch at Wagamama”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

On entering restaurant it does not not give you the impression of a place to have a relaxing lunch, with the wooden benches. But, surprisingly, once you are seated you forget you are on a bench, they are comfortable. Downside I was dreading having someone placed next to me, but it did not happen there was plenty of space for you to have a quiet conversation. The menu I found quiet daunting, did not know where to start looking, very confusing. After a while I chose Rice with Chicken and Prawns. This came with a strange side dish of soup and a small cap size saucer of "no idea". The rice was OK would have better cooked with salt to taste, the soup, weird as it looked done the business of cleansing your palette. Presentation good but food lacked taste. Polish waitress was very friendly. When taking your order the waitress did mention that the orders may not arrive together, but it did. So was impressed on the speed of the service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell Englan
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food, nice location, service variable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My friend and I enjoyed the food at this restaurant, especially the curry dishes. However, service is variable and all the dishes came at quite random times, my friend waited until my dish came which was a lot later so hers got a bit cold. We enjoyed the food and service apart from the difference in main dishes being served. The desserts were good, mine was apple and ginger parcels with a vanilla sauce. The food is colourful, healthy and leaves one feeling good and healthy, not stuffed. A busy and ideal location if one is out shopping or going to Vue cinema.Would definitely go again. Not cheap but very pleasant and healthy. Be careful, some of the dishes are quite spicy!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wagamama - Reading also viewed

Reading, Berkshire
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to Wagamama - Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wagamama - Reading, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.