We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Linear and circular walks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kennet & Avon Canal

Kennet & Avon Canal
Reading, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 38 attractions in Reading
Type: Hiking Trails
Attraction Details
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Linear and circular walks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Many lovely walks and cycle rides from Reading to Bath. Beautiful in Autumn. Many attractions along the way eg pubs, Crofton Pumping Station (very interesting and with café), Devizes flight of locks.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    43
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The best thing you can do is to take a bike out, and ride along the kennet and avon canal. Probably the most under-rated part of Reading.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Boat, cycle, walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The Kennet and Avon canal is a great place for a short walk, a long bike ride or slow boat trip.
I have not done the full length but even the section passing through Reading is interesting - after which it gets better and more beautiful

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“A stroll or the whole journey - it's great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We've walked almost all of this wonderful canal - always in stages of a day or two days with an overnight stop. By picking the times and the weather we've enjoyed a wonderful series of experiences from Bill's for tea in Reading, the market in Newbury, and that wonderful tea room over the bridge in Bradford upon Avon, to mention a few. There are lots of access points for those wanting a short stroll; the going is easy but do watch out for rampaging cyclists who nowadays believe they have right of way on occasion (most are polite but there are always exceptions and as one gets older the hearing isn't what it was). I suppose our favourite stretch is the leisurely walk from Bradford to Bath

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfection.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

After a long days work or just in need of an unwind. A stroll along the river has an amazing way of letting me forget my troubles and clear my head. Clear waters... beautiful creatures... lovely sounds of trickling water. Do yourself a favour and take a stroll.......

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kennet & Avon Canal also viewed

Reading, Berkshire
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to Kennet & Avon Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kennet & Avon Canal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kennet & Avon Canal to your Saves list