We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolce Vita

Dolce Vita
king's walk, Reading rg1, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 505 Restaurants in Reading
Price range: $39 - $49
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

A great place to enjoy food! From pasta to beef with truffles. Warm service. Well located, just steps away from the Oracle centre. Highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    51
    8
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Fine food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We visited Dolce Vita for New Year's Eve and the atmosphere was happy and cheerful. We were given a choice of either being seated straight away or waiting a few minutes for a table located by the windows with a better outlook of the restaurant and external view.

The staff were very pleasant and took time to explain ingredients and flavours. I cannot fault the service, it was polite and courteous with minimal interruption.

A great evening wine good choices of wine and very tasty food. The bill was also very reasonable despite it being New Year's Eve.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Spoilt for choice with the menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Went to Dolce Vita as part of a works Xmas lunchtime meal, this place being one of my colleagues favourite restaurants. The place was very busy with a mix of similar parties as well as smaller groups / couples. The place certainly had a healthy atmosphere which I suspect is very much down to the leading lady whose infectious smile cant help but lift your mood.
We were presented with two menus, the normal a la carte as well as the "2 option" Xmas menu. To say that there was almost too much to choose from would perhaps be an under statement. There is certainly a very wide selection of fish dishes, pizzas and pasta as you might expect from an italian / mediterarian restaurant. But as I say there is almost too much choice. That said, this does not seem to phase the kitchen team who, despite this wide range of selections, delivered all dishes in a well cooked, well presented manner and together at the same time.
I played safe on this occassion with a foccia starter and pizza - well cooked, plates cleared and very tasty. Around the table was ordered a wide range of meat, fish & pizza dishes and there were no complaints. A few of us went for the starter with two of us having the triple chocolate pot - would have perhaps been better sharing as this is a very large dessert for one on their own and we both ended up leaving a good portion despite its wonderful taste.
Overall a good recommendation from my colleague and would call again if in the area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Went here for a work Christmas meal on the last Friday before Christmas. It was completely packed with other Christmas parties, all of which arrived around 7.30-8.00. Despite how busy it was, the food was really good, with no problems, no delays and all of the 22 meals coming out pretty much together. Staff were having to work hard but were really good fun. Great atmosphere and a great night.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Top Contributor
377 reviews 377 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
“This place just doesn't disappoint.......................”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I'm a regular here and the food and service never disappoints. Vana always make sure that all guests are happy and is very good at judging the mood and the timeline. The menus are very good indeed and I never fail to be impressed that all of the food is cooked fresh to order. The freshly made pasta is excellent. My favourite starter is the avocado, crab and smoked salmon stack and as for main courses there are too many fab dishes to mention. It's so good to find a non-chain place that lives up to its excellent reputation. Reasonable value too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolce Vita also viewed

 
Reading, Berkshire
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolce Vita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.