We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food & great atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolce Vita

Dolce Vita
king's walk, Reading rg1, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 493 Restaurants in Reading
Price range: $39 - $49
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food & great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My partner took me to dolce vita for a meal for my birthday after researching restaurants in the area. Dolce vita had the best reviews so he decided that dolce vita was the restaurant to take me.

Wow is all I can say...

The restaurant was busy but the atmosphere was great, the staff was really friendly and inviting & the food was first class.

We both had roast chicken soup for our starter, it was the best soup we have ever tasted.

As a main I had venison & veal stroganoff & my partner had the stuffed veal.

Both meals were perfectly cooked and the flavours were amazing.

We both agreed that these were the best meals we had ever had & we can't wait to go back to sample more of the menu.

Dolce vita is by far our favourite restaurant & unlike other top restaurants it does not break the bank. We paid £50 for two starters, two mains & we had two drinks each.

If your looking for a restaurant that has really friendly staff & a great atmosphere, amazing food at reasonable prices then dolce vita is the perfect place to eat.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    53
    9
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Try it - it is great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is a strange place as you have to go up a very dubious looking external staircase (fire escape?) to reach it - which nearly put us off. However the restaurant itself is very nice, the food was great, the staff were excellent. Will definitely go back again as the menu was one of the best we have seen/experienced for a long while.......

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“This is how it's done!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I meet friends here every 6 weeks or so for a slap-up lunch, and it has never disappointed.
Big portions, high quality ingredients, always delicious. Not cheap, but you get what you pay for, and we think it's actually good value considering how excellent the quality is.
Service is efficient, and quirky - the crazy Greek lady certainly makes every visit memorable! (but she's a perfectionist, and it shows).
You get the feeling this is a restaurant where they take great pride in the food and the service, which is why we keep returning! Keep up the good work.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food and nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Not my favourite place to eat but the food is always consistently good and there is often a good choice on the set menu for a cheaper night out. We had our staff Christmas party here a couple of years ago and even though there was a large party of us they still had all the food brought out to us in a timely fashion, which some restuarants struggle with! As well as the food there is a great selection of wine at reasonable prices too.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely people, looking forward to our return.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Fitted us in with no booking so we were lucky. Staff so friendly and happy, joking and having a laugh and also very warm. Food stunning & priced well. Atmosphere, even when full was great and no stressed or claustrophobic.

Customers entering via the fire escape were a bit of a pain for everyone though :-/

Thank you everyone at Dolce Vita!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolce Vita also viewed

 
Reading, Berkshire
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolce Vita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.