We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch and good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pizza Express

Pizza Express
R11 Riverside Level | Oracle Shopping Centre, Reading RG1 2AG, England
0118 957 4411
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #147 of 503 Restaurants in Reading
Price range: $16 - $24
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night
Description: Bright and modern, PizzaExpress Reading Oracle offers an exciting reinvention of Italian classics. A vibrant menu includes wholesome Romana-style pizzas with adventurous topping combinations, as well as fresh salads, an impressive range behind the bar and aromatic coffee blends. Family-friendly Pizza Express gives kids the chance to design their own pizzas.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great lunch and good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Enjoyed a great family lunch out on 2nd Jan. Quickly seated (flexible waiter arranged a nice spot whilst it was v busy), quick with service, and very good food. Very enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    34
    18
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Poor value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Took our granddaughter for a treat. Although the food was quite tasty the potion size was small, our eight year granddaughter ate an adult meal with no problem. I ordered the Pollo Pesto and was disappointed with the amount of chicken the dish had and the potion size. For £10.50 I feel this was a rip off. The pizza's looked good so would stick to them if I went again. Also annoyed that they will not accept the taste card for all of December!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Acceptable but nothing fantastic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Well located by the Oracle Shopping Centre, you know what you are getting when you visit a chain restaurant like Pizza Express. That is not to say there is anything wrong but.........
Had a bit of a blip as the friends we were meeting were shown to a different part of the restaurant - we had booked and they knew our names - so we were all there for 15 minutes before we accidentally found them whilst on our way to the loo! Poor communication on the staff's part. Food was OK, the wait on a Tuesday evening though far too long. Yes I know they always say 'the food is cooked fresh' but there are limits to this. Our waiter was too busy talking to people he knew to bother with asking whether we were OK. He also forgot to bring the salads until he was asked about them. This particular restaurant is freshly decorated but too noisy to allow much conversation. I think PE is expensive for what it is.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fairly Express”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We visited with out grandparents towards the end of lunch time in the school holidays and just about managed to get a table in the large, very well designed decor. The menu was really easy to order from, like it normally is from pizza express, and was a reasonable price. Our food came in about average time and the pizzas were far better than we had ever had in another branch of pizza express. Afterwards we ordered deserts which were very good, even if the tirimasu was massive. Service was very friendly thoroughout our meal. Wouldn't visit at lunch time in the holidays for a 'grown up' meal out though.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love Pizza Express”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I like how they can cater to something that you want changed and the staff are always happy and greet you nicely. I don't like how loud it can sometimes get and how cramped into a space you are!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Express also viewed

 
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to Pizza Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizza Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.