We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pau Brasil

Pau Brasil
89 Mount Pleasant, Reading RG1 2TF, England
0118 9752333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 505 Restaurants in Reading
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Brazilian, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I'd always wanted to go on a date here and finally someone took me on one. The mains were lovely - really tasty and generous portions. Intimate dining area upstairs - very cute! Will definitely go back. It'll be with a different bloke though.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    10
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic gem of a cafe with great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Having searched Trip Advisor for different cuisines in Reading we were very excited to try Brazilian food so walked in with high expectations. These were met from the moment we walked in. We wanted as authentic an experience as we could have so chose to have one of the Brazilian fruit drinks and had excellent guidance from the staff. They also took us through the food options explaining the background to the dishes as well as the flavours. The meal was excellent (it is all based around home cooked food which families eat on a regular basis in Brazil) and we enjoyed being able to sit next to the open window upstairs as it was a lovely Summer's day. We will certainly be back and look forward to seeing what new dishes are on the menu. You should definitely visit, but be aware that as a cafe it closes at 6 so call in advance to check the opening times.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a lovely little cafe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

As much as I want this little gem to do well I also want to keep it a secret for myself! Myself and my friend had a lovely lunch there a few weekes ago. We had some Brazillian street food which was lovely and a sandwich and some coffee. Lovely friendly staff and a great little find! Do yourself a favour...

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Delightful little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Have stopped off at Pau Brasil on many occasions and it never disappoints. Their coffee is lovely as are the little egg pastries (Pastel de nata?). Over the summer months it is worth giving their fruit smoothies a go as they are absolutely scrummy. The lady who owns it is very friendly and helpful, and will gladly explain the other items on the menu. Although very small (there are a few tables upstairs and two out front - which, despite being next to the road are a great little sun trap in summer) it very much has a community feel to it. Downstairs sells authentic Brazilian foods and ingredients. An authentic, independent, hidden gem in my opinion.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a find! And great for allergies!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We have walked past this little café lots of times but have never ventured inside because we couldn't see any seating except for the two little tables outside. But on the way back from the hospital today we decided that we needed a treat so went in and there are a few tables upstairs, with your food and drinks bought upstairs for you. The lady was very friendly and helpful. I asked lots of questions about what I could eat and drink and she did not get bored with me unlike most places I go into! We ended up having a peppermint tea and a special Brazilian tea that was hot but had slices of lime in it. It smelt delicious and apparently tasted wonderful. We also had two little chicken dumplings that are on the menu as Snacks for £1.60 each - just the right price point for these flavourful and juicy bites. Our teas were £1.80 each and we noticed that the soft drinks and bottled juices were only £1 which made us want to come back again. The only negative is that I have never tried this place before. Thank you.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pau Brasil also viewed

Reading, Berkshire
Reading, Berkshire
 
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to Pau Brasil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pau Brasil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.