We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Meal, Amazon Deal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forburys

Forburys
1, Forbury Square, The Forbury, Reading RG1 3BB, England
+44 (0)118 957 4044
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Forburys is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #67 of 515 Restaurants in Reading
Price range: $72 - $72
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: 5 minutes walk from the train station. 5 minutes walk from oracle shopping center Recommended taxi firm Top Cars 01189442222.
Description: Forbury's Restaurant is situated in the central square of a modern development opposite Forbury Garden in the centre of Reading; it has achieved many positive reviews since it opened along with a recommendation from Michelin in 2010, two AA Rosettes and inclusion in Harden's Top Ten Restaurants for 2007. The restaurant has been created by Xavier Le-Bellego whose name has become associated with fine food and dining.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Anniversary Meal, Amazon Deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We went for an anniversary meal (on an Amazon deal...)
It was fixed menu deal with three courses and wine.
The restaurant was lovely, light and clean. The staff were attentive, but not overly.
The food was excellent. We had the sea bream and brevette stake! Really tasty, cooked perfectly. The desert of baked alaska was mouth-wateringly delicious! Washed down with a glass of house Merlot.
A lovely treat of an evening in a great restraint, nice and local.
Nothing at all to complain about!

well done Forbury and thank you Amazon!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    88
    36
    26
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Very good spot for business lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Good menu, well priced fixed weekday lunch menu with traditional dishes and some interesting modern cuisine. Prompt unobtrusive service and a great wine list, albeit not used!

Good central location with transport links in all directions.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We ordered from the 'Market menu' and had a thoroughly enjoyable 3 course meal for 2 with drinks for under £60. Food was of a very good standard and service was excellent. Will definitely return as it's much better quality and value than many 'local' chain restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west berkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent for fine dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We have eaten here on special occasions and we always have had a thoroughly enjoyable experience, never had food that was not up to standard one would expect from a fine dining restaurant and the wine list, wow, we tend to ask the sommelier to suggest a wine to suit what we are eating, never been let down with his choice, sometimes he even recommends the house wine, which ever one he suggests it alway goes well to enhance the food we have chosen.
I wish we lived a little closer so we could visit more often, but I suppose whenever we do visit we can be guaranteed a really good evening, and at very affordable prices.
They have secure underground parking on site in the evenings, a big plus, the only problem is, you have to decide who is driving home, before you taste the wine, as one glass soon turns into a bottle. Would not recommend it if your preferred choice when eating out is the fast food places or some of chain restaurants, you would not appreciate what Forbury is about. Forbury Restaurant is in a different league, you go to enjoy the food, fine wine, the superb staff, the total experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Over Priced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We had Christmas Dinner, Thought we were going to have the best dinner ever, the cost was over £80 a head all 4 of us were disappointed, it was cold and tasteless, the roast potatoes were rock hard, over priced, poor service and guess what after the worst Christmas dinner they charge us another £40 service charge, I would never eat at this restaurant again

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forburys also viewed

 
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to Forburys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forburys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.