We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forburys

Forburys
1, Forbury Square, The Forbury, Reading RG1 3BB, England
+44 (0)118 957 4044
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Forburys is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #75 of 505 Restaurants in Reading
Price range: $72 - $72
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: 5 minutes walk from the train station. 5 minutes walk from oracle shopping center Recommended taxi firm Top Cars 01189442222.
Description: Forbury's Restaurant is situated in the central square of a modern development opposite Forbury Garden in the centre of Reading; it has achieved many positive reviews since it opened along with a recommendation from Michelin in 2010, two AA Rosettes and inclusion in Harden's Top Ten Restaurants for 2007. The restaurant has been created by Xavier Le-Bellego whose name has become associated with fine food and dining.
Hartley Wintney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

The food, setting and especially the service meant we had a most enjoyable and appetizing lunch yesterday at this restaurant. I would particularly like to mention the waitress who served us, Noemi. Nothing was too much trouble for her. We will certainly return and hope to see Noemi again.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    79
    34
    25
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Christmas Day lunch at Forbury's”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Rather disappointing Christmas Day meal in 2013. The menu choices looked pretty good beforehand (although disappointly the festive season party menu - described as available 25 November to 10 January - which also offered venison was not proffered). Service was slow (although the resturant was full with bookings), particulary before the dessert orders were taken. None of the meals were served on hot plates as one would expect (so were luke qwarm getting cold) and my son's turkey was very tough.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A disappointing Christmas meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We have been to this restaurant many times before, for family celebrations, valentines day meals and even a previous Christmas day so I was really looking forward to going again this Christmas. Unfortunately my high expectations weren't met. The food was nice but I've had better. I appreciate catering for large numbers isn't easy but several of our party couldn't have the starter they wanted and there were finishing touches missing, like no bread sauce or pigs in blankets with the turkey, no toaster sesame seeds with the salad, and no croutons with the soup. several of the meals were also luke warm. And describing the crackers on their website as 'luxury' was a joke. On a more positive note there was a warm welcome when we arrived, the general atmosphere was good and as always the wine was superb but we will be questioning how soon we go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing Christmas Day”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

We have had heard nothing but positive comments about this restaurant but our experience on Christmas Day was very disappointing. The menu listed a welcoming amuse-bouche, none arrived. My first course of terrine was very good but the dried sauce marks indicated it had been plated much earlier. There was no bread sauce with the turkey (listed on the menu) and our daughter was served roast potatoes having asked for mash. On the plus side we were recommended a very good wine and we all enjoyed our desserts. The overall impression was of a kitchen and that was struggling to cope with the orders. Unfortunately the manager displayed indifference when we put these points to him at the end of our meal.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Disappointing Christmas Meal”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Having booked this venue on the recommendation of other colleagues who had very good Christmas events at the Forbury we were looking forward to an excellent meal.

The welcome was fine, as were the starters, but then the problems started. When the main course was served only 9 out of the 17 meals were served. After waiting five minutes the 9 started their meals which were all only tepid in temperature. After a further ten minutes I went and complained and they said the other meals had accidentally been delivered to another table and the missing 8 would be with us shortly. After a total of 25 minutes the meals arrived. Having paid an additional sum for Wellington's one arrived as just meat and the explanation this time was that there was not enough time to prepare. As we had pre-ordered ten days earlier this seemed very difficult to understand.

The same happened with the pudding course, but the split was 10/6. Mine was one of those delayed, however it was at least hot. My colleagues had to complain again to get the missing puddings to arrive. One of them was directed to three different people being told that they each in turn was the manager in charge.

A negotiated 10% reduction was provided. The venue was fine, but the service and organisation were poor. However, this may have been a one off as I do know of many colleagues who have enjoyed good food and service at the Forbury. Indeed I had been there myself a couple of months ago and would have given them four stars on that occasion so on balance perhaps my above one star is a little harsh.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forburys also viewed

 

Been to Forburys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forburys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.