We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“won't be back in a hurry” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ask Italian

Ask Italian
Orbit House St Mary's Butts | Orbit House, St Mary's Butt, Reading RG1 2LN, England
0118 957 4850
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #147 of 515 Restaurants in Reading
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located right opposite the Broad Street Mall in Reading's city centre, ASK Italian offers affordable Italian cuisine in smart, modern surroundings. Well known throughout the UK for their contemporary style and excellent value Italian food, ASK Italian restaurants are a popular dining destination, particularly amongst the after work crowd. The menu is wide and varied, offering mouth watering dishes such as cod and pancetta fishcakes served with a lemon and parsley dip or beef meatballs in a spicy sauce served on top of rigatoni pasta. Desserts shouldn't be missed either with tiramisu and lemon tart on offer. ASK Italian in Reading is a favourite for Italian food and it's easy to see why.
London
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“won't be back in a hurry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Was our first visit to ASK and was disappointing.

Food was below average and service was not impressive. Took ages to get the drinks in. we could see that drinks were ready, but waiter was standing at the bar chatting to a colleague for a few minutes before serving us.
Kids' menu was not inspiring.
Our food was strictly average. have eaten better, fresher pizzas at Pizza express, Bella Italian etc.
we got a dessert (ice cream) for our kid, and that was not good either.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    34
    13
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Refurbished & New Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This branch is east to locate as it's just of the western end of Friar Street, the main pedestrian area of Reading, After passing Cafe Nero on the corner, head south & it's the 2nd shop along on West Street. It;s ideal away from the catchment area of the Oracle in terms of table availability, but still faces competition form it's sibling & inferior Pizza express, on the other end of the street.,
I've been looking forward to review the new Salsicca Pizza for some time to compare it with the competition (Zizzi) of how a Neopolitian nDuja sausage based rectangular pizza should be served. 2nd time around & with the new decor I enjoyed my experience in terms of authenticity, atmosphere (not noisy), space & bright surroundings, and, even with 1 staff, excellent service. 2nd time around sat at the mezzanine,

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great service, gr8 food, well priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The food was really nice, they gave us free advertisers ( We went on valentines) Guy with Irish accent served us, made the experience special and went the extra mile. Food was really nice and not badly priced to, would def recomend

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A good value for money Italian place!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I have been to this restaurant probably four times now. I like Italian food, and this restaurant is very good for what it does. The dishes are average good Italian dishes know to almost every non-italian person. A 3 dish diner for 2 people with a bottle of wine is around 40-45 pounds. which is descent enough for a place like this. The atmosphere is nice and the staff are polite and smiley, an important factor for me as always.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great for nut allergy individuals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We really enjoy coming here for dinner with our boys. One has a life threatening allergy to peanuts and loves the fact that he can eat everything on the menu. Even dessert! Thank you so much!!! Has a great family atmosphere and provides a kids menu for the kids to draw on and can be hung up for display on the restaurant wall. Highly recommend!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ask Italian also viewed

Newbury, Berkshire
Fleet, Hampshire
 
Guildford, Surrey
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to Ask Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ask Italian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.