We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Forbury Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Forbury Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Forbury Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 The Forbury, Reading RG1 3EJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 32 hotels in Reading
surrey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed for one night for our anniversary. We didn't eat an evening meal here but we sampled their exceptional cocktails and their breakfast in bed the next morning was exquisite. The suite we stayed in made us feel decadent. The luxurious decor and amenities certainly convince you that you are in a hotel somewhere other than the centre of Reading. This hotel is extremely good value for money and I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    158
    38
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
19
111
6
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

As an anniversary and pre-valentines night, my partner and I checked into a hotel that is normally well out of our price bracket. It was everything we could have hoped for and more. From the delightful rain showers to the majestic king size bed, to the wonderful reception and concierge, the beautiful breakfast in bed, there was nothing about this hotel that I didn't fall in love with instantly. The Brazilian music playing on the cd player, the options of dvds to watch, the prompt champagne delivery, the selection of breakfast food. Literally everything about this spectacular building made me rethink our home and how I can make it a bit more like the Forbury!

Room Tip: Any room in this building. Our had a view of the quiet courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This Hotel is great from start to finish, Decor is beautiful and the staff are very friendly and helpful. we didnt want for anything.
The rooms are spacious, comfortable and homely. Wide variety of choice for breakfast.
We didnt eat dinner at this hotel so cant comment on that however we did have drinks at the bar and we were served very quickly.

Would highly recommend this hotel for a romantic get away its walking distance from the town centre and casino so much to do, For all those people moaning about the price go and stay in the Travel lodge if you want cheap.

This hotel is very well priced for weekend rates.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Went for a staff Christmas Dinner/Dance and was very disappointed with the food, maybe my expectations were too high but for £50 a head why shouldn't they be.
Staff were lovely and very hard working but drinks were way overpriced.
So for 2 of us Dinner/wine and some drinks afterwards set us back over £250

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I was so disapointed with my first visit to this hotel.I arrived with my friends for what we thought would be a wonderful dining experience on my birthday.When we arrived we were told that there was no reservation,this was an error on their part as it had been booked after a long conversation between my friend and a member of The Forbury Hotel staff.The way the staff then dealt with this error was very poor, their customer service leaves a lot to be desired.
I have do not wish to visit this hotel again!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I booked a table for a special friends birthday. When we arrived we were told there was no reservation and there was nothing they could do. I had spent a long time on the telephone outlining the evening I had planned for my friend but the staff said there was no record of this + indeed implied that it was my stupidity that no reservation had been made. Although I asked to speak to the manager, his attitude was also patronising and unacceptable.
As we were so upset, wouldnt you think that good customer service would be to offer us a drink + to sit down + talk about the situation? I have previously had excellent experiences at this hotel but their customer service proved to be extremely poor tonight.

Room Tip: If you want an excellent meal - go to the Brasserie in London street! 5 minutes walk away and the cu...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Met friends for a drink at their cocktail bar and it was fabulous. Very friendly and knowledgable bar tender who made us some fantastic monkey shoulder cocktails. Will be going back soon to stay so will report back, but if the drinks and opulent surroundings are anything to go by then I am in for a treat and special 5star service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Forbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forbury Hotel

Address: 26 The Forbury, Reading RG1 3EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#1 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#1 Business Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Forbury Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury hotel with a private house feel, The Forbury has been designed to meet the needs of the single business person or couple seeking refuge from the “rat race”. The bedrooms and suites provide a sumptuous and stimulating environment. Every feature has been designed with comfort in mind. From huge beds with the finest Egyptian cotton sheets to American walnut floors with underfloor heating and fine Italian chrome bath fittings, nothing has been overlooked. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Forbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forbury Hotel Reading

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Forbury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.