We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marks and Spencer

Marks and Spencer
12 Broad Street, Reading RG1 2BH, England
0118 959 1711
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 7 Shopping in Reading
Type: Department Stores, Shopping
Attraction details
keighley
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I bought a cashmere dressing gown from M & S and absolutely loved it. However, after the first wash (completely following washing instructions), I was extremely upset when it shrunk dramatically . It was a size 12/14 but would have fit an 8 year old.

I had owned the dressing gown for almost 12 months but only worn it a handful of times before I washed it.

I am not a very assertive person and felt quite trembly when I visited my local M & S store to ask if there was anything that could be done about it. I thought they would try and put the blame on me for not washing correctly.

I could not have been more wrong!. The girl who served me agreed that for the price I'd paid £199 which is alot of money to me this should not have happened.

They took the gown from me and said it would be sent off for testing. I have since received a very sincere apology letter from M & S and been given a full refund with no quibbles.

I cannot fault M & S customer services. Thank you.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    6
    7
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Standards getting lower and lower”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

What has happened to customer friendly marks and spencer. Went into the Beooklands store in Weybridge. Their staff are rude and managers unhelpful and patronising. You used to be able to rely on good quality products and good service. Now the staff are appalling and clothes awful. Don't bother!,,,

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Customer services”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Do not order gift cards on line. Took 3 weeks to deliver as address was incomplete. Review rejected by M & S. no reply from customer services.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Please get new designers!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I couldn't believe the fuddy duddy colour and designs of last season's offerings in the clothes departments. M & S need to realise that the 50 and 60+ customers who are their main catchment are children of the 1960's and 70's who were dressing in Mary Quant and Biba. Even Per Una, brought in by George to cater for the more stylish older buyer, has completely lost the plot and is indistinguishable from the rest of the store. Areas are not defined and the colours are just horrible. Lets hope this season's offerings are better.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England Wigan
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I wrote to customer services about one of their cafes at Gemini retail park and I had a templated response. I then emailed back in (which was stupid by the way! You can't reply back to the email!) and had yet another sarcastic yet 'polite' response. I work in Customer Services myself. -.-

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marks and Spencer also viewed

Reading, Berkshire
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to Marks and Spencer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marks and Spencer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.