We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Reading Lake Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Reading Lake Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Reading Lake Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pingewood, Reading RG30 3UN, England (Formerly Copthorne Hotel Reading)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 32 hotels in Reading
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed here night of 31st August for a Triathlon the next day. Room seemed relatively recently refurbed. Room was big and clean. Windows were dirty and there were spider webs everywhere on the balcony but I think this is because it's on a lake. Place could do with a general clean but my room was nice and the views were lovely. There was a fridge in the room which was great. The bathroom is old but was clean. Breakfast was lovely. All in all the Reading Lake was nice but you need to go expecting to see spiders and their webs everywhere. Place could do with some TLC. But it wasn't expensive so fine value for money

Room Tip: Ask for a premier room. I think the hotel calls them club rooms. They are more up to date and modern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    82
    97
    69
    59
See reviews for
27
155
4
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed here for the weekend with my mum for my birthday. After reading the reviews we were incredibly apprehensive on arrival.
First impressions were good, we found the hotel easily, well signposted! Our room was clean and spacious, the shower was amazing! The balcony had a lot of spider webs all over it, but the view was stunning over the lake.
Then came evening.... as time drifted in to night, out came the spiders in their masses. We closed the balcony door quickly to stop them coming in our room. We came home the second night to find some big spiders in our room as well! The windows in the corridors were so covered with webs you can't even see out of them at night. Huge spiders and so many flies caught in the webs, not a pretty sight!
The food at dinner was lovely, really tasty, but again it was ruined by the amount of spiders in the restaurant, one made a web from the lamp right next to our table, very off-putting when eating. We were on edge for the whole time, which is a shame as the food was great! Another negative moment of dinner is when we found a bug on our table and our waitress proceeded to squash the bug then not clean or wipe our table. Not good hygiene!!!
Another annoyance was there was a triathlon being held in the grounds of the hotel on the Sunday when we were checking out. We weren't aware of this and needed to get out in the car to make a time slot for an attraction we'd booked. The marshal's were incredibly rude and as we tried to get out, we had bikes flying at us and swearing at us from all over. It was very stressful and made us late for our attraction! Why there couldn't have been a sign in reception the night before i don't know, we'd have left earlier to avoid the matter!
All in all this hotel has the potential to be amazing and it's such a shame about the current standard. They have a spider infestation and it needs to be dealt with asap. The location and views are amazing, such a shame this ruins it. We had a great weekend, but wouldn't stay again due to these issues.

Room Tip: Room 300 was a nice room for a good view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed for 1 night as I was attending a wedding here. Walked in the room and first thing I noticed was how dirty the windows were inside and out. Such a shame as the lake was lovely. Getting closer I got to meet the rest of the guests. 3 fairly large spiders webs with spiders in place. In general the room was very grubby.
Breakfast was a disaster not enough tables and not at all organised. This was not helped by a Triathlon taking part, but that is not the guests problem. Food Luke warm and no cups for tea or coffee even when asked. We left a letter of complaint. Having now read the reviews they obvious have a spider problem but this should not stop the rooms being clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were apprehensive about our stay, thanks to the poor reviews on here. But the hotel exceeded our expectations considering the value.

We had a club room, very spacious with lovely comfy beds. Yes the hotel is dated but the room and bathroom were clean. There are a lot of cobwebs on the balconies etc but the hotel is by a lake so maybe this is hard to control, for example we cleared our balcony of cobwebs which were back by the next morning.

Our safe was broken and never fixed, the light on the balcony didn't work and the room was very hot and the hotel had run out of fans (we'd brought our own after reading the reviews!). These are the negatives though.

For the positives you get beautiful lake views, friendly staff - especially the lady on reception - plentiful breakfast, need I say more? I think the people complaining may have ideas a bit above their station - for a budget-ish hotel this is great.

Room Tip: 215 was great, not the best lake view as it looks over a smaller part but gets the sun all afternoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed here after visiting the Reading Festival and, to be honest, we would have had a more comfortable night if we had stayed on the camp-site with the revellers.

We were shown our first room which was disgusting, the bathroom looking like it had not been cleaned properly for a long time. We complained and were shown another room which equally as bad, so was the next, and the next, and the next!!!

The manager upgraded us to a 'suite' (along with the comment stay here or leave the hotel). It was now midnight and we had no idea where else we could go and decided we would make do.
The only difference from the standard room being that it had dressing gowns in the wardrobe (not that you would wear them as they looked filthy).
Again the room looked dirty, tired and run down. The wallpaper was peeling off in places, the curtain lining was ripped, the furniture all looked years old, the bed sheets were dirty, the balcony had fag ends littering it, spiders and cobwebs everywhere, squashed bugs on the walls and the bathroom was absolutely disgusting! The bathroom looked as though it had not had a proper clean for a long time. The taps were disgusting. It looked as if someone had pee'd in the loo (and on the seat) and then not bothered to flush. The shower curtain was also soiled.

Interesting we saw a cleaner as we left our room, she had no bleach or cleaning products on the trolley, that we could see.

The hotel has so much promise with its location overlooking the lake but I feel there are only 2 things that would improve this place. i.e. a lot of money spent on it or a severe fire!

Do yourselves a favour, ignore the hotel pics, don't book a room and find somewhere else to stay.

Please don't ignore this review, we were EXTREMELY disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't book any room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just got back from two nights at the Reading Lake Hotel. While the surrounding area and the lake itself is nice, the actual hotel was left more to be desired. We went on a Bank Holiday Monday weekend and for a place like that you would like that there would be lots of people staying there, but it was rather empty. My major issue with the place was that there were spiders and cobwebs everywhere. We dined in the bar downstairs and there were three big spiders hanging from the lamp. It looks like the hotel is only cleaned in areas that are necessary like guest's rooms, and even then the rooms aren't upkept really well. Wish that the hotel itself was better as it is in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

It's interesting reading the other reviews because it's such a mixed bag of reactions! I was taken here as a surprise present so had no preconceptions. Other half and I discussed at length the pros and cons of this hotel. I quite liked it. Our room was practically on the lake with the balcony resting on the water. I thought it was lovely and the ducks that greeted us in the morning made a nice photo. The room was nice and the bed comfortable. Clean bedding and towels. No spa or swimming pool facilities. We didn't eat in the hotel but got the impression the lounge needed updating. Worn out seats and cobwebs everywhere! The hotel is nice just needs a bit of redecorating and upgrading. Breakfast was nice full choice of cooked and extras but no table service. - was real help yourself! Our room was quiet but it's noisy in the car park you can hear the road. I would happily stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Reading Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reading Lake Hotel

Address: Pingewood, Reading RG30 3UN, England (Formerly Copthorne Hotel Reading)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reading Lake Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Reading Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reading Copthorne Hotel
Copthorne Reading

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reading Lake Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.