We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Reading Lake Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Reading Lake Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Reading Lake Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pingewood, Reading RG30 3UN, England (Formerly Copthorne Hotel Reading)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 32 hotels in Reading
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not great!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Booked through Groupon, I would have been extremely disappointed if Id have paid full price for this room. Tired, dated, bland, I cannot believe this is a 4 star hotel, The only thing going for it was the lovely view from the room. Arrived to used glasses and cans of lager outside our room as housekeeping had gone home, terrible smell in the corridors.
I would never go back to this hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    82
    97
    69
    59
See reviews for
27
155
4
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Did this deal last time it was on groupon! When we turned up to the hotel it look ok but then walked into it ! It took us 10minutes to check in as the receptionist didn't have our details, then we asked to book for dinner in the resturant but was told that it was fully book! That turned out to be in our favour as the tables was in the bar area and the atmosphere is better in a graveyard! We decided to take a taxi to a local pub to eat which was about a mile away! It cost £10 to get there and £12 to get back ! On picking myself up of the floor after the shock of the price the taxi said it because the hotel is in a remote location! But it gets better.... About 5am there was a terrible tapping sound in the room, thinking it was maybe outside or the pipes didn't think much of it until it got louder we turned the lights on to find a puddle in the middle of the room ! The roof was leaking that was the final straw and checked out about 6.30! But for our trouble the hotel gave us a bottle of wine which later was found out that we should of received when we checked in.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We received this visit as a wedding present, reviews looked good, pictures looked good so we thought it would be a nice hotel...how wrong were we ! arrived to find it in the middle of nowhere, nearest restaurant was a good 10 minute drive away so if you wanted a drink you would have to eat at the hotels restaurant. The receptionist had attitude from the moment we walked in. Got to the room to find it was two single beds pushed together. The pillows were flat, no pillow cases and had brown stains on them. The complimentary chocolates were 6 chocolates on a plate from a box of quality streets. We had to ring reception to ask for our wine, he said there was a voucher with the chocolates.... it was actually hidden underneath the plate the chocolates were on ! If we hadnt contacted reception for it we wouldnt have seen it! The room was freezing, the heater took about 30 minutes to heat up and this was not very hot. The bathroom was dated. We sat in the room for about 45 minutes before deciding to leave as it was so horrible we couldnt bear to spend the night there. We left after 45 minutes and would never return again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

really enjoyed this hotel, had a group on deal and proved to be excellent value for money
in a remote location and you would think, surely no hotel down here!!!

lovely and clean, nice spacious room, warm room (if you know how to use the heater system)
staff very friendly

BREAKFAST AMAZING!!!!! EAT AS MUCH AS YOU WANT!!!!!


some advice

bar very expensive
resturant very expensive

Hungry horse and Harvester very close by (DO NOT BOOK TAXI VERY EXPENSIVE)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Was booked into this hotel by the company for a 1 night stay whilst attending a 2 day seminar in Reading, it used to be called Kirtons Farm I believe and used to host water ski'ing events back in the 80;s, and the1980's is where it appears to be stuck.

First of all, its down some narrow country roads, including an interesting 6ft width restriction made out of 2 great big iron bells, so if you drive anything slightly wide (discovery, Range Rover, Aston Martin, Ford GT40) go really really really slowly through these, its not sign-posted, but apparantly it used to be called the Copthorne so follow the brown signs for the Copthorne and you will be fine.

Check-in was efficient enough, although walking to the room, there was a definite damp, musty smell, which being a hotel on the lakeside (any more rain and it would have been a hotel in a lake) wasnt wholly surprising, the whole place needs a revamp, its tired and dated.

My room was big enough, with a sofa and table and a door leading to a balcony overlooking the lake, however, with all the wet weather, there was a note stuck to the door saying not to use the balcony, and peering out of the door in the dark night, you could see the water lapping up over it.

The room was warm enough, however some of my colleagues complained saying their rooms were too cold and there were plug in heaters in their rooms, the only positive thing i can think of is, i have never known a bath fill up so quickly, the taps were like industrial strength and pressure, I reckon you could strip paint with the force of the water coming out of them, but the bath filled in about a minute and the water was hot, so thats a positive.

Didnt sleep well as the pillows were hard and some sort of foam.

Had a drink in the bar, and the staff seemed nearly as tired of the whole thing as the rest of the hotel, I asked for a bottle of Sol beer and the barman (more like a barlad) asked if I really really wanted a lime in it, as he would have to walk to the kitchen, i said dont bother, then I sat down and you could actually see the kitchen from the bar area.

Chose not to eat here and instead went into Reading by taxi to a very nice Indian which I will review shortly.

Breakfast, your average kept warm on a tea-light type fare and a toaster that you had to feed your bread through 3 times before it resembled toast.

I wont be coming back.

Room Tip: If you get one on the second floor, it MIGHT NOT smell damp and musty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHAMPTON
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Seriously, the weakness of the coffee and the obvious dilution of the orange juice were the only aspects of one night at the Lake Hotel that could be cause for complaint. The hotel is easy to get to off the A33 if you follow brown signs to "Copthorne Hotel", which onle change to Lake Hotel at the entrance gates. Our room was on the top floor with a great view of the lake, with groups of ducks to watch in the evening and a family of swans to see in the morning, as well as the morning sun touching a wing of the hotel, encouraging some guests to emerge onto their balconies(briefly) in various ensembles of nightwear. Our room was all that one would expect in a modern hotel, the staff were efficient (apart from the receptionist not advising us on checking-in that a reservation would be neceassary to secure a table for dinner that evening) and welcoming, and there were no signs of dust or grime anywhere. We were glad the bathroom taps had signs warning us of "very hot water": scalds were thus avoided! One strange practice was that if you sat at an easy chair or sofa for your evening meal (having arrived without a reservation) your meal was not accompanied by either a bread-basket or candle! A small omission, but strange nevertheless! If you wish to have a short isolated retreat from the world, Lake Hotel is fine!

Room Tip: Ask for one on an upper floor for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Hampshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Spent 2 nights here as part of the Groupon deal. Definitely not 4-star and the hotel generally could do with some updating, but in all for £59 per night there were a few niggles but no complaints. You get what you pay for and for that price it was fine.
Our room and bathroom were spacious (although it had smallest double bed we've ever had in a hotel), it was very clean and the lake outside was lovely in the morning when the swans and ducks came to say hello. On our first morning we turned up for breakfast at 9am (they serve 7.30-10.30) and it wasn't great (some bits cold or run out), but the next day we'd learnt our lesson and arrived at 7.40am and had the place and food pretty much to ourselves which was much better. The serving staff appeared to be stepping on eggshells around the chef - only scrambled egg was on self-service for the cooked breakfast, but to be fair once my husband enquired about a fried egg it did eventually appear.
The Groupon offer wine was better than I had anticipated, it would have been useful to have had free WiFi.
Would we come again ? Probably if we had to come back to the area and there was still a good deal. It's a pity though because with just a little bit of effort and money the hotel could be capable of 4 star as it is in a lovely spot.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Reading Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reading Lake Hotel

Address: Pingewood, Reading RG30 3UN, England (Formerly Copthorne Hotel Reading)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reading Lake Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Reading Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reading Copthorne Hotel
Copthorne Reading

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reading Lake Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.