We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Comfortable Night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure George Hotel Reading

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure George Hotel Reading to your Saves list
Mercure George Hotel Reading
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10-12 King St., Reading RG1 2HE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Reading
A TripAdvisor Member
“A Comfortable Night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We first stayed at the George in Reading about 30 years ago when it was a Berni Inn. We had a small room in a rickety old building. Breakfast in those days was poor.

Both the George and Reading have been transformed since then. The George is now right next to a pedestrianised shopping area with major multiple stores and some noisy night life. It is a few minutes walk from Reading station with its excellent train services.

This time we had a good sized room with comfortable beds and a decent breakfast..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Mercure George in Reading.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    92
    108
    49
    39
See reviews for
17
40
70
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Bad, rotten old hotel. Bed was sloped downwards (felt like I had to cling on) and has seen better days. Bathroom ceiling so low I couldn't stand up straight in the shower. Noisy - shop alarm going off until 1am and then I was up again at 0545 when the bin men came. Up again at 0630 when another lot of bin men came. Tired furniture in the room and impossible to get near by car. The price for this - £95 a night.
Someone call trading standards

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback which we will look into. Feel free to contact me should you wish to discuss further.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Good Location and fairly easy to find. Not what I was expecting from a Mercure hotel, very dated, narrow staircases and quite dingy inside. No information in the room about the free wifi and when i got back from work at 1.30am reception was very busy so didn't wait to ask. Was woken up by the fire alarm going off at about 8.30am (on a Sunday that's definitely not a test!) No apology or acknowledgement made on checkout about this.
The design of the bathroom wasn't great (rm 216) the shower screen meant that i had to get into the shower to turn it on, not great while the water is heating up!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations and i will look into the comments you made.
Should you wish to discuss anything further please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Hotel is located in the middle of the city center. In my specific case, just a three min. Walk from the Town Hall conference venue and railway station. Very comfortable.

The personnel is friendly and breakfast is quite okay (both english and continental).

However, My room (though comfortable and clean) was located above the beeping traffic lights in the main street. Its sound was quite disturbing. It was noisy also when public passes by later at night. Bar closes early, at 23:00.

Room Tip: Avoid room on side of main street if you prefer a quiet place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for the review i am glad you enjoyed your stay with us at The Mercure George in Reading and hope to see you on your next trip.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Hotel seems to be in a middle of a refurb at the moment as it is covered in scaffolding.
Room was a pleasant double - but no air con and even with the window open it was too hot.
Breakfast was buffet style and was good.
Car parking in local NCP was a 5 minutes walk and if you got out the car park before 10am you get your ticket validated at reception and it is much cheaper.
Hotel in right in town centre and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thanks for the review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Mercure George in Reading and i hope to see you on your next trip.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Staying on business and location ideal. Oldest building in Reading and lots of steps up to Room 204, with no lift!

Friendly bar staff and a very enjoyable Chicken Marsala with a couple of beers and enough sunshine to sit out in the cobbled courtyard and bask.

Hot night and no air conditioning so windows open and disturbed by
late night noisy revellers outside.

Shower lacked power and sink drained slowly.



  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartReading, General Manager at Mercure George Hotel Reading, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments which i will look into. I was pleased that you enjoyed your meal and the courtyard at The Mercure George Reading

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure George Hotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure George Hotel Reading

Address: 10-12 King St., Reading RG1 2HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure George Hotel Reading 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic hotel is situated in the centre of Reading next to the oracle shopping centre and a short walk to the railway station.The hotel has its own courtyard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Mercure George Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Reading
George Hotel Reading

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure George Hotel Reading, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.