We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice weekend visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Basildon Park

Basildon Park
Lower Basildon, Reading RG8 9NR , England
0118 976 7360
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 105 things to do in Reading
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An 18th-century house, a 1950s homeThis is a story of grandeur created, dissolved and resurrected - not once, but twice.Basildon Park is an impressive Georgian mansion, surrounded by glorious parkland, which was lovingly rescued from ruin by Lord and Lady Iliffe in the mid 1950s. The house you see today is a re-creation and restoration of the 18th-century mansion. They restored the elegant interior and scoured the country salvaging 18th-century architectural fixtures and fittings. They filled their comfortable new home with fine paintings, fabrics and furniture, which can still be enjoyed by visitors today.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice weekend visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We had a nice weekend visit to the Basildon Park. The GPS brought us to the exit but it was easy after we followed the signs. The weather was nice and we had a nice lunch in the garden. The castle was nice but it looked like they spent more effort on showing off the downtown abbey...

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    144
    28
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Nice place, we got married here.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Interesting and quirky old place, with a mixture inside of different era of rooms, from the classic georgian ( dining room used for filming Pride & Predjudice) through to Victorian and early 20th century. The facade of the building is great and worth the entrance fee. We liked the place so much that we held our wedding here in May 2013.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
122 attraction reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
268 helpful votes 268 helpful votes
“fabulous story”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Let's get this straight: this is no Chatsworth or Blenheim, but what it is, is a miracle. The back-story of the house and its inhabitants is fascinating, and when you realise what has happened in the past, it makes its present appearance astonishing. It is well worth a visit.

Always preferring the guided tour, we opted to go early; unfortunately we just missed the first tour (house's history) at 11am so we joined the film tour half an hour later. (The house has been used both externally and internally for a number of films, including the Keira Knightley "Pride and Predjudice" and more recently the 2013 Christmas edition of Downton Abbey). Our guide not only gave us an interesting and informative account of the experience littered with amusing anecdotes, but also a potted history of the house as well, so we didn't miss out in the end!

There is the "Basildon Times" in each room to point out interesting information and guides in each of the rooms are keen to share their knowledge. (If you don't have a specific question, just ask them what is particularly interesting.) Do ask about the bed and wardrobe in the red bedroom! The shell room is fascinating, as is the 50s time-warp kitchen: those of you of a certain age will have a trip down memory lane!

Although there are no huge gardens, there are attractive beds near the house and the rose garden should look good in the summer, as will the renovated herbaceous border. However there are plenty of walks in the beautiful surrounding parkland.

Warning: it is quite an uphill walk from the car park to the house, BUT there is one of the NT's trusty little trains to take the less able.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Easter Egg Hunt an added bonus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Had a fantastic trip to Basildon Park. Staff were friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Our 3 year old and our 17 year old enjoyed the egg hunt, but would have found the glorious gardens and meticulously curated rooms of the house engaging and thought provoking anyway. We will return later in the spring in the hope of catching the bluebells.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east grinstead
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Worth a visit just for the stunning ceilings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I enjoyed the 2 and half mile ramble from the railway station along the Thames bank with spring flowers and passed the animal park where deer,wallabies and zebus were quite visible.The house itself is impressive building overlooking the river.The first floor rooms were beautiful with stunning ceilings. There was a room dedicated to sea shells which was fascinating.
The upper floor brought back childhood memories from the 50s.

I would have prefere more information about the house not just Downton Abbey filming although I did appreciate the costumes from the programme on display. I am sure the guides on the first floor would have answer any of my questions but you dont always know what to ask. The guide on the upper floor was very good as she actually volunteer information.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basildon Park also viewed

 

Been to Basildon Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basildon Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.