We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improved, but less appealing on price.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Reading Whitley

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Reading Whitley to your Saves list
Travelodge Reading Whitley
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Reading Whitley
387 Basingstoke Road | Whitley, Reading RG2 0JE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 32 hotels in Reading
Calne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Improved, but less appealing on price.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Travelodge have clearly made an effort to make up ground on Premier Inn. I have stayed here in the past when it was very basic indeed. It is a great deal better now and the staff could not be faulted. My gripe is that prices have gone up hugely. I have never thought it was worth paying full price for a Travelodge room, but have stayed on a regular basis because of the excellent deals available. Saver prices are now a great deal higher even than twelve months ago.
Sorry, but a budget hotel has to win on price or it is nothing. A half decent B and B may be the choice for me from now on unless the deals reappear.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
5
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had occasion to stay at this lodge on a thursday and came back again on sunday. When i first arrived i was felt very welcome by the receptionist on the desk, he couldn't do enough to make my stay any better. My wife was on crutches so i asked if they had disabled rooms, he had one but someone had booked it, he then rang the guest and asked if he minded not having room and he agreed. Next day(fri) a new receptionist was on and he knew i was booking back in on the sunday, he then booked the same disabled room and said if need be i could leave my car till sunday, which i did. Booking in on sunday there was another receptionist on the desk and knew my needs an carried my bags to the room and asked if there was anything i needed. I would recommend this travelodge with pleasure to anyone and will be staying there again in the future.

Room Tip: Any room will be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Super clean and comfortable. People at Reception Desk top notch. No toiletries or phone to front desk. Pretty far from the Thames and about a 10 pound taxi fare from Reading Central but a great place to rest.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This travelodge was clean and welcoming. The room was excellent and suitable for our needs. The only issue we had was finding our way into the car park as it was not clear where the entrance was. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I stayed at the hotel for 1 night but was pleasantly surprised by the overall experience. The room was clean & tidy, the bed was lovely and overall a really good standard. There was a carvery next door but we arrived too late to be able to try the food. Locally, there were various food options at the stadium which was less than 2 miles away.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

It was easy to find and from here could travel easily to outside of Reading or into the town centre or the station for the things we came to do and see.
Next door to a Crown Carvery offering good food and drink at reasonable prices.
Ample parking.
Bus stop outside on the main road and one just opposite as well for travelling in the other direction.
Rooms were well maintained clean and spacious. If you want a quiet room ask for one at the back of the building.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This hotel was spotlessly clean and the room was great, nice comfortable bed and a bathroom with superb shower and a bath. Hotel was convenient for my needs and the pub opposite served a great breakfast

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge Reading Whitley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Reading Whitley

Address: 387 Basingstoke Road | Whitley, Reading RG2 0JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Reading Whitley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Reading
Travel Lodge Reading
Reading Travel Lodge
Reading Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Reading Whitley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.