We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, good room, good value, helpful staff, excellent indian retaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Reading

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Hotel Reading to your Saves list
Quality Hotel Reading
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 - 8 Duke Street, Reading RG1 4RY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Reading
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Central location, good room, good value, helpful staff, excellent indian retaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I had to book at the last minute after a meeting in London. The staff were really helpful as I struggled with a bad mobile signal on the train. The hotel is 5 minutes from the station. Recent refurbishment of lobby made me feel welcome. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and there was already an iron and ironing board saving me the bother of having to ask for one.
The Royal Tandoori restaurant is attached to the hotel and is one of the best Indian restaurants I have been to. Breakfast in the morning was good and the service was thoughtful and low key. All told, this hotel is excellent value and right in the heart of Readinjg close to The Oracle and train station. I understand they also have parking. I'll be back, as I visit Reading on business frequently.

Room Tip: With such good value, go for a double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartReading, General Manager at Quality Hotel Reading, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. They are much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Quality Hotel Reading.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    26
    44
    40
    32
See reviews for
8
18
27
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights with work and that was enough. When I walked in to the hotel the reception area it has been recently refurbished and is very welcoming however don't let this lead you into a false sense of security. When I entered the room it was dated, smelt of curry, had light bulbs out, marks on carpet and walls and noisy from kitchen extractors (despite ringing prior to arrival for a quiet room). The bathroom again was dated and dirty with mould in the tile grout. To be fair the shower was very powerful however you either had it cold or hot, there was no middle ground. The restaurant at the hotel is an Indian and this was extremely nice food and would recommend it and was a reasonable price! I didn't eat here everyday as 4 nights of Indian is a bit too much but I could also dine in the George hotel around the corner with my company allowance. Breakfast was okay, nothing special however I wouldn't pay £9.50 for it! All in all if I had a choice I would not stay here! And I am going to tell my company not to use this hotel again as it doesn't give what it says on the tin, quality! The only 1 good thing is that the staff were friendly but that wouldn't make me return any time soon.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartReading, General Manager at Quality Hotel Reading, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
I am sorry that on this occasion you were dissapointed with your stay at The Quality Hotel in Reading. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and am currently investigating your comments.
Please feel free to call me on 01189 583455 to discuss further

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

You get what you pay for! Cheap hotel needs a refurb but if you only want to stay for one night then its fine! Rooms small and need updating, breakfast ok for the price you pay! Basic accommodation but can't expect anymore for the price!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartReading, General Manager at Quality Hotel Reading, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments and was pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Quality Hotel in Reading.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

For £40 on a saturday night it was good value. Nice double room, although corridors everywhere. I had a problem with my shower and someone was up within minutes to fix it. Breakfast was also nice. Would go back

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartReading, General Manager at Quality Hotel Reading, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. i was glad to see that you enjoyed your stay at The Quality Hotel Reading and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

For a town center hotel this was quite poor , my room was awful, damp in the bathroom stained blinds in the bedroom, an overwhelming smell of indian food at breakfast as this was the indian restaurant at night , very nauseating when eating bacon and egg.staff quite unfriendly, wifi a rip off, 5 nights from hell.good job this was a work trip , if it was a treat for the missus I would have been single again .you have to laugh at the name quality really ,should be preceded by not a..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartReading, General Manager at Quality Hotel Reading, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay at The Quality Hotel in Reading. The hotel is in the middle of a refurbishment at the moment. I will look into the comments you have made.
Should you wish to discuss further please contact me on stuart@georgehotelreading.com

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Not a good experience - a room with a radiator I could not turn off with heating running all night. When I complained I was told that is the same for all the rooms - so open the window! Net curtains filthy - had to wash dirt from my hands afterward! And the room was not cheap...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartReading, General Manager at Quality Hotel Reading, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
I am sorry on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at The Quality Hotel in Reading. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and am currently investigating your comments. Feel free to e-mail me on stuart@georgehotelreading to discuss this further.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

The location is brilliant, staff okay, free parking but only if you're lucky! The room was average, bit tired but okay. Don't expect a view..we overlooked a flat roof between the buildings but it is a central location. It's above an Indian restaurant so there's a smell of curry wafting up from time to time! Breakfast was quick and plentiful. The word 'okay' just seems to sum it up!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartReading, General Manager at Quality Hotel Reading, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback and look forward to you returning to The Quality Hotel Reading in the future.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Hotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Reading

Address: 4 - 8 Duke Street, Reading RG1 4RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel Reading 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel situated in the quaint riverside district of Reading and right in the centre close to the Oracle Shopping centre and Rail Station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Quality Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal County Reading
Hotel Royal County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Reading, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.