We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet again excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of China Palace

China Palace
43-45 Oxford Road, Reading RG1 7QG, England
+44 118 957 2323
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #196 of 503 Restaurants in Reading
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yet again excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We have been going to this restaurant for years as a family ! Birthdays and special occasions ! You only need to look in the window and see that it is packed with Chinese families to know it must be good! Staff great food great downstairs (not had dim sum upstairs)! Loads of choice on all you can eat menu and the main menu is excellent ! Love the pork dumplings !!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    30
    13
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A taste of China”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I was very impressed with this restaurant, the food is good authentic Chinese food, very similar to what I've had in Beijing. It's also very reasonably priced, a lunchtime set menu cost around £20 for two people including drinks.

I wouldn't say the food is high-end Chinese food, but it's good enough and light years away from the sugary mess that I've had from many British 'Chinese' Takeaways. The service was good, atmosphere was great (it was packed) and the food was all delicious.

My only complaint, would be the portion of rice I got with my set lunch was too big for one person. I certainty wouldn't call that a big problem, but as a Yorkshire boy I hate leaving food on my plate.

I'd recommend this place to anyone wanting a taste of real Chinese food in Reading. It was easy to forget that I was still in the UK and not back in Beijing.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Come for the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

And not the service.... I do not mean that in a bad way at all. Ignore the comments about the service and come for the dim sum on the weekend which is better than many places in London. Also the crispy noodles with seafood. Good Cantonese stalwart dishes which we regularly come back for. Better than Kei's we think.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Chinese wedding banquet to remember!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The banquet was held upstairs and there were at least 10 courses - all authentic and delicious, especially the seafood dishes. Excellent service. We had the best time - thank you.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good authentic Chinese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Probably the best Chinese restaurant in Reading and trust me, I should know. Food is authentic and well-cooked. Service is also very good.
One of the best day to visit is Sunday for 'dim sum'. Majority of diners are Chinese which is another good sign.
Definitely recommended but it is not cheap.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Palace also viewed

 
Reading, Berkshire
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to China Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.