We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for Business Travelers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading to your Saves list
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Madejski Stadium | Junction 11, M4, Reading RG2 0FL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Amsterdam
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great place for Business Travelers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Spacious rooms, brand new with all the right ammenities (ironing board in the room etc). Hotel now also has free wifi all over the hotel. Breakfast is very well cared of, with lots of fresh fruit.

Only negative point is that the window of my room could not be opened whereby the room was quite warm.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Thank you for your review.
We are pleased that you found our bedrooms spacious and that you enjoyed the complimentary WiFi.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel again.

When making your reservation please do let us know that you would like a room with an opening window and we will do our utmost to accommodate your request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    206
    74
    19
    3
See reviews for
74
105
24
192
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

The first time I have stayed here and even though it's very close to a venue I will need to use often I will probably stay elsewhere. I arrived quite late and asked about the mini bar I fancied a beer before bed, the chap on the desk said that it contained only water as they were "cutting back" on what I asked SALES. This went straight over his head so I made my way to my first floor room. On leaving the lift (couldn't find the stairs) I followed a stained carpet to my very average room with a window overlooking the central atrium bar. I went to the bar ordered a cheese and ham sandwich and a beer. The beer was good but the sandwich had about 4mm of butter covering one side, I scraped off a large pile to the side of the plate, when asked how my food was with a mouth full I pointed to the butter and the waiter walked off. I couldn't be bothered to complain but on reflection should have. Perhaps other floors have better rooms although when I called reservations no options were mentioned.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Thank you for your review.

We are sorry to hear you were incorrectly advised on check in with regards to our room mini fridges. Our Front Office Manager will conduct retaining as soon as possible with the reception team. The Millennium Madejski Hotel has mini fridges in the rooms, which guests can use for their own requirements, whether this is for medicine or childrens food e.t.c. They are not stocked apart from a small bottle of complimentary water. Should you require any beverages or food we do have 24hr room service available.

Thank you also for your comments on our carpets, we will address this with our Housekeeping department straight away.

I have forwarded your comments to the Food & Beverage manager with regards to your Atrium Bar order and this will be looked into.

Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

A very nice hotel first impressions very good clean and sharpe. But after checking in the room was nothing like the pics. First room was okay view was good but bathroom was nt up too standard but the second room was like the room in the picture very nice clean and very modern and in a differnt league compared the first room but the second room came at a price. Upgrades are £20 plus VAT so not too bad depending on your orginal price paid.
Gym could be better very small and equipment not looking too new. Gym showers and i can only talk about the mens chnaging room but the showers are shocking small and in deperate need of updating. Pool was very nice and warm but could do with the a clean in some areas.
All the staff were very helpful and down to earth and knew there stuff.
I would reccommend an upgrade as they do 4pm checkout and complimentary evening wine, continental breakfast and also free mini bar of soft drinks so not bad for the added pice.

Room Tip: Ask for a upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Thank you for your review. All your comments are appreciated and they have been forwarded on to the General Manager for further review.

We are glad you enjoyed all the Club room benefits and that you found the staff at the Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading knowledgeable and down to earth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Used this hotel as a base for taking our grandson to Windsor and Thorpe Park. Really clean and smart room with two double beds. Lovely bathroom which was spotless. Used the pool which was an adequate size plus the sauna and jacuzzi. Front desk service was excellent and the concierge even printed us out a map of how to get to Thorpe Park from the hotel. The hotel was joined to the Madejski stadium and although there was a football match on that day, it didn't affect us as we got back after it had finished. What was amazing though was you would never have known there had been a match as there was no rubbish anywhere. Didn't eat at the hotel, so cannot comment on the food.

Would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we are glad you had a lovely stay and that or Concierge were so helpful to you and your family.

Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westhampton Beach, NY
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed at the Millennium on a pop over on our way to a wedding in the country. I had no idea what to expect b/c it was a place arranged by the bride and groom. Mostly we were impressed with the service and the friendly staff. Our bellman bought us up to our room and we could smell that it was smoking--immdiately--the bellman went down, rearranged our room and brought us to an even better room. He was so sweet and accommodating and was able to do it in a flash. We ended up with a lovely room with the huge glass windows---we'd have to remember to keep the blinds drawn to eliminate the fish bowl effect, but this was not an issue and the light was great. I went down to the spa and tried to arrange massages for myself and my husband---the owner (he contracts with the hotel for massage services) could not have been nicer or more professional. Even with our last minute notice, he booked us massages and we were even able to get a massage for the groom. The rehersal dinner was also at the hotel and I was pleasantly surprised how good the food was, the service was friendly and attentive and we really had a good time. The bartenders over in the louinge afterwards were very friendly and accomodating. Finally, the massive breakfast buffet was fantastic and had lots of fresh fruit and pasteries--and I am someone who dislikes buffets genereally. Overall, it was a really great stay and as you can tell, we sampled much of what the hotel has to offer. It's not a Ritz Carlton fancy hotel, but it is quite nice and if you are in the area and need to stay here, I'm sure it will fit your needs quite nicely especially with the reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
We are pleased to read you liked all the hotel facilities, especially our massive breakfast buffet.

Thank you for your review and we hope to see you visiting again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stayed at this hotel on the way to and from our summer holiday in Devon to break the journey up. Our rooms were very clean and the beds were really comfortable. Nice black out curtains. Service from reception and restaurant staff was excellent. At breakfast there was a good selection of food. When we first arrived in our room the air-conditioning had been left on a very high setting so the room was very hot and stuffy. We called Reception and someone came up within a couple of minutes to put it right and offered to come back with fans if it did not right itself quick enough for us. We stayed in two different types of rooms - both were spacious but the club family rooms are lovely! This was one of the best four star hotels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Thank you for your review on our hotel. We are pleased to hear that this was one of the best four star hotels that you have stayed in.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Reading.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Lovely, new-feeling hotel situated next to the Reading FC football pitch. We stayed on a non-match day so the gigantic carpark was empty.

Room was nice and large with 2 king size beds, flat screen tv etc. Good to have aircon too.

Staff on reception were very good although the catering staff at breakfast were a bit lacklustre. Breakfast was £12.50 for adults and £6.50 for kids but they let our kids eat for free which was nice.

There is a Pizzahut within walking distance if you need a cheap meal out too.

Overall, a lovely hotel and one I would happily return to.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadejskiHotel, Reservations Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, we are pleased to hear you found our Front Desk Team very good and that you would happily return to stay with us

Kind Regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading

Address: Madejski Stadium | Junction 11, M4, Reading RG2 0FL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#6 Family Hotel in Reading
#7 Business Hotel in Reading
#9 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just off the M4 motorway at junction 11, the Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading is ideally located for those who want to visit the wonderful countryside within Royal Berkshire. The hotel also forms part of the impressive Madejski Stadium Complex, incorporating the Royal Berkshire Conference Centre, and home to both Reading Football Club and London Irish RFC. Nearby we have Legoland, Windsor Castle and for those who enjoy the races, Ascot, Windsor and Newbury are all within easy reach. Other areas of interest include, Henley, Oxford and London is only 20 minutes away by train.The hotel has leisure facilities which include a swimming pool and gym. The hotel also offers complimentary Wi-Fi and car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Madejski Reading
Reading Millennium Madejski Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.