We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Good Facilities, Great Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11 to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Basingstoke Road, Reading RG2 0SL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Reading
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Good Facilities, Great Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed a night with wife and 2 kids. The Hotel is a bit dated, but kept very clean. The Staff were extremely nice and helpful, kids loved the pool, Jucuzzi and sauna. Breakfast had a good choice, as for dinner kids eat free, however the adult meals a bit on the pricey side. The only downside to the stay was no free wifi and no free internet pc facilities for the guests.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIReadingSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I was particularly pleased to read your comments about our friendly and helpful staff.

Regarding the Internet, IHG Properties are now offering free internet in all hotels to all loyalty programme members (IHG Rewards Club). This started on 1st July 2013 for Elite members and will be extended to all members during 2014. Please do not hesitate to speak with a member of the team on Reception for further information.

Thank you again for your feedback, and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Mark Ind
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    183
    102
    52
    10
See reviews for
131
90
31
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed overnight on a weekend trip to the Royal Albert Hall. The staff at the Holiday Inn were fantastic and really helpful. Their focus was on my 9 year old Grandson and making the stay as good for him as possible. Happy child - happy adults! Food was great and the service from all the staff we met was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIReadingSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review and kind words. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay, and we very much hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,


Mark Ind
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Just stayed for 2 nights, Friday & Saturday. From the time we checked in how very pleasant and attentive all members of staff were including Maggie & Glenda in the restaurant and Laura on the desk. The rooms are slightly dated but were clean, bathroom small but adequate. We used the pool every day of our stay which again could do with a facelift, especially the suana which was quite small in the ladies area not sure about the mens. Perhaps think about having a joint one on the next revamp as it is good to sit with your partner and not on your own. The main feature was the new menu that had been launched the night before we arrived and it was fantastic, we had the steak & beef rib was was excellent, starter & dessert equally as good. Overall a great stay just missed the 5 stars due to perhaps needing a refurbishment.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIReadingSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I was very pleased to read your comments about our friendly and attentive team, and have passed on my thanks to the individuals mentioned.

Thank you also for highlighting areas that you feel could be improved, and I would like to assure you that your comments have been taken on board.

I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,


Mark Ind
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a large company booking. Checkin had a young lady attending the queue and talking to guests. She tried making polite conversation and offered me a glass of wine on arrival. A nice touch I thought even though I don't drink. Checkin was fairly smooth and was in my room in no time.
What surprised me was that there was NO free wifi . Hilton offer free wifi in the lounge, village offer free wifi, premier inn offer 30 minutes free and most chains are now offering free wifi but not holiday Inn! For this reason alone I would not stay again.
Room was clean and tidy but very basic, a cold feeling room which felt more like a travelodge room than what it is supposed to be a 3/4 star hotel.
Staff encountered seemed friendly enough throughout the hotel which was good to see.
Breakfast was good and very much like other hotel breakfasts.
I am pleased I was only here one night, no issue with the staff as mentioned previously but NO free wifi is a problem and a cold feeling room is not what you want on a winters night.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIReadingSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us.

It was great to read that you found the staff to be friendly and welcoming, and that you enjoyed your breakfast.

I was sorry to read that you may have had an issue with the heating in your room, and I would like to offer my sincere apologies. Should you experience a problem of this nature in the future, please do not hesitate to contact a member of the team, who will be very pleased to assist.

Regarding the Internet, IHG Properties are now offering free internet in all hotels to all loyalty programme members (IHG Rewards Club). This started on 1st July 2013 for Elite members and will be extended to all members during 2014. Please do not hesitate to speak with a member of the team on Reception for further information.

Thank you again for your feedback, and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back in due course.

Kind Regards,



Mark Ind
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Average business hotel very close to the M4 junction 11 and the various links therein. The hotel is pleasant enough in the public areas if a bit corridor in nature in the bar and restaurant areas. The attached pub offers a different atmosphere but is a bit sterile in nature without a pub feel really.

The rooms are constructed down huge corridors that take a long time to walk if you need to go from one end to the other. The room I had was very small and just about clean enough to not complain.

The staff are very keen to please and inquire as to your contentment frequently.

Overall not great but nothing specific to complain about.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIReadingSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experiences with us.

As the General Manager of the hotel, I was pleased to hear your positive feedback regarding the staff and service that you encountered.

I would also like to thank you for your comments regarding areas that you feel could be improved. Customer feedback forms a vital part of our business and it is through constructive comments such as yours that we are able to strive to improve the service we offer guests in all hotels in the InterContinental Group.

Should you wish to discuss any matter further, please do not hesitate to contact me on 0118 987 0491.

Thank you again for your feedback, and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back on some future occasion.

Kind Regards,



Mark Ind
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed here overnight due to a business meeting.
I had read some poor reviews so was pleasantly surprised on arrival.
Reception, Bar and Dining staff were very friendly and polite, all meals were good and there was a good choice at breakfast and dinner, though the coffee could be improved. The Bed was a little firm and the bathroom small, also the wifi was expensive, but the room was well lit and had tea and coffee making facilities.
I didn't get the chance to sample the pool, but it seemed well attended. I had no problem with room noise. I arrived from Reading station which was a £10 taxi ride away.

Room Tip: I was in room 130, which looked inwards towards the pool, so no noise from the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Hotelaholic63,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Overall the hotel was good. Some guests were noisy on coming in during the early hours, but that's not the hotel's fault. Clean, comfy beds excellent service. We stayed two nights so we could attend a wedding nearby. Staff were courteous and helpful. Just after we booked in we decided to go to the bar for a cup of tea, the prices were extortionate £3.05p for a cup of tea or coffee, everything else was dearer, we could have had a drink in our room but decided to go to the bar instead, big mistake. As this hotel is just off the M4 we decided to have breakfast on the first morning. Granted the hotel was very reasonably priced but we paid £14.95p per person for breakfast, which to be honest was nothing to write home about. I only had fruit juice cereal and a piece of toast with tea so feel it was a rip off. My husband had a full English which was not very warm. Will make sure next time of the prices before ordering food, beverages etc.

Room Tip: All rooms were on the one level, which is handy long corridors though so not much choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIReadingSouth, General Manager at Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.

I was pleased to read your comments about your clean and comfortable room, our excellent service, and our helpful staff.

I was sorry to read that you were disturbed by some other guests, and I would like to offer my sincere apologies. Thank you also for your feedback regarding our pricing, and I would like to assure you that this has been shared with our Head Office.

I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay, and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back on some future occasion.

Kind Regards,

Mark Ind
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11

Address: Basingstoke Road, Reading RG2 0SL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11 provides the perfect base for your stay in Reading, whether you are visiting the Reading Festival, taking your children to Legoland, or visiting the nearby Business Parks. Click here to book you Legoland Break including Accommodation, Breakfast & 2 day passes to the Park for up to 2 adults & 2 children. The Hotel is situated just half a mile from M4 Junction 11 and 2 miles from the centre of Reading. We have 202 fully air-conditioned bedrooms with High-speed Internet access, iron & boards, complimentary car parking and children stay and eat for free*. We are located only minutes away from Readings major business parks, Reading International Business Park, Green Park and Thames Valley Park. We are walking distance from the Madejski Stadium home to football team Reading FC and the London Irish Rugby Club. Nearby facilities include Legoland, Windsor Castle, Thorpe Park, Ascot & Newbury Race Courses and the Oracle Shopping Centre. Holiday Inn Reading South provides extensive leisure facilities in our Spirit Health Club with indoor pool, gym, sauna, solarium. * = Terms & Conditions Apply ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Reading - South m4, Jct.11 Hotel Reading
Reading Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.