We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pick and interior room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pentahotel Reading

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pentahotel Reading to your Saves list
Pentahotel Reading
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oxford Road, Reading RG1 7RH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Reading
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Pick and interior room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

When I stay here, I try to book an interior room (i.e. facing the lobby) as the exterior rooms facing the busy road outside can be extremely noisy. The hotel is very clean and modern and makes a change from many of the chains at least. The location is pretty good a very close to the center of Reading and walking distance to the station. Service unfortunately can be a little patchy and ome additional training (and courtesy) would be a bonus.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    268
    104
    52
    26
See reviews for
43
189
37
295
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Have stayed at the Penta 3 times in the current year at diferent time intervals.

Has a nice boutique hotel feel to it at the centre of what is certainly a great location.

Very near to the reading station with proximity to a good upmarket mall as well.

Rooms are cosy albeit a little small. One of the things Penta has is a good set of toileteries neatly arranged in a small pack.

They also have a few Premium Pay per view movies available for free!

Breakfast is awesome probably one of the best in the area. Hotel also has a nice bar if you are looking for one

You can also flag down a cab on the street which is a plus

If you are on Business at Reading, look no further!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Have now stayed at 3 hotels (each for 3 nights) in Reading over the past 3 weeks and this was easily the best of the bunch.
Really want to give it a 5 star review but I just can't for two reasons, the first being it doesn't have it's own car park and although the hotel gives you a discount on the public car park less than 400m away its still another tenner a day. The second reason was the noise from the room overlooking the A33, a previous reviewer stated that they had to check to see if the window was open on arrival, I have to agree that I did exactly the same.
So, my two minor bad points out the way, that's it!! Check in was smooth and was pleasantly greeted, food (both evening meal & breakfast) was to a really good standard and the waitress for the evening (Kesha) was absolutely first class and a real credit to the hotel. My room (noise aside) was just about perfect, modern, bright and the best hotel bathroom I've used in a long time.
Am working in Reading for the first 4 weeks in the New Year and will be more than happy if the company puts me back here (have already asked for the booking, so fingers crossed).
if I ever find myself in Reading on pleasure, this would be a hotel that I would certainly be looking at staying in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

When I'm in the neighborhood for meetings I always stay in the Penta. Friendly crew and a nice atmosphere. in walking distance you find restaurants but I stay in the hotel restaurant just as easy. Rooms have free internet and on demand movies. Great breakfast with lots of selections. In the evening pop down for a beer at the bar. Overall great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Really impressed with the little things, beautiful wash bag in the room, huge spacious comfortable bed with luxury pillows.
Very grateful for such a late breakfast really thinking about customers experience on a Sunday morning, breakfast up to 11.30 amazing followed by a late check out if 3pm
So time to pop into Reading and do some late christmas shopping
Great value too
Oh and the food last night at the christmas meal was really good, apart from the roast potatoes which where over roasted
The only thing that would have made this an incredible stay would have been coffee in the room

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I stayed here on business for 2 nights, and my first impressions of the hotel was great. The reception area was modern and spacious. Check in was quick, but the service could have been better, the girl was interrupted but someone else why serving me, and dealt with that query instead of me.
My biggest problem was with the room its self. I was on the first floor and my window looked out over a main road, which was constantly loud. When I first got into the room, I actually had to check if the window had been left open, it was so loud.
The shower in the room was great, and the beds very comfortable, but it is difficult to get to sleep, when all you can hear is the road outside.
I didn't eat at the hotel, and check out was very quick.

Room Tip: Ask not to be facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I only stayed one night on business - I wish it had been for longer. Professsional and friendly staff on reception desk and in the restaurant. Large well equipped bedroom and great shower/bathroom. The restaurant service was very good and the size of the portions was generous. Excellent choice at the breakfast buffet - hot and cold dishes. I will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pentahotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pentahotel Reading

Address: Oxford Road, Reading RG1 7RH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#9 Family Hotel in Reading
#10 Business Hotel in Reading
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pentahotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pentahotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reading Penta Hotel
Renaissance Reading
Renaissance Hotel Reading

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pentahotel Reading, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.