We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel but needs to improve on some little things” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Caversham Bridge Richfield Ave, Reading RG1 8BD, England (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Yorkshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Hotel but needs to improve on some little things”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip.
Checking in was efficient and the staff on reception were friendly and helpful.
I was checked into a twin room which overlooked the car park at the side of the hotel and was also the deliveries entrance. If staying, avoid rooms 140-145, I was woken quite early by the bottles from the bar being emptied!!

The room I stayed in was a good size, the A/C was good, the bathroom was tasteful with a powerful shower. The selection of amenities in the bathroom was very good! The bed was very comfortable. I especially liked the sleeping aid provided, essential oils and pillow spray, nice touch.

Breakfast was average and it was here were the slight improvement could be made, attention to what the customer has requested, on all three days that I requested tea, I was given coffee - but this was just a minor irritation. It would also be helpful if customers are asked if they are making use of use the hotel parking and given a code without having to walk back to reception to get it!

Other than these above small issues, the hotel is well located and of a good standard. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and thank you for the valuable feedback with your niggles, I will certainly speak to the Food and Beverage team regarding the emptying of the bottle skip at an appropriate time and the Tea problem at breakfast must have been most frustrating.

We do change the car park code every day for security reasons and I do understand that it is a little annoying to have to ask each day whet the code is, but we have to balance that with the security of the car park.

I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future and thanks again for the feedback

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    240
    83
    28
    17
See reviews for
94
246
38
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Fabulous hotel, set in a picturesque setting on the Thames, excellent service, room immaculate. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Restaurant food superp. Would highly recommend. Very close to local amenities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
I am very pleased to learn that you had such a nice stay at The Crowne Plaza Reading and everything was to your liking

We hope that you will repeat your experience soon?

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Reading
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed for one night - clean, comfortable room, very good and quiet airconditioning, had a great nights sleep. Swim and a steam first thing,good breakfast, very attentive staff, nice coffee, then a short walk into the town centre. Secure parking and ultra-quick checkout. Will return.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
I was so pleased that you had a nice time at the hotel and it was very kind of you to take the time to write such a positive review of The Crowne Plaza Reading.

You said that you hope to return soon, and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Reading
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable but a bit noisy on the Saturday night and we didn't get the view of the river .. Nice pubs and restaurants in walking distance and the train station also nearby so convenient. The amenities are are good and nice to have a spa in house.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
I was pleased that the hotel matched your expectations and I hope we can welcome you back in the near future!

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed here for Reading Festival. Great location after a day on feet. Used gym and pool couple of times. Didn't spend that much time in hotel but couldn't fault it for clean, tidy room and public areas. Would love to stay again next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review The Crowne Plaza Reading, I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us!

As you rightly say we are right next to the Reading Festival site and we are very proud of our association with this event that brings so much to the town!

Thanks again and I hope we can welcome you back again!

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Reading
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Check in was a breeze, the staff on reception were friendly and helpful.
The club rooms were a good size, the A/C was good, the bathroom was tasteful with a powerful shower. The selection of amenities in the bathroom was very good!
The bed was incredibly comfortable.
Overall great accommodation, so why just 4*? One of the best benefits of the club room was the lounge access. The lounge is very small and is more like a conference room with a sofa and a few chairs. The selection of snacks and alcoholic drinks was quite poor.
The hotel has a good bar though and the woman who served us on there (about 12.30am on a Friday night) offered excellent service and was very helpful. There is a good deck out the back of the hotel to enjoy a drink outside.

I would certainly stay here again if in Reading.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
I was pleased you enjoyed your stay overall but was disappointed to learn that you felt the Club Lounge was not up to scratch!

We do provide a good selection of wine beer and soft drinks between 6-8pm and we do vary the snacks on offer each day.

I do hope this won't stop you booking in the future!

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed here, when my 1st choice hotel in reading was fully booked.

The location of the hotel, is about 15min walk from the central of reading, situated on the river front. I was unfortunate not to be allocated a room with a river view.

The room was spacious and clean enough, and was surprisingly quiet, giving I had 1st floor room facing on the busy road outside.

The service in the hotel was not great, as we had to wait just over 10mins for member of staff to come and take our drinks and food order. Giving there was only 1 other group of 2 people, i thought this was unacceptable. The menu choice and quality was on par with bar food, so very basic and nothing special.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
I was very sorry to learn that you did not completely enjoy your stay, you are correct to say that we are a 15 minute walk to Reading Town Centre I don't think we have ever said otherwise and most people would say that is an advantage!

I was sorry that the service in the restaurant was not up to our normal standards and you felt the food was nothing special!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review I do hope you will give the hotel another chance?

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading

Address: Caversham Bridge Richfield Ave, Reading RG1 8BD, England (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#8 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#8 Business Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star hotel in the heart of Reading on the banks of the River Thames provides a tranquil venue easily accessible from the M4, London Heathrow Airport and London Paddington Station. We offer 200 complimentary parking spaces on site. The local area offers the Oracle shopping centre and Vue Cinema, an array of restaurants, the Thames Valley Business Park, Green Park and Madjeski Football Stadium (home of Reading Football Club).As a guest at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Reading you have full access to the Revive Health Club and Spa with indoor pool. The modern spa offers a wide selection of Elemis treatments. Bedrooms at the Crowne Plaza Reading are spacious with soft and earthy decor, seriously comfy beds with work desks and high speed internet access. Our Acqua Restaurant serves modern British cuisine sourced from local suppliers. You can also enjoy a lighter or healthier meal in the lobby bar or terrace overlooking the River Thames. 24HR Room Service is also available for those guests arriving late or departing early The Caversham Business Suite is a self contained Meeting Centre for conferences and private dining. All rooms offer natural daylight and a private terrace overlooking the River Thames. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading is an ideal wedding venue licensed for Civil Ceremonies and can cater for banqueting or private parties in Reading for up to 180 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Reading
Reading Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.