We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family wedding at Crowne Plaza 6th July 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Caversham Bridge Richfield Ave, Reading RG1 8BD, England (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 32 hotels in Reading
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Family wedding at Crowne Plaza 6th July 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My father and his partner chose this hotel as the location for their wedding at the beginning of July. We were greeted at the start of the wedding by friendly and welcoming staff. The location for the meal and evening reception was amazing. The room overlooked the river and had a good number outdoor seating, which was ideal given the weather we had on the day of the wedding. The staff were all really smartly dressed and extremely attentive to our every needs.The bar staff were really helpful and even went to a seperate part of the hotel to ensure guests had the drinks they wanted when stock had run out at the bar in the function room. This was not the bar staff fault, it was an extremely large wedding with a lot of people drinking :). The food was amazing and brought out in a timely manner. The pate was amazing and the main was lovely, pudding just as good. My niece was sat next to me and her dinner was fantastic. No frozen, pre-made rubbish, this is all hand made and fresh. Given that there wer 150 people eating at the day, you couldn't ask for better value for your money than 150 hand made meals! We had drinks flowing freely, food throughout the day and evening. We didn't once have to worry about where we needed to be or what was happening next, as the staff were so professional they had everything under control. I would recommend this venue to anyone wanting a fantastic wedding, with the highest customer service and the most memorable day you could wish for.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review of the hotel and I was delighted to learn that the day went off so well and that you and your family were so well looked after with excellent food and hospitality.

I hope we can see you again at the hotel soon?

Thanks again

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Reading
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    197
    196
    75
    24
    16
See reviews for
76
194
33
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

In may of this year, I booked over 10 rooms in the Crowne Plaza Reading for my wedding which was at the hotel as well. My family was visiting from different parts of world and I looked at other options like Hilton in Reading as well prior to making a final decision. I must say that I couldn't be more pleased with my decision. The staff at CP made us all feel at home. They supported us all the way through. The hotel is equipped with all modern day facilities such as pool, sauna etc. Breakfast is also very nice with a good choice!

I would like to extend special thanks to Ashish Jha and Farrukh! Both are awesome guys and they worked round the clock to ensure that we all were well taken care of. My wife was very pleased with the service as well and she says her special thanks to Krista and Baeta for their support and assistance.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to enjoy Reading because its centrally located and has a nice lake adjacent to it. Taxis are a phone call away. Staff is extremely supportive. One exception is the african gentleman at night whose attitude was rude and offensive towards some of my guests. Overall it was a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
It was so kind of you to take the time to write such a lovely review of The Crowne Plaza Reading, we were very pleased and proud to host such an important day and I will thank Ashish and Farrukh for their efforts to make the day so special.

We wish you well in your future lives and look forward to seeing you soon!

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Reading
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Very pleasant check in, very nice room with nice balcony overlooking the river. Have stayed here a few times and always found it to be good. The pool was especially good as was the steam room. Shame reception/bar isn't air conditioned but that's not too important. The aircon in the room was either set to off or to total refrigeration. fortunately it was a very hot day and very welcome.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
I was pleased to learn that all was good with your stay and thanks for writing a review on the hotel.

Just a quick note on the aircon, in the hot weather we can take it down to 18oc but with the balcony rooms when the door out to the balcony gets open on a hot day it heats the room up and can take a little time to get the right cooling level back!

Anyway hope we will see you again!

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I was a guest at a wedding here and was quite looking forward to it as I had had recommendations from friends. Unfortunately I was very disappointed. I have rated this as average but as a venue I would have given it a very good but sadly the food and wine was poor. The white wine tasted like vinegar and it was lucky I had my Rennies with me. The red was slightly better and I might have used it for cooking. The food was little better ( except the Cheesecake which seemed out of place as it was fantastic ) the starter of pate was quite ordinary but I had the goats cheese tart which was an afterthought which I think was quickly knocked up to satisfy a demand for an alternative to the pate, it was overcooked and tasteless. The main course was a very average pork roast which was once again overcooked. The vegetables and potatoes were perfectly cooked and quite good. Strangely the evening buffet was excellent with a variety of buffet food of a high standard. The venue itself is great, backing on to the River Thames and everyone seemed to have a good time though the bar service was a little slow. I don't want to sound too critical because I had a brilliant time and more importantly the bride and groom looked like they did too but I would suggest a little more care is taken with the food especially on someones big day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
I was sorry to learn that you did not like the food and wine served at the wedding you were a guest at, we spend a lot of time with the bride and groom before the day doing menu tastings and selecting the wine and we ensure that we cater to their tastes, unfortunately this will not suit everyone's palate on a big event.

I was however pleased to learn that you enjoyed the day and had a good time

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed here again for a visit with friends. Cannot reccommend highly enough. Lovely rooms,
great restaurant, great spa. This hotel is not just for business travellers - it's great for a weekend away. Nice walks by the river, 10 mins into Reading for good shoppping, cinemas etc.
Very efficient and friendly staff. Amazing value for money. Will definitely be going back again within a couple of months and when visiting Reading would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
It was great to see you come back to the hotel and to see that we have again given you a great stay, it was most kind of you to take the time to write another review of The Crowne Plaza Reading and of course we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!

Thanks again!

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Reading
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband booked a last minute stay in Reading and the Crowne plaza, in particular the duty manager Farouk were wonderful! They organised a lovely room for us and offered us complimentary drinks since we were celebrating. The staff are friendly and the hotel is clean with wonderful views of the river.

I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
I was so pleased that we made you special occasion so memorable and the team went above and beyond to ensure your stay was a good one!

I hope we can welcome you back in the near future!

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Reading
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza, on business, for one week. The main factor for me was the availability of a gym onsite.

The room I had was comfortable and large with a good sized bathroom. It's not got the individual charm of its competitor The Forbury, or the benefit of the good location of the Malmaison, but its gym is very good and it has everything you would want otherwise.

One point of comparison - the breakfast is mainly fry-up based with a bit of perfunctory fruit and muesli available. For this reason alone, the breakfast is nowhere near as good as at the Malmaison.

Room Tip: I stayed on the second floor facing toward the town centre - was fine, no problems with noise or the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay and some of the points you raised are very true!

There are always pro's and con's for hotel choice in an area and we would say we have some very good features that sets us above the competitor's, I would also point out that we have free parking and free WIFI.

I hope that we can welcome you back and that our selling points keep you coming back!

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading

Address: Caversham Bridge Richfield Ave, Reading RG1 8BD, England (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#8 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#8 Business Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star hotel in the heart of Reading on the banks of the River Thames provides a tranquil venue easily accessible from the M4, London Heathrow Airport and London Paddington Station. We offer 200 complimentary parking spaces on site. The local area offers the Oracle shopping centre and Vue Cinema, an array of restaurants, the Thames Valley Business Park, Green Park and Madjeski Football Stadium (home of Reading Football Club).As a guest at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Reading you have full access to the Revive Health Club and Spa with indoor pool. The modern spa offers a wide selection of Elemis treatments. Bedrooms at the Crowne Plaza Reading are spacious with soft and earthy decor, seriously comfy beds with work desks and high speed internet access. Our Acqua Restaurant serves modern British cuisine sourced from local suppliers. You can also enjoy a lighter or healthier meal in the lobby bar or terrace overlooking the River Thames. 24HR Room Service is also available for those guests arriving late or departing early The Caversham Business Suite is a self contained Meeting Centre for conferences and private dining. All rooms offer natural daylight and a private terrace overlooking the River Thames. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading is an ideal wedding venue licensed for Civil Ceremonies and can cater for banqueting or private parties in Reading for up to 180 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Reading
Reading Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.