We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smooth beats and soul food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tutu's Ethiopian Table at The Global Cafe

Tutu's Ethiopian Table at The Global Cafe
35-39 London Street, Reading RG1 4PS, England
0786 355 1097
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 502 Restaurants in Reading
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: English, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
Description: Tutu's Ethiopian Table is a restaurant and bar situated at The Global Café, Reading. Tutu's serves a tasty and nutritious selection of meat and vegetarian stews, served with the Ethiopian tradional pancake, Injera. We also serve a range of baguettes and other snacks, for lunches, buffets, and special occasions. Tutu offers a specialist catering service for conferences, gatherings and special events. We have a range of delicious dishes suitable for most occasions.For more information please contact Tutu Opening Times at the Global Cafe5 days a week (Tue - Sat) Lunch 12-3pm Dinner 6-9pm Saturdays 12-9pm Buffet every Thu 6 - 9pm, Veg/Vegan We also offer a takeaway service
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Smooth beats and soul food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Tutu's Ethiopian table at Global café is definitely one of the best things about Reading. The food is excellent; authentic, beautifully spiced and hearty. The Injera pancakes are especially delicious. Great value and great taste. Global café has a warm atmosphere and an excellent selection of beers and ciders. Live music is varied worth a great selection if roots, reggae and global beats. Don't visit Reading without paying global cafe a visit; you'd be missing out.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    26
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not Happy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Not happy with the sandwich I had which was tutu special it did not had a nice taste to it also the price of it was a rip off not worth the money also the potato wedges was well over done with no taste to it . Very disappointed also very overpriced for what you get.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Global cafe is a pleasant, welcoming place to meet people, have a drink or a meal, everyone is friendly and helpful and the exhibitions are always interesting as well. This is somewhere I eat regularly with friends and I thoroughly enjoy Tutu's Ethiopian lunchtime platters which are tasty, filling and good value for money, I especially like the doro wot, a spicy chicken dish. And when you've eaten you can explore the shop full of crafts and books from around the world. RISC is one of the most interesting places in Reading.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxed, informal and delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We popped in after a day of shopping in Reading. We have eaten here before and the food was just as delicious as we remembered from before. This is not (nor does it pretend to be) a fine dining experience, it is just delicious food in an informal setting. The staff were perfectly friendly and we like the warm atmosphere in the cafe. We will be back again as soon as we can.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Still fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I've been coming to Tutu's on and off since it opened, and I'm very pleased to say that its unique character, friendly service and delicious food continue to be fantastic!

Having been to Ethiopia around 20 times over the last 15 years and having eaten at countless Ethiopian restaurants and homes, I can happily say that Tutu's is up there with the best. She brings her own Ethiopian style to the kitchen and gives you a great culinary experience. It's as 'authentic' as any Ethiopian meal I've enjoyed in Ethiopia.

The RISC venue is fun and relaxed. Have a great time!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tutu's Ethiopian Table at The Global Cafe also viewed

Reading, Berkshire
Reading, Berkshire
 
Reading, Berkshire
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to Tutu's Ethiopian Table at The Global Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tutu's Ethiopian Table at The Global Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.