We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Reading

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Reading to your Saves list
Hilton Reading
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Drake Way, Reading RG2 0GQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Reading
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Modern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We use this Hotel frequently for off site meetings, It has a Costa Coffee in the lounge area. The reception is large and very comfortable and the bar food is good. One small criticism would be the price, it is really rather expensive, more like Central London prices than little old Reading.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Intcopiers.

Thank you for posting a review on the hotel and for leaving positive comments.

In terms of the pricing, I appreciate your honesty and kindly assure you that comments will be looked at by colleagues with the view of making changes where possible.

We are pleased that your visits are pleasant and look forward to another opportunity when we can welcome you back once more.

If I can assist you further before then I'd be happy to hear from you and ask that you contact me on the below e-mail address.

In the meantime, I wish you a pleasant week and remain for now with kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    326
    63
    27
    9
See reviews for
129
276
43
255
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We were really excited to stay at the Hilton Reading. The hotel, room, facilities etc were everything you would expect from a Hilton. Whilst I would not expect the hotel to be completely silent at the weekend I was surprised at the volume of music audible in our room (158). We could clearly make out songs, words and the bass line until 1am when the music stopped and we were able to go to bed. Upon check out I was actively asked about our stay and when I informed the receptionist I was dismissed and told that I should have telephoned reception. Why ask people's opinion if you're not interested? Unfortunately we would not choose to stay here again which is a real shame.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Andreasmith

Thank you for posting a review on the hotel and for leaving positive comments.

In terms of the not so positive, I appreciate your honesty and kindly assure you that comments will be looked at by colleagues with the view of making changes where possible. I am sincerely sorry to read that your sleep was disrupted by an event at the hotel, and I do hope that you reconsider visiting us, so that we can show you that we can do much better.

If I can assist you further before then I'd be happy to hear from you and ask that you contact me on the below e-mail address.

In the meantime, I wish you a pleasant week and remain for now with kind regards

Aimee Louise Ash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Me and my gf went there for a spa break. Hotel is beautiful and modern. Little disappointed as the pool and sauna was being serviced however everything else was perfect. We are looking to visit next month.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear JimmyJame

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review on trip advisor.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your visit, and look forward to welcoming you back in the coming months.

Should you need anything, please feel free to contact me on the email address below.

With kind regards

Aimee Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The reason why one would stay in this hotel is because its close to the Reading football ground or, much more likely, one has the pleasure of staying on business in Reading. The Hilton is a typical business 4*, somewhere outside Reading along the carriageway, close to the highway, with complementary parking, without special character but modern, new clean and with a very good hotel restaurant and a nice bar lounge area, exactly what one will need when staying in a place like Reading. I'd never come here on a holiday but for business its perfectly right.

One problem to be fixed: the rooms are ICE cold - I stayed in two rooms and the heating just wouldn't get the temperature up - first I thought my aircon was broken - I complained, they fixed it right away. When I stayed in another room the same problem occurred and once again I froze at night ... Definitely something to get sorted hence for now: sleep quality: poor - sorry.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear HeikoHeiko

Thank you for your review on Hilton Reading.

Your comments are very encouraging and an absolute pleasure to read.

With regards to your comments relating to room temperature, I have sent your comments onto my Maintenance Manager for review, thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Thank you for taking the time to offer great feedback. I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Reading once again in the near future.

With Kind regards

Aimee Louise Ash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Hotel lovely, clean & fresh
Swimming pool out of action!!
Free wi-fi only in barK area (this day & age it should be free all over) charges were extortoniate for the room wi-fi)
Food in Larder restaurant - average, I have paid less and had better food elsewhere
the only down side is the town centre is quite a hike so a taxi is necessary (£8 each way) and at the end of a long day not really ready to go back out again to eat, so disappointing really
Breakfast was fine
room was clean, tidy, windows did not open though

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Tina W

Thank you for posting a review on the hotel and for leaving positive comments. In terms of the the not so positive, I appreciate your honesty and kindly assure you that comments will be looked at by colleagues with the view of making changes where possible.

Should I be able to help with further specifics, please drop me a line on aimee.louiseash@hilton.com, when I will be delighted to investigate and respond further to you.

With kind regards

Aimee Louise Ash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed in 6 hotels in the UK over 10 nights. By far the best service and hotel facilities we stayed at during our trip. Food in dinning room was excellent. This is a business hotel but would recommend it for proximity to Heathrow airport and Highclere Castle (where Downton Abby is filmed). There is also a large shopping mall close.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear x28625vrobertg

Thank you for posting your kind comments following your recent visit to the Hilton Reading. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay.

I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

With kind regards

Aimee Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We were shocked by the hotels attitude towards the safety of the guests after a evacustion of the hotel during early hours of the morning. The fire alarm had sounded briefly at around 10.30 pm. At around 2.00am my wife woke me to say there were blue lights outside. Looking out of the window I noticed firemen and residents outside standing on the forcourt. I rang down to reception and enquired if everyone need evacuate the hotel as no alarms were sounding on our level. We were advised that everyone needs to evacuate. Whilst leaving our room the alarms on our level had still not been activated. Having joined the rest of the of the guests in the forcourt there was no head count to confirm everyone had been evacuated, and we were not requested to stay further back in case of explosion. We tried to find family members that were also on the same level but could not find them, having phoned them and waking them up we advised them they need to get out of the hotel. The alarms had still not been activated on our level. I am pleased to say no one was injured, but this was not due to the competence of the hotel management and staff.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Gareth W

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Adviser as thoughts and experiences from our guests are very much appreciated and are used to rectify any shortfalls highlighted to us.

I have taken your comments on board, and contacted you directly following your concerns.

Should you have any further concerns, please contact me on aimee.louiseash@hilton.com.

With kind regards

Aimee Louise Ash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Reading

Address: Drake Way, Reading RG2 0GQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#3 Business Hotel in Reading
#4 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#4 Family Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary Hilton Reading hotel offers a warm and inviting atmosphere, just a 4 minute drive from Reading's historical city centre, the River Thames and the famous shopping centre, The Oracle. The hotel is situated on the Kennet Island Development just of the A33 and is within walking distance to the Madejski Stadium. Reading train station is only 4 minutes drive away and Heathrow Airport is a 25 minute drive.All of the spacious, air-conditioned Guest Rooms and Suites at the Hilton Reading hotel have been tastefully decorated and feature wired and wireless internet access, the latest in audio-visual technology, a large, ergonomic desk and comfortable Hilton Serenity® beds.Dine in the stylish Larder Restaurant, which offers a combination of local and international dishes with both modern and traditional influences and finish your meal with a cocktail in the relaxing Bar K. Tone up in the complimentary 24-hour Livingwell Health Club featuring Livingwell by Precor gym equipment, a heated, indoor swimming pool, sauna and a dance studio for a variety of fitness classes. Celebrate or hold a business function at the Hilton Reading hotel which features 8 flexible meeting rooms and a large Ballroom catering for up to 400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Reading Hotel Reading

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Reading, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.