We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Reading

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Reading to your Saves list
Hilton Reading
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Drake Way, Reading RG2 0GQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Reading
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

I stay at Hilton hotels almost every week..... Mainly for the points. Having stayed in Euston last night without sleeping a wink because of the ambient noise it was with some trepardtion that I checked into the Reading Hilton this evening.

Warm welcome, nice room, very good food and excellent staff lifted my spirits.

I whole hartedly recommend this particular Hilton for the slightly jaded business traveller in need of some respite.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your comments about the Hotel and the team are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us

We thank you for choosing the Hilton Reading, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If I can be of any further assistance to you, do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards

Yours sincerely

Aimee Ash

Aimee Ash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    325
    63
    27
    9
See reviews for
129
275
43
255
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night. Picked the hilton, because let's face it they are boring and you know what you are going to get. Generally you get an uninspired business traveller hotel. And from that point of view I don't think we were disappointed. Where we were disappointed was the rest of the hotel, although its obviously a new hotel, the first room were we're in was one of their superior rooms. Slightly larger than the regular rooms. We were a little put off by the glass table top on the desk which had a sharp cracked bit of glass on the edge closest to the chair, talking go the chair there was an unsettling white stain on it. Interesting factoid for the management. It's great and all you put the little white caps on the glasses, I mean most hotels would just turn them upside down to stop dust going in them. But you managed to put a little cap on them and not clean them, which makes you wonder why you have them if its to keep the glasses clean. Anyway I digress we had quite a bit of noise from the air on plant so we asked to move. This time we got moved to a room with a view....of the industrial park over the road. Better than the rooms that look out over the motorway. Breakfast was interesting. As a side note the hotel seems to have an all polish staff, seems the hilton is a microcosm of the uk, and I have a feeling something was lost in translation when they trained the staff. So we went to breakfast which is a buffet, I think the first indication of trouble ahead was the milk had been put in the sugar dish and the sugar was in the milk jug. Cunning give away, to pour liquids, tends to help if you use the vessel that has a spout. My wife went for the bacon and eggs, after searching through a few plates she eventually found one that didn't have food residue stuck on it from the dish washing process. The eggs were either made with instant eggs or had just been made really badly, the seemed to have a lot of egg white through them, bacon was cheap and greasy and in unappetising. My wife also ordered a hot chocolate , this had been made with two much of the powder mix as it had not all dissolved and made the beverage very gritty. I went for the continental option, cereals and toast, so I had a less harrowing dining experience. We were both amused by the toaster on the buffet, which instructed us that we must absolutely not send our pale toast through the toaster more than once to achieve the tanned level that we desired. Other points to note, the staff that were milling about weren't doing anything, there was a doorman with nothing to do. One of them could have got a ladder and cleaned the windows over the revolving door that had a large sheet of bird poo dripping down it obscuring the view. And for the guy in the costa coffee place, your time would have been better spent cleaning the crockery, our tea pot had coffee grounds in it. Visit if you must for business, but if you are there for pleasure, you can do better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your comments about the Hotel and the team are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

We appreciate your comments and are disappointed that your experience was not as you would have expected. We are looking into this and can assure you this will be addressed by the Food and Beverage Manager and Front of House Manager

We thank you for choosing the Hilton Reading, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If I can be of any further assistance to you, do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards

Yours sincerely
Aimee Ash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here friday 8th february for 1 night and really loved it. Lovely reception, friendly staff, easy parking which was free and we were not expecting that, fantastic room, use of leisure facilities was fab although swimming pool was on the cold side, and the breakfast was superb, something for everybody, in fact so much to choose from I didn't know where to start.
We chose to stay here as we were going to London the following day to watch a football game so was ideal for location, as we got train to London and taxi to station only 10 mins away.
We are now looking at other Hilton hotels for another night away. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your comments about the Hotel and the team are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us

We thank you for choosing the Hilton Reading, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If I can be of any further assistance to you, do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards

Yours sincerely

Aimee Ash
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed only one night as part of a theatre weekend package.As soon as we entered the hotel there was a warm welcome from the staff and that continued through out our stay.The room and the public areas were kept to a very high standard!Our evening meal and breakfast were outstanding.Although the location was by a busy road this did not interfere with our sleep as the rooms were lovely and quiet and the beds very comfortable .This hotel certainly made our theatre weekend a great success and would like to repeat the experience!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your comments about the Hotel and the team are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us

We thank you for choosing the Hilton Reading, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If I can be of any further assistance to you, do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards

Yours sincerely

Aimee Ash
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire, england
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

lots of excellent features to recommend this hotel for a visit to the Reading Football ground.

Underground parking which is complimentary to guests and with purchases at the bar

Walking distance to the Stadium, which is visible from the hotel

Excellent breakfast, the best buffet selection I've seen in a long time, including made to order omelettes

Comfortable room, with all the amenities needed for a short weekend away, complimentary water, tea and coffee making.

I got early check in, as a Hilton Honours member

Cheap local bus service every 30 minutes from outside the hotel, only £1 to town for an evening out. Taxi back cost £8. Loads of pubs and eating places in town.

Bar food and drinks reasonable price in the hotel

Minor complaint about the light pollution in the room!! If you are irritated by neon lights on TVs and A/C units you may be disappointed. The TV has the time running along on a continuous loop while on stand by overnight, who needs this? There was also a very irritating green flashing light on the back which was reminiscent of an American Motel flashing light. Can you tell it kept me awake?

I thoroughly recommend this hotel for a short visit around the area, Windsor not too far away down the M4

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your comments about the Hotel and the team are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us

We thank you for choosing the Hilton Reading, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If I can be of any further assistance to you, do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards

Yours sincerely
Aimee ash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

For the money they charge (£170 a night for a last minute midweek booking) I have received far, far more in other hotels. The staff are very good - friendly, and interested and go the extra mile; but the rooms are small and unexciting (very standard layout and fittings, no espresso maker, no ironing, no DVD or iPod dock, fairly harsh lighting, relatively uncomfortable armchair, view of a flat roof and a carpark). To be fair, bed was very comfortable. Compared to what a W, Westin or a Malmaison offers for the same money, this is disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your comments about the Hotel and the team are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

We thank you for choosing the Hilton Reading, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If I can be of any further assistance to you, do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards

Yours sincerely

Aimee Ash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The hotel is very nice, the room is lovely, the service is outstanding, breakfast is good, fitness center is very good, but the location is on a busy road surrounded by what looks like apartments on a flat dull area of town.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your comments about the Hotel and the team are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The Hilton Reading is conveniently located on the Kennet Island development, off the A33, 5 minutes by taxi to the centre of Reading and minutes from both the Madejski Stadium, Green Park Business Park and close to the M4, making it ideally located for all your needs in the Berkshire area.

We thank you for choosing the Hilton Reading, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If I can be of any further assistance to you, do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards

Yours sincerely
Aimee Ash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Reading

Address: Drake Way, Reading RG2 0GQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#3 Business Hotel in Reading
#4 Family Hotel in Reading
#4 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary Hilton Reading hotel offers a warm and inviting atmosphere, just a 4 minute drive from Reading's historical city centre, the River Thames and the famous shopping centre, The Oracle. The hotel is situated on the Kennet Island Development just of the A33 and is within walking distance to the Madejski Stadium. Reading train station is only 4 minutes drive away and Heathrow Airport is a 25 minute drive.All of the spacious, air-conditioned Guest Rooms and Suites at the Hilton Reading hotel have been tastefully decorated and feature wired and wireless internet access, the latest in audio-visual technology, a large, ergonomic desk and comfortable Hilton Serenity® beds.Dine in the stylish Larder Restaurant, which offers a combination of local and international dishes with both modern and traditional influences and finish your meal with a cocktail in the relaxing Bar K. Tone up in the complimentary 24-hour Livingwell Health Club featuring Livingwell by Precor gym equipment, a heated, indoor swimming pool, sauna and a dance studio for a variety of fitness classes. Celebrate or hold a business function at the Hilton Reading hotel which features 8 flexible meeting rooms and a large Ballroom catering for up to 400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Reading Hotel Reading

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Reading, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.