We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, but....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Reading

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Reading to your Saves list
Hilton Reading
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Drake Way, Reading RG2 0GQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Reading
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel, but....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Stayed for 2 days as I came to run the Reading Half Marathon. Lovely clean hotel - spotless accommodation.All the staff are very well trained- polite & cheerful.
Food is crisp - & tasty & healthy. The only gripe - why no Free WiFi all around the hotel ?. £15 to connect is excessive. My guests at www.badhamfarm.co.uk - holiday cottages in Cornwall get free WiFi & we area minnow compared to Hilton.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Byrnes, Director of Operations at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us here at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your remarks about the Hotel and the staff are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

We appreciate your comments about supplying free Wi-Fi to our guests and this is something we are currently looking into.

I look forward to welcoming you all back to the Hilton Reading on your next stay in the Berkshire area.

Kind Regards,
Kevin Byrnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    324
    63
    27
    9
See reviews for
128
274
43
255
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

I stayed here as was competing in the Reading Half Marathon, as we did last year.
I could have looked around at the many other hotels in Reading & chosen one of them which may have been cheaper etc etc, but then - why should I when everything was perfect last time. And they did so well this time that again it was all perfect.
I imagine that the Half Marathon weekend at this hotel is one of their biggest logistical nightmares as the hotel is FULL & most likely the majority of guests are there for just 1 night so there's a lot of work to be done - but you just wouldn't know that.
Parking in the underground free car park was seamless, check-in was easy with a room upgrade & complimentary internet & WiFi in room & thoughout the hotel as I've achieved Gold HHonors level, the room was ready with the extra pillows & teabags I'd requested in advance and all the time every staff member we came across said hello, was friendly & ready & able to offer help, directions or assistance.
The bar staff, even though encountering slight 'issues' with their till & the fact that I'd used up the last Tanqueray in the whole establishment didn't let that ruffle them - they continued with the good-natured banter & chitchat with us while we waited.
Breakfast service was ultra-organised, which when you have most of the 210 rooms coming down to eat in a very short timeframe due to the race & still everyone had smiles.
Hilton Reading you have done it again - congratulations & I look forward to seeing you next year!

Room Tip: A33 roadside rooms have better views & you won't get any noise from drop offs at reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Byrnes, Director of Operations at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us here at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your remarks about the Hotel and the staff are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

I am glad you felt well taken care of during your stay with us and that we made your stay more comfortable ready for your Half Marathon in Reading on the Sunday.

I look forward to welcoming you all back to the Hilton Reading on your next stay in the Berkshire area.

Kind Regards,
Kevin Byrnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey-england
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Heard good things of this hotel, so thought we would try it out as a stopover to cheltenham.
We arrived early, but there was no problem with checking in. The room was spacious & bright & clean, & the whole Hotel still has that newness about it. Even though they had 2 coachloads in for dinner there was no problem with our dlning arrangements & the food & the service was excellent. Very friendly staff especially in the restaurant. The pool is not massive but very clean.
Overall a very pleasant experience & will definitely return

Room Tip: Ask for high floor away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Byrnes, Director of Operations at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us here at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your remarks about the Hotel and the staff are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

I look forward to welcoming you all back to the Hilton Reading on your next stay in the Berkshire area.

Kind Regards,
Kevin Byrnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Just returned from my 4th stay at this hotel. Used it as a base for going to London and also went to Oxford.

The management are really doing something good here when nearly all the staff go out of their way to say 'hello' to you. Something many other hotels could learn to do.

Nice to see the person on the door again too - he even gets the lift for you and always with a smile.

Certainly will return. The breakfast is excellent, it really is.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Byrnes, Director of Operations at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to to once again complete a review on Tripadvisor for the Hilton Reading.

I am delighted to see that we continue to exceed your expectations during your frequent stays with us at the Hilton Reading and I am certain that over the coming months we will continue this trend.

Kind Regards,

Kevin Byrnes
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We spent one night at the hotel,it is clean and comfortable.
We had a very good dinner and the breakfast buffet was the best I have had in a U.K. hotel
for many years.
The problem was the DBB rate.We asked the waitress what the restrictions were she told us it was extra for steak and side dishes.
We had three courses each and very nice they were too!
There was a mix up with the bill and it was explained to us that there is an allowance of £21 each any extra needs to be paid,as this had not been explained to us we argued our case .
The staff were very polite and understanding, but I feel that Hilton should either stop their Dinner rate or offer a set menu that is does cover 3 courses.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Byrnes, Director of Operations at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us here at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your remarks about the Hotel and the staff are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

I am disappointed to read your comments relating to the DBB rate which we offer at the hotel and following your feedback I have asked my team to review ways in which we can better communicate any restrictions which may apply to our rates at the hotel, to prevent this recurring. I am delighted to see the situation was resolved satisfactorily in the end and did not have a negative impact on your overall stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you all back to the Hilton Reading on your next stay in the Berkshire area.

Kind Regards,
Kevin Byrnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

I booked this hotel as a stop-over on a weekend in Reading. The hotel is relatively new and on the outskirts of Reading and easily reachable by taxi, car or bus and close to the Madejski Stadium. For those taking a taxi from Reading Station the cost is about £7 -£8 to the hotel. Underground car parking is also available.

Rooms are a good size, well maintained and housekeeping is to a very high standard. Broadband and Wi-Fi are available in the rooms. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of food. Service in the Bar / Restaurant in the evening however was a bit slow and several couples walked away from the restaurant entrance after not receiving any service. Room service was quite expensive, however the food was very good.

Having stayed at a few other hotels in Reading, this is definitely one of the better ones.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Byrnes, Director of Operations at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us here at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your remarks about the Hotel and the staff are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

I look forward to welcoming you all back to the Hilton Reading on your next stay in the Berkshire area.

Kind Regards,
Kevin Byrnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We visited recently for a two night half term break, as a base for visiting our son working in Reading and for driving into London, a 50 minute drive and half the price of our usual Hilton Tower Bridge. The whole experience was absolutely fantastic...clean, quiet, superb.... we had a large double room with an extra bed for our 13 year old son. No extra charge for our son or his breakfast. All in, the 2 night B & B break was £208.00 for the three of us!... booked via Hilton's website. Really great attentive staff and fantastic service. Breakfast was the best we've ever had in a hotel, apart from The Columbia Beach Resort in Cyprus. We dined in the restaurant on the Friday evening and the only dissappointment was the less than average prawn cocktail starter which was far too small for the cost. However it was a different story with our main course as we all had the rare Rib Eye steak which was absolutely fabulous! LovelyWriter's Block pinotage SA wine chosen from the wine list (£36.00 but amazing and well worth the money). An fantastic stay.... we will be back soon!

Room Tip: We requested quiet non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Byrnes, Director of Operations at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us here at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your remarks about the Hotel and the staff are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

I am sorry to hear you felt the prawn cocktail was not as you would have wished and I have addressed this with my kitchen brigade. I am delighted to see however that your overall stay with us was so positive and you will be returning to us in the future.

Kind Regards,
Kevin Byrnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Reading

Address: Drake Way, Reading RG2 0GQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#3 Business Hotel in Reading
#4 Family Hotel in Reading
#4 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary Hilton Reading hotel offers a warm and inviting atmosphere, just a 4 minute drive from Reading's historical city centre, the River Thames and the famous shopping centre, The Oracle. The hotel is situated on the Kennet Island Development just of the A33 and is within walking distance to the Madejski Stadium. Reading train station is only 4 minutes drive away and Heathrow Airport is a 25 minute drive.All of the spacious, air-conditioned Guest Rooms and Suites at the Hilton Reading hotel have been tastefully decorated and feature wired and wireless internet access, the latest in audio-visual technology, a large, ergonomic desk and comfortable Hilton Serenity® beds.Dine in the stylish Larder Restaurant, which offers a combination of local and international dishes with both modern and traditional influences and finish your meal with a cocktail in the relaxing Bar K. Tone up in the complimentary 24-hour Livingwell Health Club featuring Livingwell by Precor gym equipment, a heated, indoor swimming pool, sauna and a dance studio for a variety of fitness classes. Celebrate or hold a business function at the Hilton Reading hotel which features 8 flexible meeting rooms and a large Ballroom catering for up to 400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Reading Hotel Reading

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Reading, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.