We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic as usual” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cerise Restaurant & Bar at The Forbury Hotel

Cerise Restaurant & Bar at The Forbury Hotel
26 The Forbury, Reading RG1 3EJ, England
01189527770
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 457 restaurants in Reading
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Inspirational eating and drinking at Cerise Brasserie and Bar is driven by our passion for food and drink. Relaxed Mediterranean style cooking. Fresh quality ingredients. A menu that follows the seasons and not the latest fashion. The staff are knowledgeable, educated, informed. They're part of the performance. Dine until the late hours. Get deep over coffee. Enjoy a swift, light lunch. Sip cocktails.Entry to Cerise is from Forbury Square or through the hotel. Whilst you relax ordering cocktails and food you will notice flashes of Cerise on the wallpaper, music, lighting and people all contributing to the atmosphere. Cerise accommodates relaxed and informal dining, and has two private alcoves, perfect for that romantic tête à tête or private party.In the summer you can eat in our secret garden under the shade of a pomegranate tree. A beautiful waterfall feature, clever lighting and outdoor heating make this a versatile space.Our produce is sourced from all over the UK, from the Outer Hebrides to Brixham. Interestingly, the majority of our hand picked suppliers come from within a forty mile radius of Reading.Come and experience Cerise for yourself, the trendiest bar and restaurant in Berkshire.
Reading
1 review
“Fantastic as usual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was the 3rd time we have eaten at Cerise; every time was great but this time was exceptional. The staff were very helpful, suggesting a couple of wines based on my girlfriend's taste, although we did end up going for a slightly different bottle. We arrived a bit late but they were still more than happy for us to enjoy a relaxing cocktail and bowl of complimentary olives in the bar before being seated. The Ribeye steak was one of the best I have ever tasted as was the wine. Will definitely be back again, and may combine it with a stay in the hotel next.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    48
    15
    7
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
berks
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“First visit, definately go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The restaurant itself is nice, but the food is superb. The staff were attentive but not pushy, I thoroughly recommend the food, all three courses were really lovely, but especially the Sticky pear and hazelnut pudding- scrumptious. Such a nice place and lots more things to try on the menu.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Everything is perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

One of the best meals we have had! Offered a drink in the bar first, large range of cocktails and not rushed into moving through to the restaurant. Our food order was even taken while we were in the bar. The food was delicious, and the portions are generous. The wine list is also very good, with a number of by the glass options. With a tastecard, it's fantastic value, but we would be very happy paying full price. Can't wait to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, great food, what's not to like?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

If eaten here for business and pleasure. Food is great, reasonably priced, service is excellent (always attentive, but not too much).

I highly recommend you give it a try.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Early January dinner treat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We dined here on 12 January. It was a very quiet night, surprisingly, as the food and service were excellent. Maybe it was the post Christmas blues? Anyway. We started the evening with a couple of cocktails from the extensive cocktail menu. Even so my husband couldn't decide so the barman offered to make one up off menu. After ascertaining the likes/dislikes and spirit preferences he came back with an excellent cocktail which hit the spot exactly. Gin, white grape juice, elderflower and someting else. Perfect. The choice of starters/mains and desserts was excellent with some unusual (in a good way) offerings. We chose pigeon breast and a fig/walnut tart to start. Both very good. The mains were sea bream and a wonderful succulent pork dish. Both very good. We were quite full but decided to share a dessert as the selection was tempting. All washed down with a good bottle of wine. The wine list is quite extensive and the price range is varied. All in all a wonderful evenig. best of all we just had to walk upstairs to bed!!
Service was good. Really there was nothnig to e negative about. How good is that?

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cerise Restaurant & Bar at The Forbury Hotel also viewed

 
Reading, Berkshire
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to Cerise Restaurant & Bar at The Forbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cerise Restaurant & Bar at The Forbury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.