We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chef Imperial

Chef Imperial
22 High Street, Woodstock OX20 1TF, England
+44 (0)1993 813593
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 24 Restaurants in Woodstock
Price range: $49 - $49
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Derbyshire, England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Bland?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Other reviewers had described the food here as bland. They were being kind. I had Sizzling lamb with spring onion and ginger. Sizzling it might have been but the meat was tasteless and the sauce watery. Without doubt the worst Chinese Ive ever had. My wife had a Thai green chicken curry which was very salty, watery and with mystery woody bits amongst a forest of mushrooms. Had the staff had have inquired, which they didn't, I would have told them this.
A complete waste of money. The best part? Leaving.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    26
    10
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A good recommendation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I am a little confused by the previous comments. Recommended by our B&B host, my husband and I ate here on August 16th and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. For a Wednesday evening the restaurant was very busy but there were enough staff to cope with the numbers eating and we did not have to wait long for our food. The food was tasty and the flavours good. On our experience, we would recommend this restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The food bland
Overpriced & they include a 10 per cent service charge in your bill

As per the previous Review, check your bill

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyle, Ireland
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Not good enough, and check your bill.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The Chef Oriental is a large restaurant in a prime position in Woodstock, near Oxford. We had never eaten there before and decided to give it a go.
We had a mixed starter which included crispy sea weed and satay sticks, nothing tasted very freshly cooked, and the satay was out of a packet. We had some Thai curry for main course which was again very mediocre, we had a chicken chow Mein, which was the best of the meal but rather greasy.
The staff were surly and clearly not interested in providing a “good dining experience". The bill arrived, and we were charged £6.99 more for crispy seaweed we did not have or order, to add insult to injury we were charged a 10% service charge automatically on the bill. This was, in my opinion, not on, given the poor food and service.
You only get one chance to make a good first impression, and so we will not be returning to the Chef Imperial in Woodstock.
They may be in “upmarket” Woodstock, with up market prices, but there is nothing” up-market” about this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bland,bland,bland”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We decided to go to chef imperial in Woddstock and we were geated by boring interiors boring staff and bland prawn crackers. When we orded jasmine tea the waitress coulden't understand a word we where saying but eventually we got our tea. The service was slow for example my and my dad's staters came onetime but my mum's soup came late. Worst of all the food was bland there was no taste but luck ally the food was cooked or might not be wirting this review. What was firghtring was the most tasteful meal in this resturent was the lettuce, so avoid this resturent at all costs.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Imperial also viewed

 
Woodstock, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Chef Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chef Imperial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.