We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what the Dr ordered” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Woodstock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant
Save
You added The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Market Street | Oxon, Woodstock OX20 1SU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just what the Dr ordered”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Our first night away (ever) from our three children and our wedding anniversary. The Kings Arms is just perfect. Our room was big, clean and had ever thing we needed. We opted for the dinner bed and breakfast rate of £200 and it's great value for money. The dinner was delicious and breakfast even better. I had eggs benedict with home cooked ham and it was devine, hubby had the full works. Over all this is a fantastic place the only down side was we were woken at 1.45 by our neighbours in rm 3 as the walls really are thin, but it wouldnt stop us going back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    52
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
95
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here in November for 3 nights. Room two overlooking the main street.Nice and big with a good sized bathroom.Yes, there is a bit of traffic noise, but not enough to keep you awake.The staff are all very friendly and there is a relaxed atmosphere about the place. It could be argued that this is a "pub with rooms" rather than an hotel, but maybe that's why it's not stuffy and pretentious like some hotels! Great breakfast available until 10:30, which is perfect for a nice relaxing weekend.It does seem a bit pricey, but feels quite luxurious due to the attention to detail and standard of furnishing.
Ideal for visiting the Palace as it was just a 5 minute walk to the park gates.Discounted Palace tickets available here too!

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a bath, so check when booking if this bothers you
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

What a Find!!!!!Look no further ..Bedrooms 10 out of 10...Food 11 out of 10...Staff 12 out of 10..What a wonderful place to stay..Rooms 1-4-7. It was worth the 110mile hike from Manchester.The food was as good as any top restaurant you could think of.The Breakfast met all expectations.The staff are so helpful.The position for Blenheim palace is within 2 mins drive if that, and Bicester Village approx 15 mins away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We booked the Henry VIII room online not really knowing what to expect. We were not disappointed the room was large, quiet, and had a very large bathroom it could not have been better. On our arrival we were given complimentary tickets to Blenheim Palace which was most welcome and totally unexpected.
As the break was to celebrate a birthday we decided to eat in the hotel on both evenings, we were so pleased that we did, the standard and variety of food was outstanding and was obviously popular because the dining room was full on both the occasions that we dined. We must make note of the outstanding attention we received from our waitress on both nights who I recall was called Susan she was a credit to the Hotel. The rest of the staff were all very helpful and above all very cheerful, no sour looks here.
We enjoyed Woodstock and will return and always to the Kings Arms

Room Tip: Always book a table here for dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I booked a night here as a weekend getaway from London and was delighted upon arrival to have my expectations met and indeed exceeded. Having read other reviews, I asked for a quieter room and specified that I wanted a bath-tub (not all rooms have one apparently). We were very pleased with the room. Although £150 per night isn't cheap, it was the most reasonable rate for a comparative establishment in Woodstock, so I was impressed with the details, the furnishings etc. It was spacious and bright, as was the bathroom (if a little cold in the bathroom despite two heated towel racks). The room was Charles II. We were on the DBB rate so for £50 for the pair of us, we had a three course meal in the hotel restaurant, which was very nice. Cheeses way too hard from not being left at room temperature and scallops and cod over-seasoned with black pepper, but otherwise a very nice meal.

The real disappointment for us came later that evening. Having realised earlier in the day that we could hear a lot of the noise outside the room (doors closing, people's voices next door etc.), we were expecting some disturbance....but not that it should affect our night's sleep to the extent that it did. Granted, we had an early night and didn't drink at dinner (which may have helped us sleep better), but we were woken at around 1am by next door's arrival back to their room, their talking (which wasn't excessively loud) and subsequent getting jiggy (twice - vive le weekend away!). It felt like we were almost in the same room... we could hear everything. This kept us up til 3.30am and then there was some noise from a pipe to add to the mix. In the morning, we were again woken by our neighbours at 7.30am.

It's just such a shame that the hotel didn't think to spend the extra on soundproofing when refurbishing. Though the room and food were lovely, I don't think I could recommend it on the basis that if you are away for a relaxing break, you need to know you can get a good nigt's undistrubed sleep.

Room Tip: Charles II is a great room but if there are rooms that have better soundproofing might be better to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

It was a significant birthday anniversary even though I still have all my hair but I reckoned without the sheer hair power and competitiveness of the ladies and their slinky black high powered motor cars. Yet the Kings Arms Hotel in Woodstock was up to the challenge. Having checked in just after 3 p.m. on a Saturday coming from different directions, our two friends joining us for my 65th birthday (ugh) commiseration had already got the first bottle opened by 3.20 p.m. in the relaxing bar. Having booked the special rate for bed, breakfast, and gourmet dinner (£200 for each room not per head) it was time to explore this historic market town even though two of us don't enjoy walking. Woodstock is stunning in autumn with the soft stone and Virginia creeper tunring ffrom green to bronze but why are there five footholes in the medieval stocks next to the museum.? Having compared their BMW and Mercedes SLK (newly-groomed at the car wash) the ladies got competitive again with their dressing up and styling before dinner. Importantly, the three course extravaganza with multipe choices passed the critical tests applied by the leading cook amongest us - his only minor gripe was about the rind on the cheddar on the cheese course. The double bedrooms didn't disappoint - superbly comfortable with well appointed bathrooms. Everyone who works for the Kings Arms exudes enthusiasm. On check out we were asked what we most enjoyed about our dinner - on lifting our friends extremely heavy case into the boot of the BMW at risk of a hernia I was told it was because she'd brought two sets of rollers so that's the gold standard from now on!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We booked for a special occasion one friday evening. We had a lovely meal. The starter was a massive portion, the wine was a reasonable price and the main courses were cooked to perfection.
The restaurant was not packed but there was a lovely atmosphere. The staff were attentive and didn't rush you and the portions were Good. The food you could tell was fresh and f prepared for each order and not frozen .It was an excellent meal and we left very satisfied, and not feeling ripped off like we do at many other places. Definitely recommend this restaurant, but you will probably need to book at busy times. We will definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant

Address: 19 Market Street | Oxon, Woodstock OX20 1SU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian hotel in the centre of historic Woodstock on the edge of the Cotswolds and on the doorstep of magnificent Blenheim Palace. Uncluttered bedrooms mix a good combination of old and new styles. Antique gilt mirrors and contemporary art are in the busy restaurant and bar which offers a modern English menu in a relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.