We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Quaint Country Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duke of Marlborough

Duke of Marlborough
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Duke of Marlborough to your Saves list
Duke of Marlborough
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Woodleys, Woodstock OX20 1HT, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Quaint Country Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a lovely time. The hotel is clean, the staff are lovely and helpful. The bar and restaurant are brilliant. Make sure you eat there, the food is gorgeous and the vegetables are properly cooked not raw. The mushrooms in garlic and cream are wonderful as is the lamb shank and chicken in Jack Daniels sauce. The chef knows how to cook. Very convenient for Blenheim Palace and the Wychwood Brewery in Witney. Woodstock is very pretty and well worth a wander. Don't be put off of this hotel because it's on a main road, you will hear NO traffic noise in the rooms, they are out the back and double glazed. The rooms are clean and equipped with what you need. Hot water is there every time you turn the tap on and the shower was easy to use. We only have one moan about this hotel and that is the mattress! The springs stuck in us all night! Please replace the mattress in 103, it's bad. I used to run hotels years ago and made it a policy to sleep in every bed in every room. It's amazing what you find out by doing this. Other than that this place is fabulous.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    39
    11
    9
    7
See reviews for
19
57
2
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malvern
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed at the Duke of Marlborough for one night earlier this week. It was really great. Very friendly, nice atmosphere, great location, clean comfortable room, great food, excellent value, brilliant location for Blenheim Palace and Oxford, bus to Oxford city centre just outside the front door every 30 minutes, ample free parking (unlike Oxford). We will certainly go again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Staff couldn't be nicer and the service was very good. And genuine with it.

The single carriageway road was a little busy, but our room was double glazed so no problem.
Nice sitting out area for drinks etc.

Handy for Woodstock and surrounding area; a few minutes drive. Woodstock is a charming village and worth a visit .
.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, Dorset
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We found this inn on the internet, www.dukeofmarlborough.co.uk then ‘phoned the owner Derek and booked an upgraded room (ask for 205!) for 2 nights and so glad we did.
What a beautiful, comfortable and welcoming place. The room was excellent, with an 8 ft settee and huge bath, so comfort was guaranteed right from the start. The staff where very friendly and with a good sense of humour; the restaurant menu was comprehensive and the food excellent.
After a good night’s sleep we awoke to the beautiful sound of bird song and smell of cut grass. Having made ourselves a lovely cupper, then a wonderful cooked breakfast awaited (what a selection), prior to an exploration of the beautiful countryside, pretty Woodstock village and the fantastic Blenheim Palace, all within easy reach.
Full marks to Derek and his team for a well run hotel of character and charm.
Jo & Pete of Poole, Dorset.

Room Tip: Pick room 205, it is large, quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobberley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here for one night having visited Blenheim in the afternoon and intending to resume the experience the next morning before onward travel. It was like finding an oasis of calm.

The staff were so friendly, as was the ever present owner, who told me that he likes to offer guests what he would wish for himself. A commendable creed!

Our room was in an annex and recently refurbished to some extent. The beds, whilst admittedly comfortable, do need replacing (certainly in room 102). I've seen cleaner looking divans fly-tipped in laybys!

The bathroom was spotless, except for the shower head needing a thorough overhaul or replacing.

There was no discernable traffic noise, despite the window being open and we both enjoyed a good night's rest after very reasonably priced, well cooked meals from an adequate menu and served by very pleasant staff.

Room 102 did not have a hairdryer, but on request the owner very quickly produced one and I hope by now he's installed it in a drawer!?

A good selection of excellent draught beers are on offer and the sofas by the fire in the lounge/bar are very comfortable, especially to relax with a complimentary newspaper whilst waiting for the school runs and rush hour traffic to die down prior to departure. This can be up to 11.00 am or even noon (the owner told me) for those wanting a lie-in. Very good news!

As we drove through charming Woodstock and noted the plethora of double yellow lines and drivers waiting for available parking spaces, there's no way we'd contemplate risking booking in the town centre hotels.

Since Blenheim Palace gives an annual pass to visitors this year (2013), we shall most definitely be back to the Duke.

NB There is no Vodafone signal in the annex and the wifi, which was iffy even next to the bar located router was none existent, so if you're relying on comms for business...

Room Tip: 102 was fine, but ensure that hairdryer is now fitted and the double and single beds have been repla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

... the bed! The Duke of Marlborough, just to the north of Woodstock, proved a real find. We stayed in an 'executive double room' and at a cost of £100 for a room of suite like proportions this provided excellent value and would probably have cost fifty to a hundred pounds more just ten miles down the road in Oxford. Every aspect of service we encountered was friendly, efficient and first class. The rooms are situated in a newish 'old build' development to the rear of the original Duke of Marlborough pub which helps protect sleepers from the inevitable road noise and it is very pleasant to be able to step inside a lovely and characterful Oxfordshire pub literally within a few seconds of leaving one's room. Better still, the food on offer in the pub is - again like the service - excellent and offers a wide range in terms of both choice and affordability. We also enjoyed breakfast in the bar area and this was second to none in terms of 'bed and breakfasts' we have experienced and enjoyed. Which brings us back to the only downside of this experience, the bed...or at least the one in room 205. To some extent I appreciate this is a matter of taste, some like a firm mattress while others prefer something softer but this really did take 'soft' to a new level with hollows of almost hammock like proportions on both sides of the bed. A real pity this, the owners clearly know what they are about and virtually everything about both the pub/restaurant and the residential aspects of the Duke of Marlborough is superb. A new mattress and they would certainly have deserved an 'excellent'.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from an excellent weekend at the Marlborough. I am a coeliac and that can cause a few menu issues! Derek at the Marlborough had a choice that I have never had the privilege of experiencing before! Nothing was too much trouble and the food was of excellent quality, the staff were very polite and helpful despite being extremely busy on our Saturday evening meal. So helpful we decided to repeat the experience Sunday evening and were not disappointed. The rooms are comfortable and away from the main building so noise was not an issue, the toiletries were replaced as were the refreshments in our room when we returned from our excursion to Blenheim Palace. I can thoroughly recommend this establishment, you will not be disappointed.


Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Duke of Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Marlborough

Address: Woodleys, Woodstock OX20 1HT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Duke of Marlborough 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Marlborough is a 13 bedroomed historic coaching inn situated just outside the well known town of Woodstock and a stone's throw from Blenheim Palace, the birthplace of Sir Winston Churchill. The hotel features a bar, restaurant and large function room serving a wide selection of traditional English food with many ingredients locally-sourced. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available in public areas and free parking is available for all guests. Recently refurbished the bedrooms at the Duke of Marlborough are well appointed and spacious, situated over two floors overlooking the grounds of the hotel. Located just 2 miles from Woodstock, the Duke offers easy access to the historic city of Oxford, which is just a 25-minute drive away. Blenheim Palace is only a 5-minute journey by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Duke of Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Marlborough Hotel Woodstock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duke of Marlborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.