We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B & B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Blenheim Buttery

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Blenheim Buttery to your Saves list
The Blenheim Buttery
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   7 Market Place, Woodstock OX20 1SY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Woodstock B&B and Inns
luton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely B & B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stopped here overnight before we went to Blenheim Palace for the day as a birthday treat. It is lovely and clean. Nice sized room. Good selection of tea bags and bottle of water provided. Shower was good and a decent size for a change!. I thought the bathroom was a good size and hasn't been squeezed in small space as you often find. Breakfast was lovely and served quickly.
Was worried about fact no parking but surprised to find that street parking rules, 1, 2 hour etc limit not adhered too, so no problem there!.
Great location for the palace.

Room Tip: Had room 5 which faces street front but no overly noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    32
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
10
56
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

A lovely quaint hotel, located a very short walk away from the Palace and all the lovely pubs and shops of Woodstock. The room was cosy and clean, and the breakfast included was fresh and delicious. Although the room did face onto the road there was no noise and the bed was so comfortable we had a perfect nights sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex UK
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Arrived late pm (it's open 'til 6.30 pm) and had very pleasant afternoon tea and coffee. Menu and pastries looked appetising with reasonable prices. Staff were very friendly and helpful in respect of local facilities. Had we known this venue offered B&B we would have considered staying.....but they seemed to be fully booked and in demand. Located in the centre of town it gives easy access to all local restaurants and pubs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Really nice B&B with great staff, the room was lovely and the bed was excellent. Very good value and walking distance from the Palace. The town location was good for dining out, with lots to choose from. We would like to visit this B&B again.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a front of building room over looking the town hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We spent one night here to visit Blenheim Palace, which is just a hop away. Very pleasant staff, clean room, and very good, generous breakfast. Unfortunately there was a strong smell of disinfectant or something pervading the corridors and room which I could not bear, hence I had to cut the stay to one night instead of 2. I did speak to the receptionist about it in the morning and she claimed it was the reaction of the heat from the radiators with the carpets which in itself presents another hazard I think, but I doubt that is the reason for the smell. I hope they sort that out....and then they will be worth another star. The room was expensive at 115 whereas had I walked in without booking it would have been 90 as I noticed was the case with a couple who just came in as we did.

Room Tip: We were happy with our room which overlooked the inner courtyard. The bed was rather crammed by th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tynemouth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

As a party of five cyclists heading towards Birmingham from London we were delighted by the high standards of the Blenheim Buttery. We arrived to a friendly welcome and as we had missed the cafe/restaurant by arriving too late staff advised us of places around about to eat. However, although this wasn't a problem, we really did fancy the menu at the Buttery as it appeared well thought out and contemporary. Wish you served a bit later and into the evening!

The rooms are tastefully decorated, stylish, immaculately clean, and finished to a high standard. 
 We stayed in the family room which was very roomy for three adults and luggage. Extremely comfortable beds, luxurious bedding, quilts and pillows.

Excellent breakfast.

We'll be back!

Room Tip: Family room excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed for three nights and the building and room were really lovely. Beautiful, clean room. However the welcome we received on arrival was really disapointing. One of the staff looked at us and ignored us completely while the male owner who finally did greet us was in such a rush to leave for the day (the premises are not staffed overnight) that he did not show us to the room or offer to carry our bags. The rooms are accessed via an outside courtyard and then some fairly steep, uneven steps with a poor handrail which my mum found (and anyone with poor mobility would find) tricky to negotiate, particularly if returning to the room after dark as the courtyard and steps were very poorly lit. The welcome at breakfast in the morning was also disappointing and the food took a very long time to arrive although there were only two couples eating. On checkout, we weren't asked if we had had a good stay, or thanked, just given a receipt and that was it. Such a shame as the place itself is exquisite, the room was comfortable. The staff just need a lot of customer service training I'm afraid!

Room Tip: Be aware if you have poor mobility that the rooms are accessed via an outside courtyard with some un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Blenheim Buttery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blenheim Buttery

Address: 7 Market Place, Woodstock OX20 1SY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blenheim Buttery 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Blenheim Buttery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blenheim Buttery Hotel Woodstock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blenheim Buttery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.