We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feathers Hotel Woodstock, Cream Tea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Feathers Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Feathers Hotel to your Saves list
Feathers Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Market Street, Woodstock OX2O 1SX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Feathers Hotel Woodstock, Cream Tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We visited The Feathers for a Traditional Afternoon Tea on Saturday the 29th of June and were very impressed by the level of service, the staff were very friendly, polite and courteous and the food served was excellent. Worth a trip to Woodstock if you fancy an afternoon tea.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterSaundersPS, Manager at Feathers Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
We are very proud of our afternoon tea, Its great to hear you enjoyed it and the team looked after you well. I look forward to welcoming you back to The Feathers soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    158
    61
    27
    21
See reviews for
34
350
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We were staying here for one night and it was perfect. We were able to check in late, the receptionist offered to carry our luggage and showed us to our room at the top of the building (quite a few stairs so perhaps not the room for those who are unsteady on their feet). The room was gorgeous - lovely linen and cushions, great colour scheme, nice Blenheim water and a little jar of jelly beans. The bathroom was equally nice with some lovely toiletries and towels. We headed down to the gin bar, it was brilliant and our barman was very attentive and friendly. Breakfast was yummy too with lots of options - the yoghurt and berry compote with granola was particularly nice. I liked their way of presenting hotel info in their own newspaper as well - a great touch. Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterSaundersPS, Manager at Feathers Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Sounds like you had a great time, glad to hear it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Almost perfect hotel...... Couple of gripes- no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. If you order a pot of tea you will be charged £8. We felt this a little steep bearing in mind the price of the rooms. Take your own tea making gear. Also breakfast service slowish - by time cooked breakfast arrived the toast was cold and had hardly touched the sides of the toaster. Good side - room lovely but very dark.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterSaundersPS, Manager at Feathers Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Sorry to hear that breakfast service was slow, Thank you for your comments we will take them all on board and make changes and improvements where necessary. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We arrived to be greeted by a very friendly receptionist who showed us to our room. He explained the facilities and was most helpful. We spent the afternoon, with a very nice afternoon tea sitting in the courtyard at the back of the hotel. We stayed for dinner, the meal was superb, the staff were very efficient and friendly. Great evening.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the hotel rather than the three they have outside in a separate building. We staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterSaundersPS, Manager at Feathers Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
A short and sweet review, its great to hear you had a fab time. Thank you for finding the time to post your comments on trip advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The Feathers was recommended to us for our annual gourmet "side-tour" - part of a walking weekend we've been doing for over ten years. It didn't disappoint.

In our choice of Friday lunch venues we look for outstanding food, service, wine and ambience. We also hope for something that exceeds expectations.

We found all at The Feathers.

The gin bar is a real surprise - and a challenge if you want to even slightly dent the 150 plus gins on offer.

The gourmet meal we had - at least 6 courses - was brilliant.

Beautifully presented to delight the eyes. Enticing smells. Good mix of texture and fantastic and lasting tastes. The beetroot dish is stil talked about. The deconstructed Lemon Meringue pie still zings on the tongue. And the lovely wines made staying on for an evening meal as real likelihood!

As there were five of us out to enjoy ourselves we took our own atmosphere with us, however it might have been quiet for smaller parties at lunchtime.

We did take a look at the Feature Suites and sumptuous, gorgeous and different they certainly were. Very much on the list for special occasion treats.

All told certainly a great place for fine dining. And Woodstock itself is absolutely charming.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterSaundersPS, Manager at Feathers Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
thank you for your kind comments, we now stock 184 gins in total. I do hope you find the time to stay with us for an overnight stay in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I am reviewing the restaurant only as we did not stay in the hotel. We had a really lovely meal here. Every mouthful was delicious. It is not inexpensive,, however, I could not fault the food or the service. A great choice for a romantic meal. It is a bit formal however, so I would not recommend taking children. We took advantage of the gin bar before dinner for the most delicious G & T I have tasted. Pity the weather wasnt a little warmer as they have a nice outdoor seating area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterSaundersPS, Manager at Feathers Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thanks for a lovely review, I hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel has lots of charm and is in a great location but just didn't quite tick all the boxes. Our room was very hot and it wasn't a warm day. At night it was too hot to sleep and no way of cooling the room other than opening the window onto the street below. Noise between rooms was also a problem, could hear the tv in the next room at midnight. No tea making facilities, I don't know if they did room service as there was no hotel information in the room. Newspaper offered at check in never arrived. We wanted the gin tasting menu at dinner and was told when we tried to order it that it had to be ordered 24 hours in advance but there is no mention of this anywhere on their website or booking confirmation or even on the menu. They did let us have a slightly amended version which was nice but too rich and oily. When the first course arrived an open bottle of gin was plonked in the middle of the table with no explanation of what to do with it (apparently we we supposed to smell the gin, lucky we didn't drink it).

Breakfast was good but slightly put off by the fact the waiter had a large burn/sore on his hand that was scabbed but flaking and should really have had some sort of plaster or bandage on it.

The gin bar was fun, the man I assume was in charge of the bar seemed very knowledgeable, made some great suggestions and helped us get the gin tasting menu we wanted for dinner so a big thanks to him. I definitely recommend the ultimate martini, I've tried them in lots of different places and this is definitely one of the best.

Parking was a nightmare, not much they can do about this but something to be aware of when coming to Woodstock.

I was disappointed to find our ensuite was a shower not a bath. Again this wasn't mentioned on the booking or confirmation. Loved the Temple Spa products in the bathroom though, a nice touch of luxury.

All in all I felt like I was staying in a nice b&b rather than a hotel. Definite room for improvement.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterSaundersPS, Manager at Feathers Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thanks you for your review. I am sorry that we didn't quite get full marks on a few points. With regards your comments on Gin Menu and not being clear about the pre-order, I would have to agree , we have now made this much clearer. please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused. I do hope you return to The Feathers for another G+T soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Feathers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feathers Hotel

Address: Market Street, Woodstock OX2O 1SX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Feathers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Feathers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feathers Hotel Woodstock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Feathers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.