We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Friday Night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Bear Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Bear Hotel to your Saves list
Macdonald Bear Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Park St, Woodstock OX20 1SZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing Friday Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at the Bear for a night when my husband was attending an event at Oxford. We took our Miniature Schnauzer with us and the hotel were very accommodating (providing a basket in the room too). We stayed in a room in the Glove Factory and on the whole we had a really good stay. The Bear is in an excellent location and Woodstock is a lovely small town. My only negative comments would be that the bed had sheets and blankets rather than a duvet and the room was hot as the air conditioning only seemed to work in the sitting room area rather than the main bedroom.
I also had an issue with an evening meal from Room Service, it came very quickly but unfortunately the Tuna loin was raw rather than rare. I was going to call room service to complain but in the time it took me to go to the phone in the bedroom the dog ate the fish (which will teach me not to leave him alone with a tempting plate in the future) so I had no evidence (and I suppose at least somebody enjoyed it!). There were also a few small points which I brought to the attention of the reception staff when we left (chipped glasses on the room service tray and curtains not on the track in the bedroom).

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 18 in the Glove Factory. Very spacious with a separate sitting room. There was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear JosHen_13

Thank you for taking the time to review the Macdonald Bear following your stay with us. I pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay overall, however may I sincerely apologise for your your disappointment with some aspects of your stay. I would like to assure you that I will be using your constructive feedback to instigate a review within the team to ensure that any similar lapses could not be repeated.

I appreciate your constructive feedback and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes

Paola Cassotti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    270
    93
    44
    21
See reviews for
112
522
14
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I took my mother for a short break and we were both delighted with the hotel. We had semi-adjoining rooms that were extremely well equipped as were the bathrooms. Breakfast was great with a buffet for cold food and a menu for hot hot food. Freshly cooked food tastes so much better than food that has been languishing on a buffet. The choice was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. We ate in the restaurant on one of the evenings and it was superb!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear cocoben

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a glowing review following your stay at the Macdonald Bear Hotel.

I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your visit, in particular your restaurant experiences. We appreciate such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Paola Cassotti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed for three nights and the staff were very helpful. We stayed in a lovely but, unfortunately, very hot room. When we mentioned this to the staff we were immediately moved to a cooler and even nicer room and the staff involved were great. We didn't eat in the restaurant but the breakfast was good. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear lkt t

Thank you for taking the time to review the Macdonald Bear Hotel following your recent stay.

I was delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable stay - despite the maintenance fault you experienced - and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Best wishes

Paola Cassotti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We chose the Bear to host our daughter's wedding reception on 1 Jun 2013 and many of our guests stayed in the Bear for the whole weekend. The Bear excelled in hosting the reception and provided outstanding accommodation. The food at the Wedding Breakfast was every bit as excellent, when served to all 92 guests, as it was when we had our own tasting for just 4 people in the run up to the event; to quote one of our guests, the food was elegant as well as delicious. The restaurant service during the wedding breakfast was also excellent with plenty of well organised, friendly and professional staff, who, by attending to a table at a time, ensured that no one had to wait too long for others to be served and also ensured that everyone's drink was topped up regularly. The Bear looked wonderful on the day and it made a perfect setting for the reception; the guests that stayed in the hotel thoroughly enjoyed the Bear's luxury and top quality service. All in all it was a great day, rounded off by perfect dancing facilities and a very lively bar, and made for a truly memorable weekend - for all the right reasons.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear cpahull

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a glowing review following your stay at the Macdonald Bear Hotel for your daughter's wedding reception.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your experience and we appreciate such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Paola Cassotti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for two nights. The staff were extremely helpful, friendly and most of all efficient. We ate in the restaurant on both nights, the food was great and the Manager was handling everything amazingly. The hotel is ideally situated for getting into Oxford with a bus at the end of the road and a short stroll away and you are in Blenheim Palace. A great find we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Jacs511

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that the team looked after you and you enjoyed the location and food.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Paola Cassotti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband competed in the Blenheim Triathlon this weekend and we booked a room to stay the night beforehand. Best decision for a whole host of reasons. Customer service began before we even got there with Davis calling us just to confirm the booking and to ask if we needed any dinner reservations, either at the hotel itself or in the area bearing in mind it was triathlon weekend.
We arrived to a very warm and efficient welcome. The room was great - 22 - which looked down on the courtyard outside. It had everything you need - toiletries, hair dryer, tea & coffee making facilities, iron and the board, bathrobes, a safe, mini bar and crystal glasses to drink out of. Lovely touch.
Nothing was too much effort for the staff. We saw one lovely moment especially. In the bar area, a little child was a bit grizzly and a staff member appeared with a huge, antique looking teddy bear in an attempt to provide the child with some comfort and it proved to be just what was needed.
We ate in the award winning restaurant and here is where we experienced the only disappointment. We ordered pan fried cod with samphire (a favourite of mine). Whilst the taste was delicious, the samphire was a bit 'woody' and tough. Given that it was a key part of the dish, it ruined it a bit which was a shame. We mentioned it to the waitress who said she would report back to the chef. We thought that they may have reduced the bill a bit given each dish was around the £19 mark. It didn't happen so this was the only down point of the stay. Also a bug bear - if a restaurant offers bread as a matter of course, I don't think it should appear on the bill but it did. But this is only a personal thing.
Would certainly go back and Woodstock itself is absolutely charming. To top it off, hubby completed his first triathlon! I expect we will be back next year....

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear 726Tania_B_11

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Bear Hotel following your stay with us.

I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially the service you experienced from the team. May I sincerely apologise for your disappointment with the samphire and assure you that this has been addressed with our supplier so that any similar lapses could not be repeated.

I appreciate your constructive feedback and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes

Paola Cassotti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

My sister and I took our very elderly parents away for a few days to Woodstock. After an initial hiccup with being offered an upstairs room although we had booked one on the ground floor because of our parents' disabilities, the reception staff went out of their way to accommodate our needs. The staff without exception were friendly, kind and helpful. We booked half board and were delighted with the food at breakfast and dinner. Rooms were clean and well appointed. On reflection this probably isn't an ideal hotel if you are disabled as the lounge is also upstairs and there is no lift, but we should have thought of that before booking. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you have special requirements ring through to The Bear reception rather than using Macdonalds Hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear muswellblue

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit with your parents. I was really pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay, despite the error made with your room booking, and that the team looked after you well.

We appreciate the recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Paola Cassotti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Bear Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Bear Hotel

Address: Park St, Woodstock OX20 1SZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Woodstock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Bear Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Bear Hotel is one of the finest 4-star hotels in Oxfordshire and part of The Macdonald Hotels' Signature Collection. Set in Woodstock, in what was once a 13th century coaching inn, our hotel combines history and culture with exceptional facilities. With direct access to the historic city of Oxford, our hotel is a popular choice for leisure breaks, business and weddings.Our hotel is a perfect venue for celebrations, events and conferences; we boast superb hotel accommodation, stylish meeting and function rooms, peaceful views over the courtyard and stunning period features.Our hotel in Oxfordshire is perfect for a relaxing retreat. Roam the historic city of Oxford and marvel in the dreaming spires or linger in the city's many shops and museums. Once you've finished exploring - we recommend a visit to our award-winning restaurant and bar for the finest of fares and a well deserved nightcap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Macdonald Bear Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Bear
Macdonald Bear Woodstock
Bear Hotel Woodstock
Bear Hotel Uk Woodstock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Bear Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.