We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel, but noise from the room next door” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Bear Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Bear Hotel to your Saves list
Macdonald Bear Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Park St, Woodstock OX20 1SZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Chorley, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel, but noise from the room next door”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on our way to Oxford. I had booked a king exec room, but found that we had been upgraded to a four poster room that opened onto the courtyard. The room itself was lovely and full of character. It was also perfectly clean.
The main complaint we had (and the only thing stopping me giving this hotel 5 out of 5) was the noise from the room above. With a hotel of this age I expect things to creak and groan a bit, however we could hear every word of the conversation in the room above us. It was almost as if the couple were in the room with us. At two in the morning we asked reception to call them and ask them to talk a bit quieter,and we could even hear them answer the call from reception!!

We reported our concerns again in the morning and the manager Paola did listen to us and we are now satisfied with the response that we got- thank you.

Apart from this we thought it was a lovely hotel, and the fact that it has its own car park is a big bonus as parking us Woodstock is not easy.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear CathyB184

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Macdonald Bear Hotel following your stay with us.

I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay overall, especially your upgrade room, however may I reiterate my sincere apology for the disturbance you were caused by noise from the room above you. I have discussed this matter with our property team in order that the appropriate works may be completed to avoid any further disappointment.

Thank you for your constructive feedback and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest regards

Paola Cassotti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    230
    82
    42
    20
See reviews for
98
441
12
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Staff all unfailingly polite and helpful. No room in the car park, but no problem locating overspill facility. Room spotless and quiet. Breakfast - a wide choice and speedily provided. We didn't have an evening meal so can't comment on that. Only issue - the stairs (and some "flat" areas) had some hidden bumps and lumps. I did see one lady (not in our party) stumble as a result. If you have any mobility issues, I suggest you make the hotel aware of this beforehand. Woodstock is a lovely place too and the hotel fits very sympathetically into the village.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear bizarreloverectangle

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Bear Hotel following your stay with us.

I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially the cleanliness of your room and the service you received from the team.

I appreciate your constructive feedback regarding the stairs and have discussed this matter with our maintenance manager to ensure that the appropriate works may be completed.

I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes

Paola Cassotti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llanelli
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The Bear Hotel has not only the idilic setting, but every member of staff being frontend or dining went out of there way to ensure that all our needs were taken care off. Matthew was enchanting in his manner and a real asset, also Sabrina, who made dining a real pleasure. Will certainly return and will pass reports onto our friends. Thank you all for making our anniversary such a memorable one. Regards, M Roberts.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear margaret r

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a glowing review following your stay at the Macdonald Bear Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit, in particular the setting and service from the team. We appreciate such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team, especially Matthew and Sabrina, as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Paola Cassotti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were delighted with this hotel situated in the heart of Woodstock, only a short stroll away from the gates to Blenheim Palace. Yes the room was on the small side, but everything about it exuded quality and attention to detail. There was reasonably priced food on offer as well on the evening.

If I have a quibble, it is with the price for breakfast, which at £17.50 a head, is really ridiculous and we decided to give it a miss on principle. The other rather strange thing is that the room had a fridge, which we at first thought was great; however, as it did not work, and the receptionist intimated that it was really not meant to (!), we had to question why it was in the room in the first place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear topfellman

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Bear Hotel following your stay with us.

I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially the location, quality and attention to detail.

I appreciate your constructive feedback which I will be discussing with the team, and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes

Paola Cassotti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel has the charm of a 13th century coaching inn with the advantages of a good 4 star hotel. I have visited this hotel with my wife twice this year and on both occasions enjoyed the stay. On the first occasion we had a room in the original part of the hotel and overlooked the village street. Despite our reservations that this maybe noisy at night when the pub opposite got busy they proved unfounded as all the Woodstock village public houses clientel are well behaved. On the second occasion we had a room at the rear of the hotel in what can only be described as a cottage. We had the room upstairs and were very impressed with the amount of space and quality of the furnishings. Parking is no problem as the hotel has its own car park and as the hotel is so close to Blenheim Palace we left our car when we spent a day there. We only ate in the hotel at breakfast, which had plenty of choice and was served very efficiently, choosing to eat out for dinner as the choice of resturuants in Woodstock is very good all within a 5 minute walk of the hotel.
All in all I would reccomend this hotel especialy if visiting Blenheim Palace but also if touring the Cotswolds or even visiting nearby Oxford. We even met some Americans which were using it prior to flying from Heathrow the next day.

Room Tip: Worth the upgrade from 'Classic' for the additional space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Tull0

Thank you for submitting your review of your experience following your stays at the Macdonald Bear Hotel.

I enjoyed reading your review and appreciate the helpful details you provided. It is lovely to receive feedback of this nature and the team are always encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Paola Cassotti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was a delightful old hotel within walking distance of Blenheim Palace. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms small but adequate. It was only a few miles from Oxford by bus so no need to go and try to park in the city. Plenty to do and see so an ideal spot for a short break,we can thoroughly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear patmacLondon

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Paola Cassotti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We booked for 1 night for a special occasion and had a lovely beamed room (no 38) on the second floor of the old building which was lovely.
The room was up to our expectation and more and we had a lovely stay. We loved the ode world charm and it was everything we needed. The staff on check in were chatty and friendly, we couldn't fault it.
We ate in one of the restaurants in the village for dinner and again for breakfast so we cannot comment on the food. But we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main building for olde world charm. We had a room on the second floor and had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear sally b

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Bear following your recent stay. I was delighted to learn of your enjoyment and that the team looked after you so well!

It was a pleasure to hear about your positive experience and I really appreciate you taking the time to share your view of the hotel.

Best wishes

Paola Cassotti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Bear Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Bear Hotel

Address: Park St, Woodstock OX20 1SZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Woodstock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Bear Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Bear Hotel is one of the finest 4-star hotels in Oxfordshire and part of The Macdonald Hotels' Signature Collection. Set in Woodstock, in what was once a 13th century coaching inn, our hotel combines history and culture with exceptional facilities. With direct access to the historic city of Oxford, our hotel is a popular choice for leisure breaks, business and weddings.Our hotel is a perfect venue for celebrations, events and conferences; we boast superb hotel accommodation, stylish meeting and function rooms, peaceful views over the courtyard and stunning period features.Our hotel in Oxfordshire is perfect for a relaxing retreat. Roam the historic city of Oxford and marvel in the dreaming spires or linger in the city's many shops and museums. Once you've finished exploring - we recommend a visit to our award-winning restaurant and bar for the finest of fares and a well deserved nightcap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Macdonald Bear Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Bear
Macdonald Bear Woodstock
Bear Hotel Woodstock
Bear Hotel Uk Woodstock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Bear Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.