We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Star Inn

The Star Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Star Inn to your Saves list
The Star Inn
22, Market Place, Woodstock OX20 1TA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Banbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Poor Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

With my 89 year old farther - ordered 2 prawn sandwiches. Very disappointed! bread was appalling. prawns were very poor quality, Having said that The beer was excellent but for two prawn sandwiches and 3 pints of beer it was over £20. I did mention how disappointed I was but I felt no one was listening.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    45
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
19
72
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My wife and I were in a party of 6 for one night and stayed at The Star. We had a wonderful time and were made very welcome by the staff. The breakfast is first class and the rooms were very nice. We ate at night in the Inn and had a lovely night, the place was buzzing and the meal and ale were excellent. I would definitely recommend the Star for a visit as it was a very friendly place to stay excellent food and accommodation at a reasonable price. You could also walk into Blenheim Palace from the Inn. Car Parking was a little problem as the Inn did not have a car park, but if you were patient enough you could find a place to park and there was no need to worry about traffic wardens.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here for the night with my young daughter, the pub it self is set in a beautiful location in the centre of Woodstock. All members of staff were extremely helpful, including the manager Jamie, we could not have been more welcomed. The room was lovely, overlooking the town centre. The pub itself was lovely, great selection of drinks and the food was divine, especially the pies! I would recommend anybody visiting this area to come here, as we really enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We went here for Sunday lunch after it was booked by another family member at short notice. The Pub is very central within Woodstock and parking can be difficult (but free).

The place was very busy but service was good and although one of the complex drinks ordered arrived wrong (due to chinese whispers) they were very happy to exchange it.

We only wanted a quick lunch so we did not order traditional sunday lunch. The food was good but the wooden boards that the burgers come on are perhaps too tall and things can fall off.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night, used as a base before shopping at bicester village. Woodstock is stunning as is the star, can not fault the friendly staff and excellent service. Nothing is too much trouble for anyone. Food was superb as was the breakfast. Would definately stay here again. Loved it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Driving through Woodstock on the way home from further south we went to the The Star for a simple lunch.
So great to see simple food executed so well. We shared a cheese platter which consisted of potted stilton, baked camembert, roasted wild garlic (delicious) with chutney and warm olive foccacia bread. Served on a classy wooden board everything was very tasty, in fact I could have eaten it all again if it wasnt so bad for me.
It wasn't cheap, but then nothing in Woodstock is, but you dont mind paying for quality this good. Staff were very friendly and helpful too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

More often than not we will pop into The Star for a drink or sunday lunch after a walk around Blenheim, the staff are always happy to accommodate us even though they are always busy.
The food is great, the sunday specials never fail to deliver and we find ourselves spoilt for choice, roast beef with giant yorkshire puddings or rabbit hotpot!

Well worth a visit, nice towards the winter when they have the fires roaring!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Inn

Address: 22, Market Place, Woodstock OX20 1TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Star Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Star Hotel Woodstock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Star Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.