We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Galleria

La Galleria
2 Market Place, Woodstock OX20 1TA, England
01993 813381
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 23 Restaurants in Woodstock
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
hereford
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Dined here on a wet evening in mid September and it looked so pretty from the outside. Mouthwatering smell when you went through the entrance door and a great welcome. A perfect cosy size for a restaurant . Lovely pastel, restful décor and just a wonderful ambiance. Wine waitress very helpful in selecting the most superb white wine from Sardinia as I have no knowledge of Italian wines. Every course of food was delicious and we had a thoroughly good time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    38
    15
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I dined at La Galleria while staying in Woodstock and was able to get a table at short notice. The welcome was lovely and friendly and although there was a large group, orders were taken and food arrived in a timely manner. Scallops for starter which were lovely and the fish main was beautifully cooked in a lovely buttery sauce.
Lovely atmosphere and excellent wine recommendation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Always eat here when in Woodstock. The cuisine is authentically Italian. Have only been at lunchtime but usually book as it is very popular. Relaxing and stylish. The service good and staff friendly. Have only ever experienced food of the highest quality. Will continue to treat ourselves here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Did We Go On A Bad Day?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Called in for lunch. It looked perfect and was a sunny day. On arrival it all smelt lovely and we had high expectations. We chose from their fixed price lunch menu. Firstly, bread arrived with margarine. We asked for butter and were told that as bread was free, they usually served it with margarine. WHAT PLANET ARE THEY ON?

The entire experience was just average. Those of us outside received a dreadful level of service, with all the effort clearly concentrated on those inside enjoying a la carte. TIP - do not order the chips! They are home made which would normally be a treat. Theirs are ultra thin, cooked in oil which is not hot enough resulting in them being white, greasy and sickly. It could all have been so much better.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food and wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is a small restaurant and reservations are important. My friend and I arrived on time for a 7:30 evening reservation and there were only a handful of tables taken. By the time we left 2 hours later, every table was full. The staff were attentive and the food was delicious as was the wine. I am glad we were there early as the staff were extremely busy by the time we left.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Galleria also viewed

 
Woodstock, Oxfordshire
Woodstock, Oxfordshire
 

Been to La Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Galleria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.