We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chinese Restaurant I have been to in ages!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Opium Den

The Opium Den
George Street, Oxford OX1 2BQ, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #165 of 493 Restaurants in Oxford
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Isle of Wight
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Chinese Restaurant I have been to in ages!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The food was authentic, fresh, well cooked and tasy, tasy, tasty! The portions were huge and the price very reasonable! There were 5 of us and we opted for a set meal with full starters at £25 a head. We took a doggie bag away with enough in it to feed us all over again! The service was great and the waitress who served us happy, quirky and good fun!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    32
    10
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“Great Chinese country cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

This place has about the most authenticated best Chinese food in Oxford and probably Oxfordshire. It's always busy with approx 90% Asian/Chinese clientele which is a good sign. Staff are great and good beers too

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bilbao
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This Chinese is slightly more expensive but the food is extremely well cooked, and portions are extremely generous.
All the dishes have totally different tastes, and the stock of the soup was subtle but intense at the same time.
Totally recommended.
We had, fried squid with black pepper/chilli, seafood noodle soup, pork noodle soup. Earlier I have had a plate of stir fried Malaysian style noodles. Nothing to fault with any dish.
Tea quantity was generous.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Went in a group on a busy Saturday night. Thank goodness we booked because there is a constant queue to get in. It's a bit noisy but the service was very good and the food was amazing! Very interesting menu. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“First rate Chinese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Dined here recently with my wife. A very busy and popular reaturant but we were fitted in. The food was authentic and excellent and the service was great. Overall an excellent dining experience

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Opium Den also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Opium Den? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Opium Den, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.