We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does exactly what it says on the tin....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pizza Express

Pizza Express
The Golden Cross, 8 Golden Cross | Cornmarket Street, Oxford OX1 3EX, England
01865 790 442
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #208 of 498 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Oxford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Does exactly what it says on the tin....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Had a family meal here and we all enjoyed it. Ian our waiter for the meal was excellent, friendly and great interaction with the children. You know what to expect with Pizza Express and they didn't disappoint. Good value and having a money off voucher helps as well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    45
    26
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
cambridge uk
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Always reliable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012


We ate in the Castle branch which seemed noisy upstairs but OK downstairs .it also has tables outside in the traffic free area of the Castle. I love the way we always seem to have a voucher ,this time 25% off food ,and the pizzas never let us down.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not the same”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

We went to this Restuarant to expect the same level of standard as any other outlets anywhere, but we were not impressed with this one.
We sat upstairs and there were 7 of us in the party and we ordered our starters and when it arrived it was cold and the same happened with or pizza's. We think the reason for this is that the kitchen is down stairs and takes a few minutes for food to be taken upstairs dinners.
The waitress was so miserable (Ada) her name, she never got a tip from us.
The end bill we noticed that we were charded £20 service charge which we were not made aware of this at the start.
We had a voucher for a free bottle if house wine which I mentioned before we ordered and she said its fine but they would not except the code which was still in date.
Other staff looked unhappy and for a Saturday night it was not even half full.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsworth, Tring, Herts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a disappointment.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

In this branch of Pizza Express they seem to employ inept and unfriendly staff. The food was over cooked & below standard and unlike the other Oxford branch.
One to avoid.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Good pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Popped in for a quick meal with friends. We had taken advantage of a voucher from their website for 40% of mains. On arrival we were asked if we wanted to sit downstairs or upstairs. Downstairs, is a bit dark and near the kitchen and quite small. But upstairs is really nice, high ceiling, brightly decorated and tables not too close together.

We ordered a bottle of house red, which was nice. Mains, I ordered the Rustichella pizza (crispy pancetta, roasted tomatoes, grana padano, rocket and Caesar dressing). It was delicious, nice thin base and tasted fresh. Full price I thought it was a bit on the pricey side for a pizza, but with the 40% off, it was very good value for money. Everyone else enjoyed their meals also. Overall the bill for 4 people with a bottle of wine and 4 mains (with 40% discount) was approx £40.

I thought the service was good and attentive. This was our first visit to Pizza Express and I would definitely return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Express also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Pizza Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizza Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.