We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mamma Mia Pizzeria

Mamma Mia Pizzeria
8 South Parade, Oxford OX2 7JL, England
01865514141
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 493 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $16 - $33
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Cannes, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

When you are far away from italy,feels like home..italian music and super chilled beer,cheap and really good

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    63
    21
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“excellent pizza, good value wine, what more could you want”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have been to Mamma MIa a dozen times now and the food and service is reliably excellent. It's not the cheapest pizza in the world but it really is good - one of the best in the UK in my opinion. The lunch time deal is amazing value - probably the best value lunch in Oxford. The decor is a bit basic, and can be a touch drafty in the middle of winter, but the terrace is a good place to sit in the summer. Excellent if you have children and a popular family restaurant at the weekends. During week day evenings however it is possible to have a quiet romantic evening.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Have eaten at Mamma Mia's a few times. The service is always good and with a smile!. The menu is amazing. Many different choices of pizzas, pastas and salads. You can sit outside on the little terrace - usually with heaters on to make you feel like you are in the med! Little candles on the tables - lovely! We have even sat outside in the winter! the food never takes long to arrive. Every pizza we have eaten there has been fantastic! Very tasty. I would highly recommend this restaurant and am looking forward to my next visit!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Too much sugar”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was nearly good. Service was just right, ambiance ok. I had the special pizza: an interesting combination of toppings including butternut squash.

But, disaster, the whole pizza was spoilt by being far to sweet. Why do pizza places do that? Why not let the ingrediants do the talking...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food, great staff, great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We'd never been to Mamma Mia before and it was a really fantastic surprise to find such great Italian food in Oxford! The staff are genuinely friendly and helpful, providing a warm welcome and the service was brilliant. The restaurant has a very relaxed, informal feel and had a lively atmosphere when we visited. It was obvious how popular the restaurant is because it was full on a cold, damp Wednesday evening in January! The wine was great value and the menu offers a good selection of classic Italian dishes prepared with real care and high quality, fresh ingredients. The highlight for me was the pizza Mamma Mia, which was the best pizza I've had for ages with a perfect thin and crispy base and generous toppings. The pasta Arrabbiata was also very tasty with plenty of olives and chilli. We would definitely recommend Mamma Mia to all our friends and family for the lovely food and excellent value for money and we'll definitely return ourselves.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamma Mia Pizzeria also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Mamma Mia Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamma Mia Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.