We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent seafood!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moya

Moya
ST Clement's street, Oxford OX4 1AR, England
01865 200111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 473 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $21
Cuisines: Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I've visited Moya a few times now and every time the food has been excellent. The goulash is great, but the seafood is better. The seabass is fantastic. Goulash is very good as is the salmon. When it arrives it doesn't look like much food but by the time I've eaten I'm always full. You'll need to order a side though. The cocktails are also great!

This is place has one of the best atmospheres in Oxford too, though it doesn't look it from the outside. It isn't the cheapest but you're paying for the atmosphere as well as the food.

Perfect for a special occasion.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    38
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Across the Board”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Moya is located on a "neighborhood street" of ethnic restaurants that offers a pleasant respite from the crowded areas of Oxford. The eastern European food is excellent and the surprisingly long list of cocktails are inexpensive compared to other places in Oxford. We'd eaten a large lunch, so after cocktails, we each had a starter (Kapustnic, a hearty Slovak soup; and an unusual fish cake) then shared a main course (goulash served with steam-cooked bread). Everything was delicious--and fairly priced.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful service, lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We visited Moya for a celebration family dinner and had a wonderful time. It was great to try out Slovak food and our host couldn't have been more welcoming. The portions are generous and the food is very nicely cooked. The rabbit, the goulash and the turkey were all delicious. We really enjoyed our meal there and look forward to visiting again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good value - original and quality food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We made a special trip to Oxford and were not disappointed. A few good value cocktails then some wholesome east European food made for a memorable evening. Only complaint would be the cafeteria type chairs that became quite uncomfortable after about an hour.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wingfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is the first time my wife and myself have voluntarily headed for the South of England in 20 years, ie first time ever together, as it really is the most awful part of England, though we regularly visit for family or business reasons. While the pubs in Oxford served dreadful beer, and Oxford city centre is ugly, the food at this restaurant is some of the best we have had. It is Slovakian, and I do love Eastern European food. Pork, cabbage, potatoes - a wonderful combination when done well, and the chef here does it very well.

There is also a good trick; as it seems to be men who prefer this kind of food, the restaurant also has a cocktail bar for the women (sorry if that seems sexist, but men and women do differ you know). Personally I think cocktails ruin the taste of good alcohol by mixing it with fruit juice (fruit? What's the point?), but it made the wife happy.

Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moya also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Moya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.