We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fortuitous choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moya

Moya
ST Clement's street, Oxford OX4 1AR, England
01865 200111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 493 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $10 - $21
Cuisines: Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“A fortuitous choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Our first choice of restaurant seemed to be experiencing a malfunction of some type and we were told that it wouldn't open for 1 1/2 hours so we opted for Moya, which we had passed on our way. What an excellent choice.

Everything and I do mean everything was splendid, the service was friendly and efficient, the food and drink excellently cooked and presented and the decor was bright and clean and to top it all off the bill was very reasonable.

The food was Central/East European in nature and thoroughly enjoyable.

We ate early evening and were the only customers but the central table was arranged for a party of 15 people that were coming in later that night.

Well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moya_oxford, Owner at Moya, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
A case of serendipity for you, then (yes, I am old enough to remember the Dog!). We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit and thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    35
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent & original food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Lovely atmosphere, good value, friendly staff and lovely food. Would recommend it !... My favourite is the segedin with dumplings

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thoroughly nice evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Good food, well presented and authentic. Good wine list and friendly Slovakian staff!

Go for the devil's toast - veeeeeery tasty starter!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“First Rate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Had a delicious and beautifully presented and professionally served meal at Moya last Monday - my first visit - and will go again very soon. The atmosphere is pleasant and tables are well-spaced rather than, as in some restaurants, crammed close together for maximum profit and minimum comfort. The menu is modern European with some authentic Slovakian dishes. The wine list is short and moderately marked-up with a few wines available by the glass. In a town full of eating places I'd put this one near the very top of my list. for flavour, price and sheer enjoyment.

Don't try to book for a Sunday, though; it's when they close for their well-deserved day of rest.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Simply great and tasty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Our experience in Moya restaurant was great. I have been in the U.K. and haven't eaten better Slovakian food over here. The Segedin was amazing. So tasteful. And fruit dumplings with poppy sauce took me way back to my childhood. Exactly like my grandma made them. I can only recommend this place, great service, very nice cocktails and food - for Slovakian & Czech people - little home :) for everybody else - new and great experience.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moya also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Moya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.