We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite restaurant in Oxford” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Star Noodle Bar

Red Star Noodle Bar
Cowley Road, Oxford, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #156 of 471 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $10 - $21
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Asian, Asian fusion
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“My favourite restaurant in Oxford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Been going to Red Star about once a week for a year now. Almost everything on the menu is tasty, and it is reliably consistent.

I highly recommend the Tom Yum Mee Fun, and Chilli Beef Ramen. Lunch is great value with meal and a drink for £6

Service is EXTREMELY fast so excellent if you're in a hurry.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    43
    7
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“THE RED STAR IS A STAR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Love it, love it, love it. I have never been disappointed with the Red Star because the food there is just to die for. The Red Star ramen is my very favourite and the price is very reasonable too. The seating can be a tad squashed, but it is well worth the squeeze. I like their wall of fame with the photos of some disgruntled people who have broken the record for eating a spicy dish very fast. Service is very fast. The waiters can be grumpy at times, but you know what, I really don't mind because I LOVE the food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vietnam
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Too popular for its own good!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is a great place for a quick bite to eat at a reasonable price. It's just a shame it has become so popular you can bearly get in through the door. It makes for a rather unpleasent eating experience. As other customers place elbows in your face as they try to scoop the food into their mouths in the tiny space available. Staff are over worked and barely have more than two seconds to take your order before someone else is shouting for their attention.

This is a great place for what it is. Just don't expect to have much time to enjoy it if its packed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Am in here 3-4 times a month and am never disappointed. Food is superb, service good in a nice relaxed environment.

Best oriental eatery in Oxford by far.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

A very relaxed and informal meal - Like a chain of well known thai restaurants but better ! Food is excellent and the price is a bonus. I would recommend for light bite lunch or an different evening meal / date place as there are a few really nice bars close by. For me the food was fresh and packed with flavor. Service was fine, food arrived promptly even though it was quite busy. I feel a real Chinese experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Star Noodle Bar also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Red Star Noodle Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Star Noodle Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.